Research between Disciplines

Established five years ago, the School of Analytical Sciences Adlershof offers the very best facilities for doctoral candidates in the fields where chemistry, physics, and the biosciences converge.

Jan 03, 2018

Victor Rodriguez is a doctoral candidate at the School of Analytical Sciences Adlershof. He is working on the formation of plant cell phytoliths (plant stones) composed of silicon dioxide.

Victor Rodriguez is a doctoral candidate at the School of Analytical Sciences Adlershof. He is working on the formation of plant cell phytoliths (plant stones) composed of silicon dioxide.
Image Credit: Matthias Heyde

At the heart of the graduate school is the Photonics Application Lab at Adlershof campus of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Equipped with state-of-the-art measuring devices, it allows scientists practicing a broad range of optical procedures to examine the composition of chemical solutions, crystals, and tissue samples right down to the molecular level. Freeda Yesudas and Victor Rodriguez have been working here since October 2016.

They are both doctoral candidates at the School of Analytical Sciences Adlershof (SALSA) of Humboldt-Universität. Founded in 2012 with funding under the German Excellence Initiative, the graduate school is a joint endeavor of Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and the University of Potsdam, as well as many nonuniversity research institutions such as the Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und -prüfung (BAM) and the Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB). International partners in the school include ETH Zurich in Switzerland, the Universidad de Oviedo in Spain, and the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in Israel.

According to Yesudas and Rodriguez, the ultramodern equipment at Adlershof was not the sole reason they applied to join the graduate school in Berlin. Yesudas was impressed by the multiple projects at SALSA, which have their roots in different disciplines. In applying, she expressed her expectation of learning about new approaches and methods that would be of use in her continuing professional development as a scientist.

The interdependencies of cell membrane molecules under changing conditions fascinate Freeda Yesudas, a doctoral candidate at the School of Analytical Sciences Adlershof.

The interdependencies of cell membrane molecules under changing conditions fascinate Freeda Yesudas, a doctoral candidate at the School of Analytical Sciences Adlershof.
Image Credit: Matthias Heyde

Her master’s degree in photonics made her an ideal candidate for research work on the sum-frequency spectrometer, a brand new optical installation that measures the superposition of two laser beams, one constant and the other pulsed. The extraordinary feature of this apparatus, which was developed by the head of the Photonics Application Lab, physicist Zsuzsanna Heiner, is the extremely short-pulse laser that allows examination of the surface of fluid or solid samples in very high definition, both spatially and temporally. “You could describe the sum-frequency spectrometer as a kind of video camera that takes very, very fast-frame exposures of the movement of molecules,” explains Yesudas. Unlike data from a normal camera, spectrometer data do not appear in pictures but in the form of a very long series of numbers.

“Right now, Germany is the best destination for young scientists – it has a particularly good reputation for chemistry.” Doctoral candidate Victor Rodriguez

Within her doctoral work Yesudas aims to investigate the interactions of cell membrane molecules under changing conditions such as pH value or salt concentrations. Experiments will build on this and examine the interdependencies of active substances or nanoparticles. In preparation the physicist has made extensive studies of chemical solutions and the biology of cell membranes. Heiner and her doctoral student are keen to use their findings to further develop the sum-frequency spectrometer and optimize it for the examination of biological systems.

“Right now, Germany is the best destination for young scientists – it has a particularly good reputation for chemistry,” says doctoral candidate Rodriguez. The Spaniard’s research project takes place at the intersection of chemistry, biology, and the agricultural sciences. He would like to establish the reason why, and manner in which phytoliths – or “plant stones” made of silicon dioxide – arise in plant cells. During a three-month stay at the Department of Agriculture at the Hebrew University in Israel, Rodriguez learned about the cultivation and care of plants. As a chemist, he is now also well acquainted with plant metabolism and transverse sections of leaves under the microscope.

He says that for 160 years science has been grappling with the puzzle of crystal-like structures that are stored in plant cells. There is consensus that phytoliths perform many functions in the plant, helping it cope under stress – for instance in the case of drought. On many occasions there have been periods of intensive research on the topic, mostly prompted by developments in methods and new discoveries. But fundamental questions remain unanswered: How do these minerals arrive in the cells, and what changes do they effect? Rodriguez mentions that the subject is highly topical, in that agricultural crops are increasingly at the mercy of extreme weather conditions like severe heat and drought due to climate change. By virtue of microscopy that allows examination even at the atomic level, he believes that we have never before been so close to understanding the phenomenon of phytoliths.

The School of Analytical Sciences Adlershof drew doctoral candidates Yesudas and Rodriguez with its combination of state-of-the-art equipment, interdisciplinarity, and diversity of ongoing projects.

The School of Analytical Sciences Adlershof drew doctoral candidates Yesudas and Rodriguez with its combination of state-of-the-art equipment, interdisciplinarity, and diversity of ongoing projects.
Image Credit: Matthias Heyde

Yesudas and Rodriguez are among around 60 young scientists currently preparing doctorates under the auspices of SALSA. Coming from 28 countries including Hungary, Venezuela, Turkey, and Iran, they engage in the adventure of conducting research between disciplines and sharing knowledge with each other. “Analytical sciences are by their nature interdisciplinary,” says Janina Kneipp, who together with Ulrich Panne of BAM heads the graduate school. The interesting thing about doctoral projects at SALSA, she says, is the potential for considering the questions of one discipline from the perspective, and using the methods of, another discipline. For this reason, each doctoral candidate has two or three mentors from various subject areas and even from different institutions.

For Yesudas and Rodriguez, the great appeal of SALSA is the climate of cooperation. As part of their doctoral studies they will get to try out many research approaches and techniques and become familiar with other disciplines. Yesudas is currently working on programming with a view to the automated measuring, collection, and comparison of data, as well as the establishment of several comparable series of measurements. She has been in contact with a scientist in Potsdam to this end. For Rodriguez, ray diffraction and nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy are further methods he would like to deploy on his samples. There is one thing he is particularly looking forward to: in a few months he will have an opportunity to examine the nanometer depths of his “plant stones” using special equipment, the BESSY II at Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie. “I will be one of the few scientists in the world who has been allowed to work with an electron storage ring.”

Forschen zwischen den Disziplinen

Die „School of Analytical Sciences Adlershof“ bietet seit fünf Jahren beste Bedingungen für Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden, die an den Schnittstellen zwischen Chemie, Physik und den Biowissenschaften forschen.

03.01.2018

Victor Rodriguez promoviert an der „School of Analytical Sciences Adlershof“. Hier beschäftigt er sich mit der Entstehung von Phytolithen („Pflanzensteinen“), die aus Siliziumdioxid in Pflanzenzellen entstehen.

Victor Rodriguez promoviert an der „School of Analytical Sciences Adlershof“. Hier beschäftigt er sich mit der Entstehung von Phytolithen („Pflanzensteinen“), die aus Siliziumdioxid in Pflanzenzellen entstehen.
Bildquelle: Matthias Heyde

Es ist das Herzstück der Graduiertenschule: Das Photonics Application Lab auf dem Campus Adlershof der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, ausgestattet mit modernen Messgeräten. Hier untersuchen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler Lösungen, Kristalle oder Gewebeproben mit verschiedensten optischen Verfahren auf ihre Zusammensetzung, bis zur molekularen Ebene. In dem Labor arbeiten auch Freeda Yesudas und Victor Rodriguez.

Beide promovieren seit Oktober 2016 an der „School of Analytical Sciences Adlershof“ der Humboldt-Universität, kurz SALSA. Die Graduiertenschule wurde 2012 gegründet und wird im Rahmen der Exzellenzinitiative von Bund und Ländern gefördert. Sie ist eine Kooperation der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, mit der Technischen Universität Berlin und der Universität Potsdam sowie mit vielen außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen wie der Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und -prüfung (BAM) und dem Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB). Auch internationale Partner, wie der ETH Zürich in der Schweiz, die Universidad de Oviedo in Spanien und die Hebrew University of Jerusalem in Israel sind beteiligt.

Die hochmoderne Ausstattung in Adlershof war nicht allein der Grund für Freeda Yesudas und Victor Rodriguez, sich für die Berliner Graduiertenschule zu bewerben. Freeda Yesudas war beeindruckt von der Vielfalt der Projekte in SALSA, die immer zwischen den Disziplinen angesiedelt sind. Mit ihrer Bewerbung verknüpfte sie die Hoffnung, an der Graduiertenschule neue Ansätze und Methoden kennenzulernen, die ihr in ihrer weiteren Karriere als Wissenschaftlerin nützlich sein könnten.

Mit den Wechselwirkungen von Zellmembranmolekülen unter sich ändernden Bedingungen beschäftigt sich Freeda Yesudas im Rahmen ihrer Promotion an der "School of Analytical Sciences Adlershof".

Mit den Wechselwirkungen von Zellmembranmolekülen unter sich ändernden Bedingungen beschäftigt sich Freeda Yesudas im Rahmen ihrer Promotion an der "School of Analytical Sciences Adlershof".
Bildquelle: Matthias Heyde

Mit einem Masterabschluss in Photonik war sie die ideale Kandidatin für Forschungsarbeiten am Summenfrequenz-Spektrometer. An diesem neuartigen optischen Aufbau wird die Überlagerung von zwei Laserstrahlen, einem konstanten und einem gepulsten, gemessen. Das Besondere an der Apparatur, die von der Leiterin des Photonics Application Lab, der Physikerin Zsuzsanna Heiner, entwickelt und gebaut wurde, ist der extrem kurz gepulste Laser, mit dem sich die Oberfläche von flüssigen oder festen Proben räumlich und zeitlich besonders hochauflösend untersuchen lässt. „Das Summenfrequenz-Spektrometer kann man sich wie eine Filmkamera vorstellen, die in sehr, sehr schneller Bilderfolge die Bewegung der Moleküle aufnimmt“, erklärt Yesudas. Die Daten des Spektrometers zeigten sich aber nicht wie bei der Kamera als Bilder, sondern als sehr lange Zahlenfolge.

„Für junge Wissenschaftler ist Deutschland derzeit das beste Ziel, vor allem die Chemie hat einen sehr guten Ruf.“ Doktorand Victor Rodriguez

Im Rahmen ihrer Doktorarbeit möchte Freeda Yesudas die Wechselwirkungen von Molekülen der Zellmembran unter sich ändernden Bedingungen wie pH-Wert oder Salzkonzentrationen untersuchen. Darauf aufbauend werden Experimente folgen, mit denen Wechselwirkungen mit Wirkstoffen oder Nanopartikeln untersucht werden sollen. In Vorbereitung dazu beschäftigt sich die Physikerin nun viel mit chemischen Lösungen und der Biologie von Zellmembranen. Letztlich möchten Zsuzsanna Heiner und ihre Doktorandin mit ihren Erkenntnissen auch das Summenfrequenz-Spektrometer weiterentwickeln und für die Untersuchungen an biologischen Systemen optimieren.

„Für junge Wissenschaftler ist Deutschland derzeit das beste Ziel, vor allem die Chemie hat einen sehr guten Ruf“, sagt Victor Rodriguez. Das Forschungsprojekt des Spaniers bewegt sich an der Schnittstelle zwischen Chemie, Biologie und den Agrarwissenschaften. Er möchte herausfinden, warum und wie Phytolithe, „Pflanzensteine“ aus Siliziumdioxid in Pflanzenzellen entstehen. Während eines dreimonatigen Aufenthalts an der Landwirtschaftlichen Fakultät der Hebrew University in Israel lernte der Chemiker, wie man Pflanzen züchtet und pflegt. Auch mit dem pflanzlichen Stoffwechsel und dem Querschnitt eines Blattes im mikroskopischen Bild kennt sich Rodriguez inzwischen sehr gut aus.

Über die Einlagerung der kristallähnlichen Strukturen in Pflanzenzellen rätsle die Wissenschaft bereits seit 160 Jahren, sagt Rodriguez. Man sei sich einig, dass die Phytolithe vielfältige Funktionen für die Pflanzen haben, beispielsweise helfen sie den Pflanzen mit Stress wie etwa mit Trockenheit umzugehen. Immer wieder hätte es eine forschungsintensive Zeit zu diesem Thema gegeben, meist angestoßen durch methodische Weiter- oder Neuentwicklungen. Doch Grundlegendes sei noch immer ungeklärt: Wie entstehen diese Steine? Und wie verändern sie die Zellen? Auch derzeit sei das Thema wieder hochaktuell, so Rodriguez, vermutlich weil Nutzpflanzen durch Klimaveränderungen immer öfter extremen Wetterbedingungen wie akuter Hitze und Trockenheit ausgesetzt seien. Dank neuer mikroskopischer Verfahren, die es erlauben, bis auf die atomare Ebene vorzudringen, sei man der Erklärung des Phänomens noch nie so nahe gewesen wie jetzt.

Für Freeda Yesudas und Victor Rodriguez waren eine hochmoderne Ausstattung, Interdisziplinarität und eine große Projektvielfallt Gründe, sich für eine Promotion an der „School of Analytical Sciences Adlershof“ zu entscheiden.

Für Freeda Yesudas und Victor Rodriguez waren eine hochmoderne Ausstattung, Interdisziplinarität und eine große Projektvielfallt Gründe, sich für eine Promotion an der „School of Analytical Sciences Adlershof“ zu entscheiden.
Bildquelle: Matthias Heyde

Freeda Yesudas und Victor Rodriguez sind zwei von derzeit etwa 60 jungen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern, die im Rahmen von SALSA promovieren. Sie kommen aus 28 Ländern – etwa aus Ungarn und Venezuela, aus der Türkei und dem Iran ¬ und lassen sich gemeinsam auf das Abenteuer ein, zwischen den Disziplinen zu forschen und auch zwischen ihnen zu vermitteln. „Die Analytischen Wissenschaften sind naturgemäß interdisziplinär“, betont Janina Kneipp, die zusammen mit Ulrich Panne von der BAM die Graduiertenschule leitet. Das Interessante an den Promotionsprojekten in SALSA sei eine Fragestellung aus einer bestimmten Disziplin mit den Methoden eines anderen Faches zu betrachten. Entsprechend habe jeder Doktorand oder Doktorandin zwei oder drei Betreuer – aus unterschiedlichen Fachrichtungen und auch aus unterschiedlichen Institutionen.

Das Klima der Zusammenarbeit und des Gemeinschaftsgefühls ist für Freeda Yesudas und Victor Rodriguez das Besondere an SALSA. Im Laufe ihre Promotion werden sie viele Forschungsansätze und Techniken ausprobieren und Disziplinen kennenlernen. Gerade arbeitet Freeda Yesudas sich ins Programmieren ein, um die Messung und Ausgabe von Daten sowie deren Auswertung zu automatisieren und sich damit viele vergleichbare Messreihen zu ermöglichen. Dafür hat sie Kontakt zu einem Potsdamer Wissenschaftler aufgenommen. Für Victor Rodriguez sind Röntgenbeugung und Kernspinresonanzspektroskopie weitere Methoden, mit denen er seine Proben untersuchen möchte. Auf eines allerdings freut er sich ganz besonders. In wenigen Monaten hat er die Möglichkeit, seine „Pflanzensteine“ an einem besonderen Gerät bis auf Nanometerebene zu untersuchen: Am BESSY II des Helmholtz-Zentrums Berlin für Materialien und Energie. „Ich werde weltweit einer der wenigen Wissenschaftler sein, die an einem Elektronenspeicherring arbeiten dürfen.“