“I am not a refugee. I am a scholar in exile.”

The Turkish sociologist Nil Mutluer holds a Philipp Schwartz Fellowship awarded by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Nov 02, 2017

Sociologist Nil Mutluer was politically active in her home city of Istanbul. It led to her losing her job at the university. She now holds a Philipp Schwartz Fellowship at Humboldt-Universität.

Sociologist Nil Mutluer was politically active in her home city of Istanbul. It led to her losing her job at the university. She now holds a Philipp Schwartz Fellowship at Humboldt-Universität.
Image Credit: Ralf Bergel, Image Credits: HU

“In Turkey, scholarly work is seen as a political rather than an academic matter,” comments Turkish social scientist Nil Mutluer during a conversation in a café in Berlin-Schöneberg. Until early in 2016 she was head of the Institute of Sociology at Nişantaşı University, Istanbul. Her research interests are the subjects of nationalism in Turkey, masculinity, state power, and anti-intellectualism. Like many of her academic colleagues the professor, known for her criticism of the political situation, became a target for Turkish nationalists as a result of her work. Mutluer left turkey in July last year and since then has been living in Berlin and conducting research as a Philipp Schwartz fellowship recipient at Humboldt Universität.

“There is no objectivity for social scientists,” she says. Having tried to concentrate on her work, her field research brought her into contact with more and more instances of human rights abuses. ”If you are inclined to be critical, it is really hard not to speak out.”

As one of over 2000 Turkish academics, Mutluer signed the Academics for Peace petition against Turkish attacks on Kurds and consequently lost her professorship in February 2016. She was described in the Turkish media as a terrorist.

At first Mutluer was loath to leave Turkey, despite the danger she found herself in. Only after receiving an email from Gökçe Yurdakul, a professor at the Berlin Institute for Migration and Integration Research (BIM) at Humboldt-Universität, did she change her plans. Yurdakul asked whether Mutluer was aware of initiatives supporting scholars under threat in their own country. Mutluer was interested, and only a few months later became a researcher at Humboldt-Universität, thanks to the Philipp Schwartz fellowship.

A Program for Academic Freedom

The Philipp Schwartz Initiative does not permit individual applications; instead, universities in Germany enter a competitive procedure for funds that enable fellowships. This is a means of verifying that a contact already exists between potential fellowship recipients and colleagues at guest universities, proving a connection with the research context.

In addition to the Philipp Schwartz Initiative run by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, at-risk researchers at the Berlin universities are funded through the Scholar Rescue Fund. The program is organized by the Institute of International Education (IIE), an independent nonprofit organization based in the U.S. Some researchers are given support through the respective university’s own funds.

Besides Mutluer, two Syrian Philipp Schwartz fellowship recipients are working at Humboldt-Universität, and another Turkish recipient is expected to join them soon.

Freie Universität has taken in six at-risk scholars from Syria and Iran since 2011, and anticipates welcoming another four from Syria and Turkey in the coming months. Freie Universität and Humboldt-Universität are members of the international Scholars at Risk Network. Since the beginning of the year, a Syrian architect has been doing research at Technische Universität Berlin, and a Turkish female computer scientist will soon start work there.

Under the Philipp Schwartz Initiative, researchers are selected for their achievements and skills. The universities emphasize the expert status of these scholars, above all wishing to avoid stigmatization.

“Selection is based on the person with the best academic profile, and not according to the question – hardly something that can be assessed – of who is most at risk,” says Inse Böhmig, academic consultant in the International Strategy Office and contact person for the Refugees Welcome initiative at Humboldt-Universität. The matter of self-image is important to Mutluer. “I am not a refugee,” she says. “I am a scholar in exile.”

“There is no life for me in Turkey”

Böhmig explains that the researchers “contribute exciting new ideas and a plethora of individual networks to the academic portfolio of their respective departments.” But it is also important to think beyond the two-year grant period. Most researchers in the Philipp Schwartz or Scholars at Risk programs at the Berlin universities have no prospects of being able to work in their native countries in the foreseeable future.

This is true for Mutluer. She says, “There is no life for me in Turkey.” She would like to stay long-term and do research in Germany. “A significant part of the support service is concerned with thinking ahead as to what perspectives could open up,” says Böhmig. This would include support for applications for follow-up funding from the university or other institutions.

In order for this transition to run smoothly, a lot of translation work is involved, says Baris Ünal, head of General Academic Advising and refugee officer at Technische Universität Berlin. “Academic careers can vary enormously from one country to another.” International colleagues therefore require specific advice as to what their future career path might be.

Mutluer must also become accustomed to the differences between the academic systems. She finds that research in Germany is organized in terms of projects. “A lot depends on securing funding.” In her subject, where she was in any case internationally active, Mutluer has not had any problems finding her way round in Berlin. “Colleagues and mentors are very supportive.” Things were more difficult apparently when it came to practical things, such as finding a flat.

Developments in her home country continue to shock Mutluer out of her everyday existence in Germany, and she continues to be politically active in Berlin. “My friends and colleagues are still in Turkey and I often think of them,” she says. During our talk at the café she received several messages on her mobile phone, all from Turkey. At such times, she says she feels closer to Istanbul than to Schöneberg.

Further Information

All over the world, scholars and prospective students are persecuted and threatened as a result of their research activities and ideas, and can be prevented from carrying out their work. The Berlin universities use various initiatives and programs to help at-risk scholars.

The Philipp Schwartz Initiative was set up by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation together with the German Federal Foreign Office. It enables universities, universities of applied sciences, and nonuniversity research institutions in Germany to award grants to at-risk visiting researchers. Along with the grants, the initiative provides funds for the creation of structures at guest institutions as well as conferences on exchange and networking between guest institutions. The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation works closely with international partners such as the Scholars at Risk Network, the Scholar Rescue Fund, and the Council for At-Risk Academics.

One of the core tasks of the international Scholars at Risk Network is to afford support as a mediator to researchers and teachers who are threatened and persecuted in their native country, arranging a stay at a member university within the network.

„Ich bin kein Flüchtling. Ich bin eine Wissenschaftlerin im Exil.”

Die türkische Soziologin Nil Mutluer forscht mit einem Philipp Schwartz-Stipendium der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung an der Berliner Humboldt-Universität.

02.11.2017

Die Soziologin Nil Mutluer hatte sich in ihrer Heimatstadt Istanbul politisch engagiert und deshalb ihre Stellung an einer Universität verloren.    Mit einem Philipp Schwartz-Stipendium forscht sie nun an der Humboldt-Universität

Die Soziologin Nil Mutluer hatte sich in ihrer Heimatstadt Istanbul politisch engagiert und deshalb ihre Stellung an einer Universität verloren. Mit einem Philipp Schwartz-Stipendium forscht sie nun an der Humboldt-Universität
Bildquelle: Ralf Bergel, Bildrechte: HU

„In der Türkei wird wissenschaftliche Arbeit eher politisch als akademisch wahrgenommen”, sagt die türkische Sozialwissenschaftlerin Nil Mutluer in einem Café in Berlin-Schöneberg. Sie forscht zu Nationalismus in der Türkei, Männlichkeit, Staatsgewalt und Antiintellektualismus, bis Anfang 2016 leitete sie das Institut für Soziologie an der Nişantaşı-Universität in Istanbul. Wie viele ihrer Wissenschaftlerkolleginnen und -kollegen wurde die als kritische Kommentatorin der politischen Situation bekannte Professorin durch ihre Arbeit zur Zielscheibe für türkische Nationalisten. Im Juli letzten Jahres verließ Nil Mutluer die Türkei, seitdem lebt und forscht sie als Philipp-Schwartz-Stipendiatin der Humboldt-Universität in Berlin. 

„Für Sozialwissenschaftler gibt es keine Objektivität“, sagt Nil Mutluer. Sie habe versucht, sich auf ihre Arbeit zu konzentrieren, sei während ihrer Feldforschung aber immer öfter auf Menschenrechtsverstöße aufmerksam geworden. „Wenn man ein kritischer Geist ist, fällt es schwer, nicht darüber zu sprechen.”

Weil sie gemeinsam mit mehr als 2000 weiteren türkischen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern die Petition „Akademiker für den Frieden“ unterstützt hat, die sich gegen türkische Angriffe auf Kurden ausspricht, verlor Mutluer im Februar 2016 ihre Professur. In türkischen Medien wurde sie als Terroristin bezeichnet.

Trotz der persönlichen Gefährdung wollte sie die Türkei zunächst nicht verlassen. Erst nach einer E-Mail von Gökçe Yurdakul, Professorin am Berliner Institut für empirische Integrations- und Migrationsforschung (BIM) der Humboldt-Universität, änderte sie ihre Pläne. Ob Mutluer schon Initiativen kenne, die in ihren Heimatländern bedrohte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler unterstützen, fragte Yurdakul. Nil Mutluer war interessiert – und nur wenige Monate später forschte sie bereits als Philipp Schwartz-Stipendiatin an der Humboldt-Universität.

Ein Programm für akademische Freiheit

Eigenbewerbungen sind bei der Philipp Schwartz-Initiative nicht möglich. Stattdessen bewerben sich Hochschulen in Deutschland in einem kompetitiven Verfahren um Mittel zur Vergabe der Stipendien. So soll sichergestellt werden, dass die potentiellen Stipendiaten schon mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen der Gastuniversitäten in Kontakt stehen, was einen Bezug zum Forschungskontext belegt.

Gefährdete Forschende an den Berliner Universitäten werden neben der Philipp-Schwartz-Initiative der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung auch über Gelder des Scholar Rescue Fund gefördert. Das Programm des Institute of International Education (IIE) ist eine unabhängigen Nonprofit-Organisation mit Sitz in den USA. Einige Forscherinnen und Forscher werden auch durch Eigenmittel der jeweiligen Universität unterstützt.

Neben Nil Mutluer forschen aktuell zwei syrische Philipp Schwartz-Stipendiaten an der Humboldt-Universität. Eine weitere Stipendiatin aus der Türkei wird voraussichtlich zeitnah dazu stoßen.

Die Freie Universität hat seit 2011 sechs gefährdete Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Syrien und dem Iran aufgenommen, vier weitere aus Syrien und der Türkei werden in den nächsten Monaten erwartet. Freie Universität und Humboldt-Universität sind zudem Mitglieder im internationalen Scholars at Risk-Netzwerk. An der Technischen Universität Berlin forscht seit Beginn des Jahres ein syrischer Architekt, eine Informatikerin aus der Türkei wird ihre Arbeit bald aufnehmen.

Im Rahmen der Philipp Schwartz-Initiative werden Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler nach Leistung und Kompetenz ausgewählt. Auch an den Universitäten hebt man den Expertenstatus der Akademiker hervor, man will eine Stigmatisierung vermeiden.

„Die Auswahl erfolgt danach, wer das beste wissenschaftliche Profil hat, und nicht nach der kaum zu beurteilenden Frage, wer am meisten gefährdet ist, sagt Inse Böhmig, Referentin in der Stabsstelle Internationalisierung und Ansprechpartnerin der Initiative Refugees Welcome an der Humboldt-Universität. Dieses Selbstverständnis ist auch Nil Mutluer wichtig. „Ich bin kein Flüchtling”, sagt sie. „Ich bin eine Wissenschaftlerin im Exil.” 

„In der Türkei gibt es für mich kein Leben“

Für Inse Böhmig bringen die Forschenden „spannende neue Ansätze und vielfältige individuelle Netzwerke in das wissenschaftliche Portfolio der jeweiligen Fachbereiche ein“. Wichtig sei es aber, über die zweijährige Förderung hinaus zu denken. Denn die meisten Wissenschaftler, die beispielsweise über das Philipp-Schwartz-Stipendium oder Scholars at Risk an Berliner Universitäten kommen, können in absehbarer Zeit nicht wieder in ihrem Heimatland arbeiten.

Das gilt auch für Nil Mutluer. Sie sagt: „In der Türkei gibt es für mich kein Leben.” Sie möchte langfristig in Deutschland bleiben und forschen. „Ein großer Teil der Betreuungsleistung liegt darin, frühzeitig mitzudenken, welche Perspektiven sich ergeben”, sagt Inse Böhmig. Dazu gehöre auch die Unterstützung bei Anträgen für Anschlussfinanzierungen an der Universität oder anderen Einrichtungen.

Damit dieser Übergang reibungslos funktioniere, brauche es viel Übersetzungsarbeit, sagt Baris Ünal, Leiter der Allgemeinen Studienberatung und Flüchtlingsbeauftragter der Technischen Universität Berlin. „Die Karrieren in der Wissenschaft können sich von Land zu Land sehr unterscheiden.” Daher bräuchten die internationalen Kollegen spezifische Beratung, wie ihr zukünftiger Karriereweg aussehen könnte.

Auch Nil Mutluer muss sich noch an die Unterschiede zwischen den wissenschaftlichen Systemen gewöhnen. Forschung in Deutschland sei sehr projektbezogen organisiert, sagt sie. „Viel dreht sich darum, die Finanzierung zu sichern.” Fachlich habe sie als Wissenschaftlerin, die ohnehin international arbeite, keine Schwierigkeiten gehabt, sich in Berlin einzufinden. „Die Kollegen und Mentoren unterstützen mich sehr.” Es seien vielmehr praktische Dinge gewesen, die ihr den Start erschwert hätten: eine Wohnung zu finden etwa.

Die Entwicklungen in ihrer Heimat reißen Nil Mutluer immer wieder aus ihrem deutschen Alltag. Auch in Berlin ist die Wissenschaftlerin politisch aktiv. „Meine Freunde und meine Kollegen sind noch in der Türkei, und ich denke oft an sie”, sagt Mutluer. Auch an diesem Nachmittag im Café empfängt sie immer wieder Nachrichten auf ihrem Handy, alle aus der Türkei. In solchen Momenten fühle sie sich Istanbul näher als Schöneberg, sagt sie.

Weitere Informationen

Weltweit werden Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und angehende Akademikerinnen und Akademiker aufgrund ihrer Forschungen und Ideen verfolgt, bedroht und in ihrer Arbeit eingeschränkt. Die Berliner Universitäten setzen sich in unterschiedlichen Programmen und Initiativen für gefährdete Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler ein.

Die Philipp Schwartz-Initiative wurde von der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung gemeinsam mit dem Auswärtigen Amt ins Leben gerufen und ermöglicht Universitäten, Fachhochschulen und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen in Deutschland die Verleihung von Stipendien für Forschungsaufenthalte an gefährdete Forscherinnen und Forscher. Teil der Initiative sind neben den Stipendien Mittel für die Schaffung von Strukturen an den Gasteinrichtungen sowie Tagungen zum Austausch und zur Vernetzung zwischen den Gasteinrichtungen. Dabei arbeitet die Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung eng mit internationalen Partnern wie dem Scholars at Risk Network, dem Scholar Rescue Fund und dem Council for At-Risk Academics zusammen. 

Eine der Kernaufgaben des internationalen Netzwerks Scholars at Risk ist es, in einer Vermittlerfunktion Forschende und Lehrende, die in ihrem Heimatland bedroht und verfolgt werden, mit einem Gastaufenthalt an einer der Mitgliedshochschulen des Netzwerks zu unterstützen.