Understanding the Secrets of the Brain

The Sensory Computation in Neural Systems research training group bridges the gap between the single nerve cell and human behavior.

Oct 20, 2017

How do neuronal networks of the brain function? Imaging procedures are one way of finding out.

How do neuronal networks of the brain function? Imaging procedures are one way of finding out.
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

How does perception work, and what is its effect on our behavior? Doctoral candidates in the Sensory Computation in Neural Systems research training group are exploring these questions in depth. From a single research question, many more can follow. How do expectations and experience influence perception? What sensory attractions affect decision making? How do the form and structure of nerve cells impact the way they function? How is information presented and transferred in neuronal networks? At the center of the research on this topic is the general question that asks, simply, how does the human brain work? “Given its complexity, we have too little information – in purely empirical terms – on the systems of the brain,” says professor of electrical engineering and computer science Klaus Obermayer, who heads this group and the field of neural information processing at the Institute of Software Engineering and Theoretical Computer Science, Technische Universität Berlin.

In order to understand the secrets of the brain without in fact examining a human brain, Obermayer and his colleagues at the research training group use models. “We have many doctoral candidates whose background is formal – such as mathematicians, physicists, and engineers. They contribute decisive theoretical input to our work,” says Obermayer.

A Broad Scientific Spectrum

The scientific spectrum of the research training group is highly diversified. Researchers here have expertise in the areas of cognitive science, machine learning, animal physiology, artificial intelligence, functional imaging, probability theory, and statistics. The mixture reflects the interdisciplinarity and diversity of research in Berlin.

As a result of the cooperation of various disciplines, theory and practice become closely intermeshed. Each of the doctoral candidates has two mentors, whose expertise is in theoretical and practical research respectively.

“In our research, we outline two fundamental methods that researchers must apply in order to better understand these complex interrelations,” Obermayer explains. “One is the collection of data under controlled experimental conditions; the other is mathematical modeling and computer simulation. This allows us to build bridges between the individual nerve cells up to human behavior.”

Professor Felix Blankenburg of the neurocomputation and neuroimaging unit at Freie Universität Berlin explains how the researchers investigate the brain using theoretical and practical methods. For instance, he works with so-called electroencephalography, in short EEG, which helps to record the bioelectrical activity of specific brain regions at the brain surface: EEG data do not however reflect neuronal activity in the individual case, only its overall output. In order to understand what happens at neuronal level, the data gathered in the experiment must first be entered into a computer. “We attempt to illustrate actual underlying neuronal activity using models that are based on empirical and theoretical findings – such as how quickly neurons pass on information or how cells are built,” says Blankenburg. “This means we can investigate the fundamental principles of information processing in the brain, also in connection with its various areas.”

Secrets of the Brain

Psychological aspects are also part of the work of the research training group. For instance, human behavior plays a part in the development of computers that should act like people. The researchers would like to find out what considerations must be made when installing machines to be actually perceived as human-like computers.

Another quite different object of the experiment will attempt to air further secrets of the brain. Grasshoppers are insects whose body temperature adapts to their environment: the difference between 10° and 30° C in the surrounding temperature is quite dramatic for the organism. On the other hand, the chirping of the grasshopper plays an important role in the choice of partner. The animals must be able to correctly organize the signals of fellow members of their species – it is an ability which they master surprisingly well, even in dramatically fluctuating temperatures. The scientists and the research training group would like to find out how the neurons in the grasshopper brain process the complex signals during adverse conditions; this would enable a better understanding of the way neuronal structures function.

With its broad scientific spectrum, the research training group is typical of the close network that characterizes the research landscape in Berlin and the excellent cooperation among its actors. The group was established in 2010 by Technische Universität Berlin and the Bernstein Center for Computational Neuroscience (BCCN) Berlin, in cooperation with Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, and Freie Universität Berlin. BCCN Berlin is itself a collaborative project of Charité, Humboldt-Universität, and Technische Universität Berlin. Here too, scientists deploy mathematical and theoretical methods when experimenting in order to decode the function of the brain.

Den Geheimnissen des Gehirns auf der Spur

Das Graduiertenkolleg Sensory Computation in Neural Systems schlägt eine Brücke von der einzelnen Nervenzelle bis zum Verhalten des Menschen.

20.10.2017

Wie funktionieren neuronale Netzwerke im Gehirn? Bildgebende Verfahren sind nur eine Möglichkeit, das herauszufinden.

Wie funktionieren neuronale Netzwerke im Gehirn? Bildgebende Verfahren sind nur eine Möglichkeit, das herauszufinden.
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Wie funktioniert Wahrnehmung und wie wirkt sie sich auf unser Verhalten aus? Diesen Fragen gehen die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden des Graduiertenkollegs Sensory Computation in Neural Systems auf den Grund. Aus ihrer Forschungsfrage ergeben sich viele weitere: Wie beeinflussen Erwartungen und Erfahrungen die Wahrnehmung? Welche sensorischen Reize wirken sich auf die Entscheidungsfindung aus? Welchen Einfluss haben Aufbau und Struktur von Nervenzellen auf deren Funktionsweise? Wie werden Informationen in neuronalen Netzwerken dargestellt und übertragen? Im Fokus der Forschungen zu diesem Thema steht die allgemeine Frage, wie das menschliche Gehirn funktioniert. „Über dieses System bekommen wir – in Anbetracht seiner Komplexität – rein empirisch zu wenige Informationen“, sagt Elektrotechnik- und Informatikprofessor Klaus Obermayer, Leiter des Kollegs sowie des Fachgebiets Neuronale Informationsverarbeitung am Institut für Softwaretechnik und Theoretische Informatik der Technischen Universität Berlin.

Um den Geheimnissen des Gehirns auf die Spur zu kommen, ohne tatsächlich ein menschliches Gehirn zu untersuchen, setzen Obermayer und seine Mitarbeiter am Graduiertenkolleg auch auf Modelle. „Bei uns arbeiten viele Doktoranden mit einem formalen Hintergrund – etwa Mathematiker, Physiker und Ingenieure. Sie bringen entscheidenden theoretischen Input für unsere Arbeit“, sagt Obermayer.

Großes wissenschaftliches Spektrum

Das wissenschaftliche Spektrum des Graduiertenkollegs ist breit gefächert. Hier kommen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mit Expertise aus den Forschungsbereichen Kognitionswissenschaft, maschinelles Lernen, Tierphysiologie, künstliche Intelligenz, funktionelle Bildgebung, Wahrscheinlichkeitstheorie und Statistik zusammen. Diese Mischung spiegelt die Interdisziplinarität und Vielfältigkeit der Berliner Forschung wider.

Theorie und Praxis werden bei der Zusammenarbeit dieser verschiedenen Disziplinen eng verzahnt. Alle Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden werden von je zwei Personen bereut, deren Expertise in jeweils der theoretischen beziehungsweise praktischen Forschung liegt. .

„Bei unserer Forschung unterscheiden wir grundsätzlich zwei Methoden, die die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler zum Erkenntnisgewinn dieser komplexen Zusammenhänge anwenden“, erläutert Obermayer, „zum einen die Datenerhebung unter kontrollierten experimentellen Bedingungen, zum anderen die mathematische Modellierung und Computersimulationen. Damit schlagen wir eine Brücke von der einzelnen Nervenzelle bis zum Verhalten des Menschen“.

Wie die Forscherinnen und Forscher das Gehirn mit theoretischen und praktischen Methoden erkunden, erläutert Professor Felix Blankenburg vom Arbeitsbereich Neurocomputation and Neuroimaging der Freien Universität Berlin. Er arbeitet beispielsweise mit der sogenannten Elektroenzephalografie, kurz EEG, mit deren Hilfe die bioelektrische Aktivität bestimmter Gehirnregionen an der Schädeloberfläche registriert werden: „EEG-Daten geben aber nicht die neuronale Aktivität im Einzelfall wieder, sondern lediglich deren Summe.“ Um herauszufinden, was auf der neuronalen Ebene passiert, werden die experimentell erhobenen Daten deshalb in einen Rechner eingespeist. „Mit Hilfe von Modellen, welche auf empirischen Erfahrungen und theoretischen Erkenntnissen basieren – etwa, wie schnell Neuronen Informationen weitergeben oder wie Zellen aufgebaut sind – versuchen wir dann, auf die tatsächlich zugrundeliegende neuronale Aktivität zurückzuschließen“, sagt Blankenburg. „So können wir die grundsätzlichen Prinzipien der Informationsverarbeitung des Gehirns, auch im Zusammenspiel von verschiedenen Hirnarealen, untersuchen“.

Geheimnisse des Gehirns

Auch psychologische Aspekte sind Teil der Arbeit im Graduiertenkolleg. Das menschliche Verhalten spielt etwa bei der Entwicklung von Computern eine Rolle, die wie Menschen handeln sollen. Was bei der Installation dieser Maschinen beachtet werden muss, damit sie tatsächlich als menschlich wahrgenommen werden, wollen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler herausfinden.

Ein ganz anderes Versuchsobjekt soll weitere Geheimnisse des Gehirns lüften: Grashüpfer sind wechselwarme Insekten, deren Körpertemperatur sich der Umgebung anpasst. Ob die Umgebungstemperatur 10 oder 30 Grad Celsius beträgt, macht für ihren Organismus also einen gewaltigen Unterschied. Bei der Partnerwahl der Grashüpfer spielt ihr Zirpen wiederum eine große Rolle. Die Tiere müssen die Signale ihrer Artgenossen richtig einordnen können – eine Fähigkeit, die sie erstaunlicherweise auch bei stark schwankenden Außentemperaturen gut beherrschen. Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Graduiertenkollegs möchten herausfinden, wieso die Neuronen der Grashüpfer-Hirne die komplexen Signale auch bei äußerst widrigen Umständen einordnen können, um der Funktionsweisen neuronaler Strukturen einen Schritt näher zu kommen.

Mit seinem breiten wissenschaftlichen Spektrum ist das Graduiertenkolleg auch ein Beispiel für die enge Vernetzung der Berliner Wissenschaftslandschaft und das gute Zusammenspiel der Akteure: Es wurde im Jahr 2010 von der Technischen Universität Berlin und dem Bernstein Center für Computational Neuroscience (BCCN) Berlin in Kooperation mit der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und der Freien Universität Berlin eingerichtet. Das BCCN Berlin wiederum ist ein Verbundprojekt von Charité, Humboldt-Universität und Technischer Universität Berlin. Auch hier versuchen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mit mathematischen und theoretischen Methoden im Zusammenspiel mit Experimenten die Funktion des Gehirns zu entschlüsseln.