Concerted Efforts

A series of panel discussions at the participating institutions provided opportunities for the three major Berlin universities and Charité to present their joint initiative for the Excellence Strategy.

Sep 21, 2017

The “Campus dialogue” series kicked off in the atrium of Technische Universität Berlin…

The “Campus dialogue” series kicked off in the atrium of Technische Universität Berlin…
Image Credit: TU Berlin/PR/Michael Setzpfandt

“The more we cooperate, the more I ask myself why we didn’t think of doing this before.” Professor Karl Max Einhäupl, chairman of the board of Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, is not alone in thinking that more can be achieved through concerted efforts. In agreement with him are Professor Sabine Kunst, the president of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, and the presidents of Freie Universität Berlin and Technische Universität Berlin, Professor Peter-André Alt and Professor Christian Thomsen. The decision by the four institutions to cooperate in the Excellence Strategy – the successor program to the Excellence Initiative – is the right one. The 2017 summer semester Campus Dialogue offered opportunities for discussion as to why the four institutions are convinced that research across departmental and institutional demarcations will go on to achieve more positive outcomes, and what the Excellence Strategy will bring to the universities. At all four institutions, the presidents of Freie Universität, Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität, and the Chief Executive Officer of Charité, together with involved professors, informed their audiences of the planned application as an alliance. Susanne Führer of Deutschlandfunk Kultur radio program moderated the discussions and at the end of each one, the audience – including employees, academics, and students – were allowed to ask questions and contribute constructive criticism.

Auf bestehende Strukturen bauen

…where universities’ presidents and the Chief Executive Officer of Charité were on the panel, with Susanne Führer of Deutschlandfunk Kultur taking on the role of moderator.

…where universities’ presidents and the Chief Executive Officer of Charité were on the panel, with Susanne Führer of Deutschlandfunk Kultur taking on the role of moderator.
Image Credit: TU Berlin/PR/Michael Setzpfandt

First off the mark for the Campus Dialogue was Technische Universität Berlin. Sabine Kunst said that the proposed Excellence alliance would be able to build on existing structures. “A shared infrastructure means that conditions for researchers can improve.” Christian Thomsen summarized it like this: “We have taken up the challenge of forming a world-class location.” Yet the alliance was “not meant as an umbrella over other umbrellas,” added Peter-André Alt. In fact, it was the opposite: “The idea is to reduce the complexity of structures.” Referring to a view that crops up with a certain frequency, the moderator asked, “Why not simply found a Berlin “super-university”?” “Because diversity and a profile that has been developed over time are important to us,” replied Alt. “We want to preserve our asymmetries and differences – these are what give us our strength.” In other words, cooperating with each other: yes. Merging, no.

The president of Freie Universität added that an alliance would not have any effect on the organization of the individual institutions. Each university would continue to pursue its institutional goal of maintaining a particularly high profile, both nationally and internationally. Indeed, this would be entirely conducive to working in collaboration. The significant fields of action in which an allliance of institutions could be active, are the appointments strategy, support for junior researchers, research initiatives, use of resources and infrastructure, transfer of knowledge, and digitalization. In response to a question from the audience, Alt confirmed that students too would stand to benefit from the subsidies that would result from a successful joint application. “Excellence means more funds for everyone.”

Verena Blechinger-Talcott, professor of Japanese studies, and Michael Meyer, professor of prehistoric archaeology, both of Freie Universität, were also on the panel.

Verena Blechinger-Talcott, professor of Japanese studies, and Michael Meyer, professor of prehistoric archaeology, both of Freie Universität, were also on the panel.
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

What applies to Europe is also true for research, was Einhäupl’s response to the moderator’s question on the advantages of a joint application. Together, universities are stronger. “Research is now a matter of regions rather than institutions.” Thomsen added that Berlin is a research center of enormous diversity. and that such diversity is best reflected in a joint application. “It would in fact be harder to defend a decision not to cooperate more closely,” he said.

The scholars on the panels also gave the concentration of expertise in the universities as the reason for putting together cross-institutional applications, as has been the practice for some considerable time. At the Campus Dialogue in the atrium of Technische Universität Berlin, TU scientist Volker Mehrmann, math professor and head of Matheon research center, Matthias Driess, chemistry professor and spokesperson for the UniCat Cluster of Excellence, and Martina Löw, professor of architecture and planning sociology, spoke about their experience of leading large research alliances and consortia. “It is at the borders between disciplines that progress and innovation occurs. As a scientist, one has to go beyond the horizon, beyond the lines demarcating departments and institutions,” said Mehrmann.

Professors Christine Sers of Charité, Ulrich Dirnagl, and Benjamin Judkewitz talked about their experiences with the Excellence Initiative.

Professors Christine Sers of Charité, Ulrich Dirnagl, and Benjamin Judkewitz talked about their experiences with the Excellence Initiative.
Image Credit: Wiebke Peitz

Another person whose experience tells him that cooperation across universities bears results for research is Michael Meyer, who joined the panel for the Campus Dialogue at Freie Universität. He is a professor of prehistoric archaeology at Freie Universität and one of two spokespersons at the Topoi Cluster of Excellence, a research association on antiquity which was set up in 2007 by Freie Universität and Humboldt Universität with the additional participation of nonuniversity institutions. “Topoi has now gained universal recognition,” says Meyer, “and this comes from our working across disciplines and institutions on all things relevant to the topic of antiquity.” Verena Blechinger-Talcott, professor of Japanese Studies and Günter Ziegler, math professor at Freie Universität and spokesperson for the graduate Berlin Mathematical School (BMS), cited further examples of the advantages of cooperation.

Stronger together: Prof. Karl Max Einhäupl (Charité), Prof. Christian Thomsen (Technische Universität), Prof. Sabine Kunst (Humboldt-Universität), and Prof. Peter-André Alt (Freie Universität) (from left to right) with moderator Susanne Führer (2nd f

Stronger together: Prof. Karl Max Einhäupl (Charité), Prof. Christian Thomsen (Technische Universität), Prof. Sabine Kunst (Humboldt-Universität), and Prof. Peter-André Alt (Freie Universität) (from left to right) with moderator Susanne Führer (2nd f
Image Credit: Ralph Bergel

Enabling Research Opportunities

At the event in the Henry Ford building at Freie Universität, Alt said that the current parlance was more about “enabling research structures and less about research topics.” Chief Executive Officer of Charité Karl Max Einhäupl emphasized, “We want to create the best possible conditions for top-class research in Berlin.”

Talking at the main building of Humboldt-Universität on Unter den Linden were Caren Tischendorf, professor of applied mathematics at Matheon, and Jörg Niewöhner, professor of urban anthropology and human-environment relations at the Department of European Ethnology and a member of IRI THESys – Transformation of Human-Environment Systems. “Research as an association is not about being better or faster than your peers. The aim is to solve problems,” says Tischendorf. According to the mathematician, concerted efforts achieve more where investments are concerned, too. One example is the acquisition of a mainframe computer which can be used by all institutions. Further representatives of scientific endeavor were present at the Campus Dialogue that took place in the Museum of Medical History at Charité, in the so-called Lecture Hall Ruin. Molecular biologist Christine Sers, Ulrich Dirnagl, Director Experimental Neurology at the Clinic of Neurology and assistant spokesperson of the NeuroCure Cluster of Excellence, and Benjamin Judkewitz, a fundamental researcher in bioimaging and neurophotonics at the NeuroCure Excellence Cluster, reported on their cross-institutional experience of research. “We scientists must work together so that we can think beyond the confines of what we are accustomed to. This involves talking to various other disciplines, exchanging information and learning from other scientists – and hence developing our own ideas further,” said Sers.

But what happens if the institutions do not make it through the application procedure? “We are confident,” Ziegler replied to moderator Führer’s question. “If we are not successful, we would still do the work,” she added, “only in a smaller format.” There would still be a need to band together in the interests of science. Finally, Führer asked what might be the picture with regard to academia in Berlin in the year 2025. “Berlin will be a city of science and humanities knowledge, attracting academics from Germany and the entire world,” said Thomsen.

Further Information

The German Government’s Excellence Strategy

The Excellence Strategy of the German government is the successor program to the Excellence Initiative, from which the Berlin institutions have already benefited to a considerable extent. The new competition has two lines of support: the “Clusters of Excellence,” which are large research networks, and the “Universities of Excellence,” or, as a new concept, “University Excellence Consortia,” which must possess convincing strategic concepts for the sustainable development of research institutions.

The state of Berlin is supporting the local alliance initiative under the German government’s Excellence Strategy. The universities stand to receive 3.5 million euros in the next two years for the preparation of proposals.

Gemeinsam im Verbund

Mit einer Gesprächsreihe an allen beteiligten Einrichtungen stellten die drei großen Berliner Universitäten und die Charité ihre gemeinsame Initiative für die Exzellenzstrategie vor.

21.09.2017

Der Auftakt der Dialog-Reihe fand im Lichthof der Technischen Universität Berlin statt...

Der Auftakt der Dialog-Reihe fand im Lichthof der Technischen Universität Berlin statt...
Bildquelle: TU Berlin/PR/Michael Setzpfandt

„Je länger wir zusammenarbeiten, desto mehr frage ich mich: Warum haben wir das nicht schon früher gemacht?“ Mit seiner Überzeugung, dass man gemeinsam mehr erreichen könne, steht Professor Karl Max Einhäupl, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, nicht alleine. Professorin Sabine Kunst, Präsidentin der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, sowie die Präsidenten der Freien Universität Berlin und der Technischen Universität Berlin, Professor Peter-André Alt und Professor Christian Thomsen, sind sich einig: Die Entscheidung der vier Einrichtungen, gemeinsam in der Exzellenzstrategie – dem Nachfolgewettbewerb der Exzellenzinitiative – anzutreten, ist richtig. Warum die vier davon überzeugt sind, wo bereits über Fächer- und Institutionengrenzen hinweg erfolgreich geforscht wird, und was die Exzellenzstrategie den Universitäten bringt – darüber wurde im Sommersemester 2017 in „Campus-Dialogen“ diskutiert: An allen vier Einrichtungen informierten die Präsidenten der Freien Universität, der Humboldt-Universität, der Technischen Universität und der Vorstandsvorsitzende der Charité gemeinsam mit Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern ihrer Hochschule über die geplante Bewerbung im Verbund. Susanne Führer vom Radiosender Deutschlandfunk Kultur moderierte die Diskussionen, an deren Ende das Publikum – Beschäftigte, Wissenschaftler und Studierende – jeweils Fragen stellen und kritische Anmerkungen machen konnten.

Auf bestehende Strukturen bauen

... die Präsidenten und Präsidentin der Universitäten sowie der Vorstandsvorsitzende der Charité diskutierten, die Moderation hatte Susanne Führer vom Deutschlandfunk Kultur übernommmen.

... die Präsidenten und Präsidentin der Universitäten sowie der Vorstandsvorsitzende der Charité diskutierten, die Moderation hatte Susanne Führer vom Deutschlandfunk Kultur übernommmen.
Bildquelle: TU Berlin/PR/Michael Setzpfandt

Los ging es mit dem Campus-Dialog an der Technischen Universität Berlin. Bei dem angestrebten Exzellenzverbund könne man auf bereits bestehende Strukturen aufbauen, sagte Sabine Kunst: „Durch eine gemeinsame Infrastruktur lassen sich die Bedingungen für die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler verbessern.“ Christian Thomsen fasste es so zusammen: „Wir sind angetreten, um einen weltweiten Spitzenstandort zu formieren.“ Der Verbund solle dabei „kein Dach über Dächern“ sein, erläuterte Peter-André Alt. Ganz im Gegenteil: „Es geht darum, die Komplexität von Strukturen zu reduzieren.“ Warum man dann nicht gleich eine Berliner „Super-Uni“ gründe, von der immer mal wieder die Rede sei, fragte die Moderatorin. „Weil wir auf Diversität und unsere historisch gewachsenen Identitätsprofile setzen“, sagte Alt. „Unsere Ungleichgewichte und Unterschiede wollen wir bewahren – als unsere Stärke.“ Also: Kooperieren ja, miteinander verschmelzen, nein.

An der Organisation der einzelnen Einrichtungen werde sich durch einen Verbund nichts ändern, fügte der Präsident der Freien Universität hinzu. Jede Universität verfolge auch weiterhin ihr institutionelles Ziel, national und international besonders sichtbar zu sein. Der Zusammenarbeit könne das aber nur zuträglich sein: Die maßgeblichen Aktionsfelder, auf denen der Verbund tätig werden könnte, lägen im Bereich der Berufungsstrategie, der Nachwuchsförderung, der Forschungsinitiativen, der Ressourcen- und Infrastrukturnutzung, des Wissenstransfers und der Digitalisierung. Und von dem Geld, das bei einem erfolgreichen Verbundantrag flösse, profitierten auch Studierende, wie Peter-André Alt auf eine Frage aus dem Publikum bekräftigte: „Exzellenz bedeutet: mehr Geld für alle.“

Berlin: Wissenschaftsstandort mit großer Diversität

An der Freien Universität saßen Verena Blechinger-Talcott, Professorin für Japanologie, und Michael Meyer, Professor für Prähistorische Archäologie, mit auf dem Podium.

An der Freien Universität saßen Verena Blechinger-Talcott, Professorin für Japanologie, und Michael Meyer, Professor für Prähistorische Archäologie, mit auf dem Podium.
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Was für Europa gelte, gelte auch für die Wissenschaft, antwortete Einhäupl auf die Frage der Moderatorin nach den Vorteilen einer Verbundbewerbung – gemeinsam sei man einfach stärker: „Forschung ist inzwischen viel mehr eine Frage von Regionen als von Institutionen.“ Berlin sei ein Wissenschaftsstandort mit großer Diversität, ergänzte Christian Thomsen. Diese Vielfalt lasse sich in einem gemeinsamen Antrag bestens abbilden: „Es wäre schwieriger zu begründen, warum wir nicht enger zusammenarbeiten sollten“, sagte Thomsen.

Auch die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler auf den Podien bezeichneten die gesammelte Expertise in den Universitäten als Grundlage für erfolgreiche institutionenübergreifende Anträge, wie sie seit Langem praktiziert würden. Die TU-Wissenschaftler Volker Mehrmann, Mathematikprofessor und Leiter des Forschungszentrums Matheon, Matthias Drieß, Chemieprofessor und Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters UniCat, sowie Martina Löw, Professorin für Architektur- und Planungssoziologie, berichteten bei dem Campus-Dialog im Lichthof der Technischen Universität Berlin von ihren Erfahrungen im Führen großer Forschungsverbünde und Konsortien. „Fortschritte und Innovationen entstehen an den Grenzen der Disziplinen. Man muss als Wissenschaftlerin und Wissenschaftler den Schritt über den Tellerrand machen, über Fach- und Institutsgrenzen hinweg“, sagte Volker Mehrmann.

Charité-Professorin Christine Sers sowie die beiden Professoren Ulrich Dirnagl und Benjamin Judkewitz schilderten ihre Erfahrungen in der Exzellenzinitiative.

Charité-Professorin Christine Sers sowie die beiden Professoren Ulrich Dirnagl und Benjamin Judkewitz schilderten ihre Erfahrungen in der Exzellenzinitiative.
Bildquelle: Wiebke Peitz

Einer, der ebenfalls aus Erfahrung weiß, dass Kooperationen über die Grenzen von einzelnen Universitäten hinweg für die Forschung grundsätzlich fruchtbar sind, ist Michael Meyer, der das Podium beim Campus-Dialog an der Freien Universität ergänzte. Er ist Professor für Prähistorische Archäologie an der Freien Universität und einer der beiden Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters Topoi, einem 2007 eingerichteten gemeinsamen altertumswissenschaftlichen Forschungsverbund von Freier Universität und Humboldt-Universität, an dem außeruniversitäre Einrichtungen beteiligt sind: „Topoi kennt man inzwischen überall“, sagte Meyer, „das liegt daran, dass wir über Disziplinen- und Einrichtungsgrenzen hinweg zusammenarbeiten, und zwar mit allen, die für den Themenkomplex Antike relevant sind.“ Auch Verena Blechinger-Talcott, Professorin für Japanologie, und Günter Ziegler, Sprecher der Graduiertenschule Berlin Mathematical School (BMS) und Mathematikprofessor an der Freien Universität, steuerten Beispiele aus ihrer jeweiligen Kooperationspraxis bei.

Gemeinsam stark: Prof. Karl Max Einhäupl (Charité), Prof. Christian Thomsen (Technische Universität), Prof. Sabine Kunst (Humboldt-Universität) und Prof. Peter-André Alt (Freie Universität) (v.l.n.r.) mit Moderatorin Susanne Führer (2. v.r.).

Gemeinsam stark: Prof. Karl Max Einhäupl (Charité), Prof. Christian Thomsen (Technische Universität), Prof. Sabine Kunst (Humboldt-Universität) und Prof. Peter-André Alt (Freie Universität) (v.l.n.r.) mit Moderatorin Susanne Führer (2. v.r.).
Bildquelle: Ralph Bergel

Forschungsstrukturen ermöglichen

Derzeit werde eher über „die Ermöglichung von Forschungsstrukturen und weniger über Forschungsthemen“ gesprochen, sagte Peter-André Alt bei der Veranstaltung im Henry-Ford-Bau an der Freien Universität. „Wir wollen bestmögliche Bedingungen für Spitzenforschung in Berlin schaffen“, unterstrich der Vorstandsvorsitzende der Charité Karl Max Einhäupl.

Beim Dialog im Hauptgebäude der Humboldt-Universität Unter den Linden ergänzten das Podium Caren Tischendorf, Professorin für Angewandte Mathematik am Matheon, und Jörg Niewöhner, Professor für Stadtanthropologie und Mensch-Umwelt-Beziehungen vom Institut für Europäische Ethnologie und Mitglied im IRI THESys –Transformation of Human-Environment Systems. „Bei Forschung im Verbund geht es nicht darum, besser oder schneller zu sein als andere Fachkollegen. Das Ziel lautet, Probleme zu lösen“, sagte Caren Tischendorf. Gemeinsam, so die Mathematikerin, könne man mehr erreichen, auch in Bezug auf Investitionen: etwa bei der Anschaffung eines leistungsfähigen Großrechners, der von allen Einrichtungen genutzt werden könne. Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die von einer Zusammenarbeit überzeugt sind, waren auch beim Campus-Dialog in der sogenannten Hörsaalruine im Medizinhistorischen Museum der Charité vertreten: Molekularbiologin Christine Sers und Ulrich Dirnagl, Leiter der Abteilung Experimentelle Neurologie der Klinik für Neurologie und stellvertretender Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters NeuroCure, sowie Benjamin Judkewitz, Grundlagenforscher für Bioimaging und Neurophotonik am Exzellenzcluster NeuroCure, schilderten ihre Forschungserfahrungen über Institutsgrenzen hinweg. „Wir Wissenschaftler brauchen Zusammenarbeit, um immer über die Grenzen dessen hinauszuschauen, was wir selber denken können. Das bedeutet, dass wir verschiedene Disziplinen ansprechen, uns mit ihnen austauschen und von anderen Wissenschaftlern lernen müssen – um dann unsere eigenen Ideen weiterzuentwickeln“, sagte Christine Sers.

Aber was, wenn es nicht klappt, die Einrichtungen also im Verbund nicht erfolgreich sind? „Wir sind zuversichtlich“, erwiderte Günther Ziegler auf die Frage der Moderatorin Susanne Führer. „Wenn es nicht klappt, machen wir es trotzdem“, ergänzte sie, „nur kleiner.“ Die Notwendigkeit, sich zum Vorteil der Wissenschaft zusammenzutun, bleibe schließlich bestehen. Wie sie die Berliner Wissenschaft im Jahr 2025 sähen, wollte Moderatorin Susanne Führer zum Abschluss wissen. „Berlin wird eine international aufgestellte Wissenschaftsstadt sein, die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Deutschland und weltweit anzieht“, sagte Christian Thomsen.

Weitere Informationen

Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder

Die Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder folgt als nationaler Wettbewerb der Exzellenzinitiative, in der die Berliner Akteure bereits sehr erfolgreich waren. Im neuen Wettbewerb gibt es zwei Förderlinien: die „Exzellenzcluster“, also große Wissenschaftsverbünde, und die „Exzellenzuniversitäten“ oder – diesmal neu – „universitäre Exzellenzverbünde“ mit überzeugenden strategischen Konzepten für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung der wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen.

Das Land Berlin unterstützt die hiesige Verbundinitiative im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder. Für die Antragsvorbereitung sollen die Universitäten in den nächsten zwei Jahren 3,5 Millionen Euro erhalten.