The Dark Side of Art

Art historian and Leibniz Prize-winner Bénédicte Savoy tracks down the transnational history of museum objects.

Aug 14, 2017

Bénédicte Savoy is a professor of art history at Technische Universität Berlin.

Bénédicte Savoy is a professor of art history at Technische Universität Berlin.
Image Credit: David Ausserhofer

To whom does beauty belong? To whom does art, or the other objects in our museums, belong? Should they be owned by the cultures in which they were created, or by the museums where they currently reside? As a French national, an expert in German studies, and an art historian, Bénédicte Savoy has been concerned with these questions ever since her dissertation on the subject of the art theft from Germany by France around the year 1800. It is a topic that preoccupies her. First as a researcher at the Centre Marc Bloch in Berlin and then as a junior professor and lecturer at Technische Universität Berlin, Savoy opened up a completely new field within art historical perspectives on the art treasures that are stored or exhibited in museums around the world – often far removed from the place of their creation. Savoy’s innovative research – on the concepts of museums and in particular on art looting and on the transfer of art objects across Europe, their origin, location, and the foundation of identity – has in recent years been the means of injecting much new energy into art history and attracting international acclaim.

When Cultural Heritage Is Stolen

Savoy seeks to highlight the tensions that have from the very beginning been connected with the idea of the museum. “The shiny side of the coin almost always has a less pleasant reverse in the western world – namely the dark side of power, whether symbolic or real,” according to her. “One has to consider both sides – they are inextricably linked and form a kind of self-contradictory whole.” A museum should show both sides of the object: the place in which it is seen, and at the same time it must reference the place where the object no longer is, its place of creation or discovery. The circumstances which led to the displacement to its current location, often across political borders – whether for economic or war-related reasons or out of curiosity – should always be presented along with the objects. Yet at present, many museum exhibits do not relate the whole history of the object.

Savoy submitted studies of the symbolic and material metamorphosis of objects resulting, for example, from hostile action or relocation during the colonial era. Her research – in which she always involves students – is dedicated to the collective emotions that accompany the experience of the theft of cultural heritage or its acquisition by victors in war. The argument over the exhibition of the famous bust of Nefertiti, discovered in Egypt by the German explorer Ludwig Borchardt and brought to Germany, is an example of this. That argument has been raging since 1913.

Savoy ensures that her students are involved in research work at an early stage…

Savoy ensures that her students are involved in research work at an early stage…
Image Credit: David Ausserhofer

Current events also benefit from Savoy’s expertise: One example is the agonizing over the design of the Humboldt Forum in the newly built Berliner Schloss, which is destined to unite the ethnological collections of the Berlin museums from 2019. Another is the case of the art dealer Cornelius Gurlitt, in whose apartment works of art, missing since 1945, were discovered in 2013 and consequently attention was drawn on the European art market at the time of National Socialism. A new two-nation project under the supervision of Savoy is the first to examine the German-French “art market” system and its players, including art dealers, collectors, and diplomats of the Third Reich.

The Center of German Romanticism Lies in France

At the Topoi Cluster of Excellence on antiquity, a research collaboration involving Freie Universität and Humboldt-Universität, Savoy is involved inter alia with a project on the construction of Berlin’s Museum Island at the end of the 19th century. It examines the way in which museum areas for the display of ancient works of art and edifices are designed. In other studies on the mobility of artists, she has identified Paris as a capital of German romanticism. “An entire generation of young German intellectuals and artists who migrated to Paris, lived and worked there, and was educated there, was instrumental in shaping the cultural landscape of the French capital in the museums and libraries around 1800. They effectively became contributors to the transnational history of objects.” The consequences can still be felt today,” she says. Friedrich Schlegel, Jacob Grimm, the librettist Carl Maria von Webers, and Helmina von Chézy were among them.

Savoy curated several large and very successful exhibitions, with the aim of fostering a broad social understanding of culture and portraying the international branches of the art and cultural scene. Significant attention was aroused for example by the 2011 exhibition Napoleon and Europe. Dream and Trauma in the Bundeskunsthalle in Bonn, and the exhibition about the Humboldt brothers at the Paris Observatory in 2014. She presented the results of her research project at the Topoi Cluster of Excellence in the exhibition Museum Visions, which was developed with students in a joint concept and shown in 2015 in the model room of the Berlin Bauakademie. The exhibition documented the competition for the contract to build the Berlin Museum Island in 1883 – now, with its buildings, part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Since 2017, Savoy and her team have published one of the first Open Access journals of Technische Universität Berlin, the Journal for Art Market Studies. The journal features articles about the international art market, in particular the conditions and mechanisms of art production, art dealing, and the reception of art. It is freely accessible for everyone and adheres to international standards with respect to transparency, expert opinions, copyright, and long-term archiving.

… students were team members working on the “Museum Visions” exhibition, which focused on the plans for the new design of the Berlin Museum Island at the end of the 19th century.

… students were team members working on the “Museum Visions” exhibition, which focused on the plans for the new design of the Berlin Museum Island at the end of the 19th century.
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

This tireless young researcher has received many awards for her work both in France and in Germany, including awards from the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the Académie Française. In 2013 she was accorded the honor of being named “Knight of the Order of Merit of the Republic of France.” The 45-year-old attained a high point of her career with the award in 2016 of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize by the German Research Foundation (DFG), which comes with prize monies of 2.5 million euros. When Savoy was told that she was going to receive this prize, her special team spirit once more came to the fore. Her foremost emotion was not euphoria, but relief. “I immediately understood that I could now offer my wonderful, creative team new perspectives, security of planning, and the possible implementation of research ideas. The constant effort to win funding for limited duration projects takes up an enormous amount of energy; now research is going to benefit.”

An Ambassador at the Peak of Intellectual Life

The future holds even more exciting developments: last year, Savoy was appointed to an international chair at the Collège de France. Her inaugural lecture in March of this year was broadcast live over the internet. The newly instigated chairs at the Collège de France enable high-ranking visiting researchers from foreign departments to work for five-year spells, though they may also remain at their respective universities. The French “Grand Établissement” is often referred to by the media as the “Olympus of French intellectual life”; with this appointment, Savoy has joined their ranks. She now commutes between Paris and Berlin, carrying the knowledge of museum objects and their original meanings, wherever their location, across borders – as an international scholar and ambassador.

Die dunkle Seite der Kunst

Kunsthistorikerin und Leibniz-Preisträgerin Bénédicte Savoy auf den Spuren der transnationalen Geschichte von Museumsobjekten.

14.08.2017

Bénédicte Savoy ist Professorin für Kunstgeschichte an der Technischen Universität Berlin.

Bénédicte Savoy ist Professorin für Kunstgeschichte an der Technischen Universität Berlin.
Bildquelle: David Ausserhofer

Wem gehört die Schönheit? Wem gehören Kunst und andere Objekte in unseren Museen? Den Kulturen, in denen diese Werke geschaffen wurden, oder den Museen, die sie nun besitzen? Diese Fragen beschäftigen die französische Germanistin und Kunsthistorikerin Bénédicte Savoy, seit sie sich in ihrer Dissertation mit dem französischen Kunstraub in Deutschland um 1800 auseinandersetzte. Das Thema ließ ihr keine Ruhe. Zunächst als Wissenschaftlerin am Centre Marc Bloch in Berlin, dann als Juniorprofessorin und Professorin an der Technischen Universität Berlin eröffnete sie ein ganz neues Feld der kunsthistorischen Sichtweise auf die Kunstschätze, die weltweit in den Museen lagern und gezeigt werden – oft weit entfernt vom Ort ihrer Entstehung. Die innovative Forschung von Bénédicte Savoy zur Konzeption von Museen, zur transnationalen Museumsgeschichte und insbesondere zu Kunstraub, zum Transfer von Kunstgegenständen quer durch Europa, zu deren Herkunft, Verbleib und zur Identitätsstiftung durch sie gab der Kunstgeschichte in den letzten Jahren viele neue Impulse und fand international Beachtung.

Wenn Kulturerbe enteignet wird

Die Kunsthistorikerin will die Spannungen sichtbar machen, die von Beginn an mit der Idee des Museums verbunden sind. „Die glänzende Seite der Medaille hat in der westlichen Welt auch fast immer eine Kehrseite, nämlich die dunkle Seite von Gewalt – symbolischer oder realer“, sagt Bénédicte Savoy. „Man muss beide Seiten zusammen denken. Sie sind untrennbar verbunden, bilden eine widersprüchliche Einheit.“ Im Museum müssten diese beiden Seiten der Objekte sichtbar werden: Der Ort der Betrachtung, also dort, wo sie sich befinden, und gleichzeitig der Ort, wo sie sich nicht mehr befinden, der Ort ihrer Entstehung oder ihrer Auffindung. Die Umstände, die zur Verlagerung an den aktuellen Ort führten, oft über politische Grenzen hinweg – wirtschaftliche, kriegerische oder von Erkenntnishunger geleitete Gründe – müssten also immer mit ausgestellt werden. Bei vielen Präsentationen in Museen würde diese Objektgeschichten jedoch bislang nicht erzählt.

Dazu legte sie Studien über die symbolischen und materiellen Verwandlungen der Objekte vor, die zum Beispiel durch Kriegshandlungen oder Verlagerung während der Kolonialzeit. Ihre Forschung, in die sie kontinuierlich auch Studierende einbindet, widmet sich auch den kollektiven Emotionen, die mit der Erfahrung einer Enteignung des Kulturerbes beziehungsweise der Aneignung durch Siegermächte einhergehen. Der Streit um die Ausstellung der berühmten Büste Nofretetes, die in Ägypten von dem deutschen Forscher Ludwig Borchardt ausgegraben und nach Deutschland verbracht wurde, ist ein Beispiel dafür. Er schwelt seit 1913.

Ihre Studierenden bindet Savoy früh in die Forschungsarbeit ein...

Ihre Studierenden bindet Savoy früh in die Forschungsarbeit ein...
Bildquelle: David Ausserhofer

Doch auch aktuelle Diskussionen profitieren von Bénédicte Savoys Expertise. Ein Beispiel ist das Ringen um die Ausgestaltung des Humboldt Forums im neu errichteten Berliner Schloss, das ab 2019 die ethnologischen Sammlungen der Berliner Museen vereinen soll. Oder der Fall des Kunsthändlers Cornelius Gurlitt, in dessen Wohnung 2013 seit 1945 verschollen geglaubte Kunstwerke gefunden worden waren, und der die Aufmerksamkeit auf den europäischen Kunstmarkt zur Zeit des Nationalsozialismus lenkte. Ein neues bi-nationales Projekt unter der Leitung von Bénédicte Savoy untersucht nun erstmalig das deutsch-französische System „Kunstmarkt“ und seine Akteure wie Kunsthändler, Sammler, Diplomaten im Dritten Reich.

Eine Hauptstadt der deutschen Romantik liegt in Frankreich

Am altertumswissenschaftlichen Exzellenzcluster Topoi, einem Forschungsverbund von Freier Universität und Humboldt-Universität, ist sie unter anderem an einem Projekt beteiligt, das den Bau der Museumsinsel Ende des 19. Jahrhundert in den Blick in den nimmt und untersucht, wie die musealen Räume für die Ausstellung antiker Kunstwerke und Bauten gestaltet wurden. In anderen Studien zur Mobilität von Künstlern hat sie Paris als eine Hauptstadt der deutschen Romantik identifiziert. „Eine ganze Generation junger deutscher Intellektueller und Künstler, die nach Paris migrierten, dort lebten, arbeiteten, sich ausbilden ließen, haben in den Museen und Bibliotheken der französischen Hauptstadt um 1800 die Kulturlandschaft geprägt und damit zur transnationalen Geschichte von Objekten beigetragen. Bis heute spürt man die Folgen“, sagt sie. Friedrich Schlegel, Jacob Grimm oder die Librettistin Carl Maria von Webers, Helmina von Chézy, gehörten dazu.

Um das breite gesellschaftliche Kulturverständnis zu fördern und die internationalen Verflechtungen der Kunst- und Kulturszene sichtbar zu machen, kuratierte Bénédicte Savoy mehrere große, sehr erfolgreiche Ausstellungen. Große Aufmerksamkeit erregte sie zum Beispiel mit der Ausstellung „Napoleon und Europa. Traum und Trauma“ 2011 in der Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Bonn oder mit einer Ausstellung über die Brüder Humboldt 2014 im Pariser Observatorium. In der Ausstellung „Museumsvisionen“, die sie gemeinsam mit Studierenden konzipierte und die 2015 im Musterraum der Berliner Bauakademie gezeigt wurde, präsentierte sie Ergebnisse ihres Forschungsprojektes im Rahmen des Exzellenzclusters Topoi. Die Ausstellung dokumentierte den Wettbewerb um die Bebauung der Berliner Museumsinsel 1883, die heute mit ihren Museumsbauten zum Unesco Weltkulturerbe zählt. Seit 2017 publiziert sie mit ihrem Team eines der ersten Open Access-Journale der Technischen Universität Berlin, das Journal for Art Market Studies. Es beschäftigt sich mitdem internationalen Kunstmarkt, insbesondere mit den Bedingungen und Mechanismen von Kunstproduktion, -handel und -rezeption. Das Journal ist frei zugänglich für alle Interessierten, folgt aber gleichwohl internationalen Standards, was Transparenz, Gutachterverfahren, Urheberrecht und Langzeitarchivierung betrifft.

... sie waren auch Teil des Teams zur Ausstellung „Museumsvisionen“, die sich mit Planungen für die Neugestaltung der Berliner Museumsinsel Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts befasste.

... sie waren auch Teil des Teams zur Ausstellung „Museumsvisionen“, die sich mit Planungen für die Neugestaltung der Berliner Museumsinsel Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts befasste.
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Für ihre Leistungen wurde die unermüdliche, junge Forscherin vielfach ausgezeichnet, sowohl in Frankreich als auch in Deutschland, unter anderem von der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und von der Académie Française. 2013 wurde sie in Frankreich sogar „Ritterin des nationalen Verdienstordens“. Einen Höhepunkt ihrer Karriere erreichte die heute 45-jährige Kunsthistorikerin jedoch, als sie 2016 mit dem Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft ausgezeichnet wurde, der mit 2,5 Millionen Euro dotiert ist. Als Bénédicte Savoy die Nachricht bekam, dass sie den Preis erhalten würde, zeigte sich einmal mehr ihr besonderer Teamgeist. Sie empfand nicht vorrangig Euphorie, sondern zunächst große Erleichterung: „Mir war sofort klar, dass ich nun meinem wunderbaren, kreativen Team Perspektiven bieten kann, Planungssicherheit und die mögliche Umsetzung ihrer Forschungsideen. Das ständige Beschaffen von Geld für befristete Projekte bindet enorm viel Energie, die nun der Forschung zugutekommen wird.“

Botschafterin im Olymp der Wissenschaften

Doch damit nicht genug: Im vergangenen Jahr wurde sie außerdem an das Collège de France auf einen internationalen Lehrstuhl berufen. Ihre Antrittsvorlesung im März dieses Jahres wurde live im Internet übertragen. Die neu eingerichteten internationalen Lehrstühle ermöglichen dem Collège de France die Aufnahme von hochrangigen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern ausländischer Institute für fünf Jahre, diese können aber gleichzeitig an ihrer Universität bleiben. Mit dieser Berufung zog die Kunsthistorikerin in den Pariser Olymp der Wissenschaften ein, wie das französische „Grand Établissement“ in den Medien bezeichnet wurde. Bénédicte Savoy pendelt nun viel zwischen Paris und Berlin und trägt das Wissen musealer Objekte um ihre ursprüngliche Bedeutung, egal wo sie gelagert sind, über die Grenzen hinweg – als internationale Gelehrte und Botschafterin.