Undreamed-of Possibilities in Medicine

Georg Duda, a professor of biomechanics, is a founding director of the Julius Wolff Institute and carries out research into musculoskeletal regeneration.

Jun 26, 2017

Georg N. Duda, since 2008 director of the Julius Wolff Institute and a professor of biomechanics and musculoskeletal regeneration at Charité university hospital, is also deputy director of the Berlin-Brandenburg Center for Regenerative Therapies.

Georg N. Duda, since 2008 director of the Julius Wolff Institute and a professor of biomechanics and musculoskeletal regeneration at Charité university hospital, is also deputy director of the Berlin-Brandenburg Center for Regenerative Therapies.
Image Credit: Charité

On entering the research building in the Wedding district of Berlin, one of the first things that catches the visitor’s eye is the German translation of a famous aphorism reputedly coined by Thomas Alva Edison, inventor of the lightbulb: “Invention is one percent inspiration and ninety-nine percent perspiration.”

For Georg Duda, the quotation also fits well with his work and scientific inquiry in general. “We want to make big strides and improve patient health care. The only way to make those strides is to work hard and to understand and bring together clinical medicine and basic research. Waiting for inspiration is not enough.”

“I never planned to be a professor of medicine.”

Georg Duda conducts research into the interplay of bone and muscle and how the two types of tissue influence each other during regeneration following injury. Duda is actually an engineer by training, having studied precision mechanics and biomedical engineering at Technische Universität Berlin in the 1980s. He came to medicine by chance: “I never planned to be a professor of medicine.”

After completing his studies in Berlin, Duda first went to the U.S. for a position in the biomechanics lab at the renowned Mayo Clinic in Minnesota. He subsequently took his doctorate in biomechanics at Hamburg University of Technology (TUHH) and then worked as a postdoc in accident surgery research and biomechanics at Ulm University. The Berlin-born researcher moved to Charité in 1997. As director of the research laboratory at the Centrum for Muskuloskeletal Surgery, Duda and his team applied to the German Research Foundation (DFG) to establish a clinical research group, and Duda was appointed Professor of Biomechanics and Biology of Bone Regeneration. Together with his partner, Professor Georg Bergmann, he founded the Julius Wolff Institute in 2008.

Biomechanical research at the Julius Wolff Institute benefits greatly from close ties with the interdisciplinary Berlin-Brandenburg Center for Regenerative Therapies (BCRT), which was established in 2006 as an alliance between Charité and the Helmholtz Association. At BCRT, clinicians, scientists, and engineers work together to improve our understanding of regenerative processes and to develop therapies based on the outcomes. The close collaboration between immunologists, bone and muscle researchers, cardiologists, and cardiac surgeons researching together under a single roof provides ideal conditions for this work, Duda explains.

“What drives me to this day is the interplay between biology and mechanics. These two worlds mostly have nothing to do with each other at school, but in nature – including in the human organism – they are extremely closely interlinked.” Medicine has been very strongly focused on molecular research in recent decades, he says, largely to the exclusion of the essential interplay between the molecular and the cellular level, let alone organs. “It has only become clear in the last few years that mechano-biology – a young research area that addresses the interactions between biology and mechanics – is at play at many levels within the human body,” says Duda. Tissue elasticity, for example, influences stem cell differentiation, and surface geometry affects cell movement and the function of the cell nucleus. “Cells organize and orchestrate themselves by mutual attraction and also by coordination via physical signals. Mechano-biology thus opens up undreamed-of possibilities in medicine that we have largely neglected by taking an exclusively molecular approach. That is what fascinates me,” says Duda.

From Basic Research to Therapeutic Application

It is often forgotten, Duda explains, that living tissue is constantly under mechanical strain, which is ultimately essential for organs to function and maintain their structure. “When a patient goes to the doctor and says they have pain somewhere, then we are looking at an organic malfunction and thus something to do with tissue. Everything in the body is about tissue formation and degradation and hence constant regeneration. Our aim at our research center is therefore to make possible a form of medicine that investigates the interplay between different types of tissues and the principles of tissue regeneration inherent to the human body and to make use of that in treatment.”

By way of example, Duda cites the fact that we do not yet know quite what role the immune system plays in influencing or perhaps even orchestrating regeneration. Working together with immunologist colleagues, he is conducting research among other things into which immune cells promote and which ones tend to inhibit bone regeneration. “All questions we address have their origin in the clinical setting, notably in orthopedics and accident surgery. And that is where we want our research findings to go back to.” The inestimable advantage of university medicine in Germany, says Duda, is that due to close ties between research and clinical medicine, findings can be gained directly on the patient, enabling clinical therapy to be enhanced by basic research. “That is often beyond the means of many pharmaceutical and medical engineering companies today. At BCRT, we have built up the infrastructure for clinicians and researchers to make use of this reversed internal translation at an early stage.”

Georg Duda has perfected bone regeneration implants that are now in use the world over. With basic research on stress and strain in the human body, his team laid the groundwork for all current type approval standards in international orthopedics. He is currently part of a working group investigating ways to assist faster, scar-free muscle regeneration. An example is musculature damage in an operation – and such damage occurs in every operation – where the muscles concerned are not only important to the functioning of the musculoskeletal system, but also for rapid and complication-free regeneration. “To this day, we don’t really have any satisfactory therapeutic approach for damaged muscle,” says Duda. Together with surgeons, biomaterial experts, stem cell researchers, and a company, Duda’s team has therefore developed a cell therapy that significantly reduces scar formation in regenerating muscle and restores muscular function more rapidly after surgery. “It is the first cell therapy for muscle regeneration worldwide, and it is now in phase III clinical trials for approval,” Duda says.

Researchers at Interdisciplinary Boundaries

Duda, who is one of the three founding directors of the Berlin-Brandenburg Center for Regenerative Therapies and spokesperson of the associated graduate school, BSRT, also works closely with sports scientists at Berlin’s Humboldt-Universität. It is his firm belief that research today can only work on a collaborative basis and, in his specific area, regeneration must go hand in hand with prevention: “I find it extremely exciting when researchers work together at interdisciplinary boundaries to create something truly new. Collaboration enables scientists to improve their techniques and take their research to a deeper level of understanding.”

As Duda confirms, Berlin offers special opportunities in this regard: “The city has an inestimable wealth of expertise with its many highly regarded scientists and the associated intellectual potential. The only downside to such a wealth of expertise is that you always have to make sure someone hasn’t already had a better idea,” says Duda, laughing. But that extra effort presumably comes under the ninety-nine percent perspiration without which there would be no new ideas or inventions.

Von ungeahnten Möglichkeiten in der Medizin

Georg Duda, Professor für Biomechanik, ist Gründungsdirektor des Julius Wolff Instituts und erforscht an der Charité die Regeneration des Bewegungsapparates.

26.06.2017

Seit 2008 ist Georg N. Duda Direktor des Julius Wolff Instituts und Professor für Biomechanik und Muskuloskeletale Regeneration an der Charité. Er ist auch Vizedirektor des Berlin-Brandenburger Centrums für Regenerative Therapien.

Seit 2008 ist Georg N. Duda Direktor des Julius Wolff Instituts und Professor für Biomechanik und Muskuloskeletale Regeneration an der Charité. Er ist auch Vizedirektor des Berlin-Brandenburger Centrums für Regenerative Therapien.
Bildquelle: Charité

Wer das Forschungsgebäude in Berlin-Wedding betritt, dem fällt sofort das Zitat in der Eingangshalle auf: „Erfindung besteht aus einem Prozent Inspiration und neunundneunzig Prozent Transpiration.“ Thomas Alva Edison hat das gesagt, jener US-amerikanische Elektrotechniker, der als Erfinder der Glühbirne bekannt wurde.

Georg Duda findet, dass das Motto auch gut zu seiner Arbeit und der Wissenschaft im Allgemeinen passt: „Wir wollen große Sprünge wagen und die Versorgung von Patienten verbessern. Solche Sprünge wird man nur schaffen, wenn man hart daran arbeitet, die Klinik und die Grundlagenforschung zu verstehen und zusammenzubringen. Nur auf eine Eingebung zu hoffen, das funktioniert nicht.“

„Ich hatte nie den Plan, Professor in der Medizin zu werden.“

Duda beschäftigt sich mit dem Zusammenwirken von Knochen und Muskeln und wie diese Gewebe sich nach einer Verletzung gegenseitig bei der Heilung beeinflussen. Dabei ist er eigentlich Ingenieur: In den achtziger Jahren hat er Feinwerktechnik und Biomedizinische Technik an der Technischen Universität Berlin studiert. Zur Medizin sei er eher durch Zufall gekommen: „Ich hatte nie den Plan, Professor in der Medizin zu werden.“

Nach seinem Studium in Berlin ging Duda zunächst in die USA, wo er im Biomechaniklabor der renommierten Mayo Clinic in Minnesota tätig war. Anschließend promovierte er als Biomechaniker an der Technischen Universität Hamburg-Harburg und ging als Postdoc an die Universität Ulm in die unfallchirurgische Forschung und Biomechanik. 1997 wechselte der gebürtige Berliner an die Charité. Als Leiter des Forschungslabors des Centrums für Muskuloskeletale Chirurgie beantragten Duda und sein Team die Einrichtung einer klinischen Forschergruppe bei der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG); Duda wurde als Professor für Biomechanik und Biologie der Knochenheilung berufen. 2008 gründete er mit seinem Partner Professor Georg Bergmann das Julius Wolff Institut.

Für die biomechanische Forschung am Julius Wolff Institut ist die enge Verbindung zum interdisziplinär strukturierten Berlin-Brandenburger Centrum für Regenerative Therapien (BCRT) ein großer Vorteil; die Einrichtung ging 2006 aus einem Zusammenschluss der Charité und der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft hervor. Am BCRT arbeiten Kliniker, Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure gemeinsam daran, Heilungsprozesse besser zu verstehen und darauf aufbauend Therapien zu entwickeln. Der enge Verbund von Immunologen, Knochen- und Muskelforschern, Kardiologen und Herzchirurgen, die gemeinsam mit Materialwissenschaftlern unter einem Dach forschen, sei dafür ideal, sagt Duda.

„Was mich bis heute antreibt, ist das Wechselspiel zwischen Biologie und Mechanik. Diese beiden Welten, die im Schulunterricht oftmals nichts miteinander zu tun haben, sind in der Natur - also auch im menschlichen Organismus - extrem eng miteinander verwoben.“ Im vergangenen Jahrzehnt habe sich die Medizin sehr auf die Erforschung von Molekülen konzentriert. Damit sei das essentielle Wechselspiel zwischen der molekularen und zellulären Ebene bis hin zum Organ ausgeblendet worden. „Erst in den vergangenen Jahren ist deutlich geworden, dass die Mechano-Biologie – ein junges Forschungsgebiet, das sich mit dem Wechselspiel zwischen Biologie und Mechanik beschäftigt auf vielen Ebenen in unserem Körper wirksam ist“, sagt Duda. So beeinflusse die Gewebe-Elastizität die Differenzierung von Stammzellen, und die Oberflächengeometrie wirke sich auf die Zellbewegung und Funktion des Zellkerns aus. „Zellen organisieren und orchestrieren sich, indem sie aneinander ziehen und sich über physikalische Signale auch koordinieren. Damit öffnet die Mechano-Biologie ungeahnte Möglichkeiten in der Medizin, die wir in einer ausschließlich molekularen Betrachtung weitestgehend außer Acht gelassen haben – das ist es, was mich fasziniert“, sagt Duda.

Von der Grundlagenforschung zum Einsatz in Therapien

Oft werde vergessen, dass lebendes Gewebe ständig unter mechanischer Spannung steht, um letztlich das Funktionieren von Organen zu ermöglichen und deren Struktur zu erhalten. „Wenn ein Patient zum Arzt kommt und sagt, dass ihm etwas wehtut, dann handelt es sich um eine organische Fehlfunktion und damit um das Gewebe. Alles im Körper ist ein Auf- und Abbau von Gewebe und damit eine ständige Regeneration. Wir wollen deshalb an unserem Forschungszentrum eine Medizin ermöglichen, die das Wechselspiel unterschiedlicher Gewebe und die körpereigenen Prinzipien der Regeneration von Gewebe erforscht und in Therapien zum Einsatz bringt.“

Zum Beispiel verstehe man heute noch nicht genau, wie das Immunsystem die Regeneration beeinflusst oder gar orchestriert, sagt Duda. Zusammen mit Partnern aus der Immunologie forscht der Wissenschaftler unter anderem daran, welche Immunzellen eine gute Knochenheilung fördern und welche diese eher hemmen. „Alle Fragen, mit denen wir uns beschäftigen, haben ihren Ursprung in der Klinik, insbesondere in der Orthopädie und Unfallchirurgie. Und dorthin sollen unsere Forschungsergebnisse auch wieder zurückfließen.“ Der unschätzbare Vorteil der Universitätsmedizin in Deutschland sei, sagt Duda, dass durch die enge Kopplung von Forschung und Klinik unmittelbar Erkenntnisse am Patienten gewonnen werden könnten, um Therapien in den Kliniken durch Grundlagenforschung besser gestalten zu können. „Für viele Pharmaunternehmen oder Medizintechnikunternehmen ist das heute oft nicht mehr leistbar. Wir haben im BCRT eine Struktur aufgebaut, um Klinikern und Forschern frühzeitig die Möglichkeit dieser Reversed Internal Translation zu geben.“

Georg Duda hat Implantate für die Knochenheilung optimiert, die heute weltweit verfügbar sind. Mit den grundlegenden Untersuchungen zu Belastungen im menschlichen Körper hat sein Team die Basis für alle gängigen Zulassungsnormen in der internationalen Orthopädie gelegt. Aktuell untersucht er mit einer Arbeitsgruppe, wie sich Muskeln bei der schnelleren und narbenfreien Regeneration unterstützen lassen. Wenn beispielsweise bei einer Operation Muskulatur beschädigt wird – das passiert bei jeder OP – diese Muskeln aber nicht nur für die Funktion des Bewegungsapparats, sondern auch für eine schnelle und unkomplizierte Heilung besonders wichtig sind: „Für beschädigte Muskeln haben wir heute eigentlich keine zufriedenstellenden therapeutischen Ansätze“, sagt Georg Duda. Zusammen mit Chirurgen, Biomaterialexperten, Stammzellforschern und einem Unternehmen hat Dudas Team deshalb eine Zelltherapie entwickelt, die die Narbenbildung des heilenden Muskels deutlich reduziert und die Muskelfunktion nach chirurgischen Eingriffen schneller wiederherstellt: „Es ist die erste Zelltherapie zur Muskelregeneration weltweit, und sie wird jetzt in einer klinischen Phase-III-Studie zur Zulassung gebracht“, sagt Duda.

Forscherinnen und Forscher an den Grenzen der Disziplinen

Duda, der zu den drei Gründungsdirektoren des Berlin-Brandenburger Centrums für Regenerative Therapien zählt und Sprecher der angegliederten Graduiertenschule BSRT ist, arbeitet auch intensiv mit den Sportwissenschaftlern an der Humboldt-Universität zusammen. Er ist überzeugt davon, dass Forschung ganz grundsätzlich heute nur noch in Zusammenarbeit funktioniert und dass – in seinem speziellen Bereich – Regeneration eng an Prävention gekoppelt werden muss: „Ich finde es extrem spannend, wenn Forscher an den Grenzen der Disziplinen zusammenarbeiten, um etwas wirklich Neues zu schaffen. Durch Kooperationen können Wissenschaftler ihre eigenen Techniken verbessern und ihre Forschung zu einem grundlegenderen Verständnis führen.“

Berlin biete besondere Möglichkeiten, da ist sich Duda sicher: „Die Stadt hat einen unschätzbaren Reichtum durch ihre zahlreichen renommierten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und das damit verbundene intellektuelle Potenzial. Der einzige Nachteil an diesem Reichtum ist, dass man sich immer umschauen muss, ob nicht jemand anderes schon eine bessere Idee hatte“, sagt Duda und lacht. Aber auch diese Mühe fällt wohl unter die neunundneunzig Prozent Schweiß, ohne die es keine neuen Ideen und Erfindungen gäbe.

Schlagwörter