Delving into Diversity

At the Berlin Graduate School of Muslim Cultures and Societies, art historian Wendy Shaw looks at manifestations of Islam over time.

Jun 15, 2017

Art historian Wendy Shaw says about her work at the Berlin Graduate School of Muslim Cultures and Societies, “We are trying to uncover Islam’s rich diversity and its historical manifestations and bring them to the fore.”

Art historian Wendy Shaw says about her work at the Berlin Graduate School of Muslim Cultures and Societies, “We are trying to uncover Islam’s rich diversity and its historical manifestations and bring them to the fore.”
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

Be it the debate on dominant culture, terrorism, or cultural comparison of gender roles, the struggle to agree on what modernity means and Islam’s attitude toward it shapes public discourse in Germany. Western cultures often see Islam as a minority religion and lifestyle – one portrayed by some as the enemy of liberal, secularized society. The Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies (BGSMCS) is thus working to put a different slant on what Islam is and what being Islam has meant and means within different societies over time. As part of a three-year degree program offered by Freie Universität in collaboration with Humboldt-Universität and the Zentrum Moderner Orient in Berlin, doctoral students explore the diversity and the mutability of Islamic societies and cultures.

Unique in Its Interdisciplinary and Multiethnic Approach

“It is often implied that Islam is something whole and complete, that it is easy to explain what Islam is,” says Wendy Shaw. But for the researcher at the BGSMCS, Islam is neither whole nor complete. She sees it as something that must be repeatedly negotiated anew. “We’re trying to uncover Islam’s rich diversity and its historical manifestations and bring them to the fore.” Shaw, a professor of art history in Islamic cultures, has taught at the Institute of Art History at Freie Universität Berlin since 2014 and is also a research teacher at BGSMCS. Following her studies in the U.S. and positions held in Ohio, Turkey, and Switzerland, she took up her post as a researcher at Freie Universität Berlin. “The graduate school is unique in its interdisciplinary and multiethnic approach,” says Shaw. “People from various backgrounds and countries come together here to explore Islam’s transculturalism and regional diversity. We have students from Mexico, Nigeria, India, Turkey, Holland, and Pakistan. I find it all hugely enriching.”

Graduate Schools

This is reflected in the wide variety of topics tackled by the doctoral students at the graduate school. These range from Turkish Sufism to gender stereotypes in Central Asia to Yemenite national identity and the Iranian film industry’s relationship with international film festivals. Apart from Islamic studies and social and cultural anthropology, the disciplines represented at BGSCMS also include political science and art history. “We believe it is important to take account of the multifaceted nature of Islam. Depending on the period in time and the society involved, it is seen and interpreted differently,” says Shaw. The research team thus views Islam not just as a religion, but – first and foremost – as a cultural phenomenon that has differing effects on the self-images and identities of Muslims and Muslim-based societies.

Toward a New Understanding of What Islam Is and Can Be

Reaching a different understanding of such a complex research subject like Islam calls for a multifaceted approach, says Shaw, adding that the perspective taken impacts significantly on how very different topics such as art, law, and gender types are viewed. “For example, in Turkey there is no such thing as Islamic art. There, one would perhaps look to the West and speak of “Christian art”, something we in Germany simply call art.”

According to Shaw, the vast range of the topics covered at BGSMCS is largely due to the excellent interdisciplinary collaboration between the institutes involved. Doctoral students benefit from the expertise at the Institute of Asian and African Studies at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, from the specialist knowledge of the Zentrum Moderne Orient (a non-university research institute), and the political science and art history approaches taken at Freie Universität. “At the graduate school there are no clearly defined borders between the different disciplines. Instead, the various approaches and perspectives taken meet and overlap. This prevents self-referencing discourse, which in turn fosters a new understanding of what Islam is and can be.”

Vielfalt kritisch beleuchten

Die Kunsthistorikerin Wendy Shaw untersucht an der Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies Ausprägungen des Islam im Wandel der Zeiten.

15.06.2017

Die Kunsthistorikerin Wendy Shaw über die Arbeit der Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies: „Wir bemühen uns darum, die enorme Vielfalt und historische Veränderlichkeit des Islams sichtbar zu machen.“

Die Kunsthistorikerin Wendy Shaw über die Arbeit der Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies: „Wir bemühen uns darum, die enorme Vielfalt und historische Veränderlichkeit des Islams sichtbar zu machen.“
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Ob Leitkulturdebatte, Terrorismus oder Geschlechterbilder im Kulturvergleich – das Ringen darum, was Modernität bedeutet und wie der Islam dazu steht, prägt die öffentliche Diskussion in Deutschland. Aus Sicht westlich orientierter Kulturen wird der Islam oft als Religion und Lebensweise von Minderheiten verstanden oder sogar zum Feind einer liberalen und säkularisierten Gesellschaftsordnung dargestellt. Für einen differenzierten Blick auf das, was der Islam ist und was islamisch im Wandel der Zeiten und in verschiedenen Gesellschaften bedeutet, tritt die Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies (BGSMCS) ein. Im Rahmen eines dreijährigen Studienprogramms von Freier Universität mit der Humboldt-Universität und dem Zentrum Moderner Orient in Berlin setzen sich Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden hier mit der Vielfalt und Veränderlichkeit islamisch geprägter Gesellschaften und Kulturen auseinander.

„Eine einzigartige Einrichtung in ihrer interdisziplinären und multiethnischen Ausrichtung“

„Häufig wird impliziert, der Islam sei etwas Fertiges und dass sich abschließend klären lasse, was der Islam ist“, sagt Wendy Shaw. Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des BGSMCS begriffen dagegen den Islam als etwas stets Unabgeschlossenes, das immer wieder neu verhandelt werden müsse. „Wir bemühen uns darum, die enorme Vielfalt und historische Veränderlichkeit des Islams sichtbar zu machen.“ Shaw, Professorin für Kunstgeschichte islamischer Kulturen, unterrichtet seit 2014 am Kunsthistorischen Institut der Freien Universität Berlin und lehrt als Wissenschaftlerin an der BGSMCS. Nach dem Studium in den USA und Anstellungen in Ohio, in der Türkei und in der Schweiz zog es die Forscherin nach Berlin an die Freie Universität. „Die Graduiertenschule ist eine einzigartige Einrichtung in ihrer interdisziplinären und multiethnischen Ausrichtung“, sagt Shaw. „Hier kommen Menschen aus ganz unterschiedlichen Kontexten und Ländern zusammen und beschäftigen sich mit dem Islam in seiner Transkulturalität und regionalen Unterschiedlichkeit. Wir haben Studierende aus Mexiko, Nigeria, Indien, der Türkei, Holland und Pakistan. Das empfinde ich persönlich als eine große Bereicherung.“

Graduiertenschulen

Diese Vielfalt spiegelt sich auch in der Bandbreite an Themen, mit denen sich Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden an der Graduiertenschule auseinandersetzen: Sie reicht vom türkischen Sufismus über Geschlechtervorstellungen in Zentralasien bis zum nationalen jemenitischen Selbstverständnis und dem Verhältnis der iranischen Filmindustrie zu internationalen Filmfestivals. Zu den an der BGSCMS vertretenen Fächern zählen neben der Islamwissenschaft und der Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie unter anderem auch die Politikwissenschaft und die Kunstgeschichte. „Uns ist es ein Anliegen, dem Facettenreichtum des Phänomens Islam gerecht zu werden. In unterschiedlichen Zeiten und in verschiedenen Gesellschaften wird stets etwas anderes darunter verstanden“, erläutert Shaw. Der Islam werde von den Forscherinnen und Forschern somit nicht nur als religiöses, sondern vor allem auch als kulturelles Phänomen verstanden, das sich unterschiedlich auf das Selbstverständnis von Muslimen und muslimisch geprägten Gesellschaften auswirke.

Für ein neues Verständnis davon, was islamisch ist und sein kann

Ein differenziertes Verständnis eines so komplexen Untersuchungsgegenstandes wie des Islam erfordere vielfältige Betrachtungsweisen, sagt Shaw. Die jeweilige Perspektive wirke sich entscheidend auf die Wahrnehmung so unterschiedlicher Themen wie Kunst, Recht oder Geschlechterbild aus. „Beispielsweise gibt es so etwas wie ‚islamische Kunst‘ in der Türkei gar nicht. Dafür würde man dort mit dem Blick nach Westen vielleicht von ‚christlicher Kunst‘ sprechen, die hierzulande wiederum einfach nur als ‚Kunst‘ gilt.“

Die große Vielfalt der an der BGSMCS bearbeiteten Themen verdanke sich vor allem auch der guten interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit der beteiligten Einrichtungen, sagt Shaw. So profitierten Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden von der Expertise am Institut für Asien- und Afrikawissenschaften der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, vom Fachwissen der außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtung Zentrum Moderner Orient und den politikwissenschaftlichen und kunsthistorischen Ansätzen an der Freien Universität. „In der Graduiertenschule gibt es keine klar abgesteckten Fächergrenzen, sondern es treffen unterschiedliche Ansätze und Perspektiven aufeinander. Damit wird ein selbstreferenzieller Diskurs verhindert – zugunsten eines neuen Verständnisses davon, was islamisch ist und sein kann.“