Osteoarthritis – Closing in on a Widespread Medical Condition

Researchers from various fields are jointly working on strategies to prevent osteoarthritis of the knee, decelerate its progression, and find a cure.

Jul 11, 2017

According to the German Society for Rheumatology (DGRh), five million people in Germany suffer from osteoarthritis. The interdisciplinary research association OVERLOAD-PrevOp is looking for prevention strategies as well as new therapies.

According to the German Society for Rheumatology (DGRh), five million people in Germany suffer from osteoarthritis. The interdisciplinary research association OVERLOAD-PrevOp is looking for prevention strategies as well as new therapies.
Image Credit: criene, photocase.de

Whether a joint degenerates and develops arthrosis or recovers is a question of stress and load distribution. This is the root idea behind the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) funded research association OVERLOAD-PrevOp, a Germany-wide cooperation dedicated to gonarthrosis – or osteoarthritis of the knee. Experts from the fields of medicine, pain research, and psychology are working hand-in-hand with bio-chemists, sports scientists, and mathematicians as part of this undertaking. In Berlin, four institutions at once are involved: Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität, and the Konrad-Zuse-Zentrum.

Concentrated interdisciplinary know-how is urgently needed. Based on estimates from the German Society for Rheumatology (DGRh), five million people suffer from osteoarthritis in Germany, usually affecting the knees or hips. This disease thus is a major burden for the healthcare system and the national economy. “The economic factor is huge,” according to Professor Wolfgang Ertel, an orthopedic consultant and trauma surgeon. “Approximately three billion euros are spent annually for treatment, and the costs due to sick leave are equally high.”

Targeted Training to Avoid Surgical Procedures and Pain

Malalignment or overloading plays a role in the degeneration of joint cartilage and one section of this research alliance – OVERLOAD – is exploring precisely this. PrevOp, on the other hand, is examining how pain and operations can be prevented by targeted training. “The main idea that drives our project is stopping the development of osteoarthritis at an early stage in test persons – or at least slowing the rate of progression,” says Ertel, who also heads the Klinik für Unfall- und Wiederherstellungschirurgie (Clinic for Trauma and Reconstructive Surgery) at Charité. The right form of movement is crucial here. At his clinic, affected individuals undergo muscle-building training using a vibration device. The vibration ensures that the load placed on the joint isn’t static –it is evenly distributed. The hypothesis that guides the research is that an evenly distributed load on the joint promotes the regeneration of cartilage.

This idea is not born out of thin air. The research group led by Petra Knaus, a bio-chemist, has observed the effect of homogenous force distribution on a molecular level. Within small bio-reactors, they embedded cartilage cells in a 3D matrix to subject them to mechanical stress that simulates a training load. The biochemists were able to observe that special signaling pathways, which play a key role in regeneration processes, were activated in the cartilage cells under these conditions. Knaus and her team now want to examine cell material from their patients at various phases of the disease and compare it to the cell models in order to develop new therapeutic approaches. “Our collaboration with clinics gives us the big advantage of direct access to cell material from patients.”

Making It Possible to Predict the Course of the Disease

Sports scientists at Humboldt-Universität also subject their study participants to a training program. They, however, are interested only in individuals who don’t yet suffer from osteoarthritis, but who belong to a risk group because they suffered an injury to their anterior cruciate ligament. The resulting instability of the joint leads to excessive strain and possibly to osteoarthritis. Professor Adamantios Arampatzis, head of the Department for Training and Movement Sciences at Humboldt-Universität’s Institute for Sports Sciences, explains that “following an injury, communication between the nerve and the muscle must be relearned and coordinated to again allow for articulated movement. Specialized neuromuscular training can support this process. As part of a low-resistance but sustained training program, various types of unstable padding are used to cause unexpected disruptions to the motion sequence. According to Arampatzis, these disruptions “force the muscles and nerves to once again coordinate their actions. This reestablishes sensorimotor control, and the knee becomes more stable.”

All the data collected from the clinical studies, the molecular-biological investigations, and the cell models are subsequently passed on to mathematicians who develop mathematical models using the data. In the future this information shall be used to make predictions for the course of the disease.

Researching osteoarthritis, a very widespread condition, is a major undertaking for which scientists also depend on those who are affected. At the Charité Clinic for Trauma Surgery, for example, doctors are on the lookout for additional test persons with early-stage gonarthrosis. The problem is that many affected individuals delay consulting a doctor, says Wolfgang Ertel: “Many prefer to take pain killers and we don’t see them until their knee no longer works.” Many factors play a role in this disease, which makes it all the more important to take a broad approach in the search for therapies. “With its unique composition of experts from so many fields, the research alliance OVERLOAD-PrevOp offers an outstanding basis for this research effort.”

Dem Volksleiden Arthrose auf den Fersen

Forschende aus unterschiedlichen Fachgebieten arbeiten gemeinsam an Strategien, Kniegelenksarthrosen zu verhindern, das Fortschreiten des Leidens zu verlangsamen und die Krankheit zu heilen.

11.07.2017

Der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Rheumatologie zufolge leiden fünf Millionen Menschen in Deutschland an Arthrose. Der interdisziplinäre Forschungsverbund OVERLOAD-PrevOp sucht nach Strategien der Vorbeugung und neuen Therapien.

Der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Rheumatologie zufolge leiden fünf Millionen Menschen in Deutschland an Arthrose. Der interdisziplinäre Forschungsverbund OVERLOAD-PrevOp sucht nach Strategien der Vorbeugung und neuen Therapien.
Bildquelle: criene, photocase.de

Ob ein Gelenk degeneriert und eine Arthrose ausbildet oder ob es sich wieder erholt, ist eine Frage der falschen oder richtigen Belastung. Das ist der Grundgedanke des Forschungsverbundes OVERLOAD-PrevOp, eine vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung geförderte bundesweite Kooperation, die sich der Kniegelenksarthrose widmet. Expertinnen und Experten aus der Medizin, Schmerzforschung und Psychologie arbeiten dabei Hand in Hand mit Biochemikern, Sportwissenschaftlern und Mathematikern. In Berlin sind gleich vier Einrichtungen beteiligt: Die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, die Freie Universität, die Humboldt-Universität und das Konrad-Zuse-Zentrum.

Geballtes interdisziplinäres Wissen wird dringend benötigt. Fünf Millionen Menschen leiden laut Schätzung der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Rheumatologie in Deutschland an Arthrose, die meisten am Knie oder an der Hüfte. Die Krankheit stellt damit auch eine große Belastung für das Gesundheitssystem und die Volkswirtschaft dar. „Der wirtschaftliche Faktor ist riesig“, sagt der Orthopäde und Unfallchirurg Professor Wolfgang Ertel. „Rund drei Milliarden Euro werden jährlich für die Behandlung ausgegeben und noch einmal so hohe Kosten entstehen durch krankheitsbedingte Arbeitsausfälle.“

Gezieltes Training, um Operationen und Schmerzen zu verhindern

Zur Degeneration des Knorpels im Gelenk trägt eine Fehl- oder Überbelastung bei. Ein Teil des Forschungsverbundes beschäftigt sich mit ebendieser Entwicklung der Krankheit – OVERLOAD, englisch für Überbelastung. PrevOp hingegen untersucht, wie Schmerzen und Operationen durch gezieltes Training verhindert werden können. „Kerngedanke unseres Projektes ist es, bei Probanden im Frühstadium bereits die Entwicklung der Arthrose zu stoppen oder zumindest deren Geschwindigkeit zu drosseln“, sagt Ertel, der auch die Klinik für Unfall- und Wiederherstellungschirurgie an der Charité leitet. Dabei komme es auf die richtige Form der Bewegung an. An seiner Klinik absolvieren Betroffene ein aufbauendes Muskeltraining mithilfe eines Vibrationsgerätes. Durch die Vibration ist die Belastung nicht statisch, sondern verteilt sich. Denn die Hypothese lautet: Eine gleichmäßige Krafteinwirkung auf das Gelenk fördert die Regeneration des Knorpels.

Diese Idee ist nicht aus der Luft gegriffen. Die Forschergruppe um die Biochemikerin Petra Knaus hat die Auswirkung einer solchen homogenen Kraftverteilung auf molekularer Ebene beobachtet. In kleinen Bioreaktoren haben sie Knorpelzellen in eine 3D-Matrix eingebettet und konnten diese so einer mechanischen Belastung aussetzen, die eine Trainingsbelastung simuliert. Die Biochemiker sahen, dass unter diesen Bedingungen in den Knorpelzellen spezielle Signalwege aktiviert wurden, die eine Schlüsselrolle bei Regenerationsprozessen spielen. Nun wollen Knaus und ihr Team Zellmaterial von Patienten in verschiedenen Phasen der Krankheit untersuchen und mit den Zellmodellen vergleichen, um neue Therapieansätze zu entwickeln. „Durch die Kooperation mit den Klinikern haben wir den großen Vorteil, dass wir den direkten Zugang zu Zellmaterial von Patienten haben.“

Voraussagen für Krankheitsverläufe ermöglichen

Auch die Sportwissenschaftler an der Humboldt-Universität lassen ihre Probanden ein Trainingsprogramm durchlaufen. Allerdings interessieren sie sich für Menschen, die noch keine Arthrose haben, aber zu einer Risikogruppe zählen, weil ihr vorderes Kreuzband verletzt ist. Die daraus resultierende Instabilität des Gelenkes führt ebenfalls zu Fehlbelastungen und möglicherweise zu Arthrose. „Nach einer Verletzung muss die Kommunikation zwischen Nerv und Muskel neu erlernt und abgestimmt werden, damit die Gelenkbewegung wieder richtig gesteuert werden kann“, erklärt Professor Adamantios Arampatzis, der Leiter der Abteilung Trainings- und Bewegungswissenschaften am Institut für Sportwissenschaft der Humboldt-Universität. Das könne durch spezifisches neuromuskuläres Training unterstützt werden. Bei einem gering belastenden, dafür ausdauernden Training würden durch verschiedene instabile Unterlagen unerwartete Störungen in den Bewegungsablauf eingebaut. „Diese erzwingen“, so Arampatzis, „dass Muskel und Nerv sich wieder neu aufeinander abstimmen, also die sensomotorische Kontrolle wiederhergestellt und das Knie stabiler wird.“

Alle gesammelten Daten aus den klinischen Studien, den molekularbiologischen Untersuchungen und Zellmodellen kommen schließlich zu den Mathematikern, die daraus mathematische Modelle entwickeln. Sie sollen in Zukunft Voraussagen für Krankheitsverläufe möglich machen.

Die Erforschung der Volkskrankheit Arthrose ist ein großes Unterfangen, bei dem die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler auch auf die Betroffenen angewiesen sind. In der Klinik für Unfallchirurgie der Charité etwa sucht man noch weitere Probanden mit früher Kniegelenksarthrose. Das Problem sei, dass viele Betroffene zu spät einen Arzt aufsuchten, sagt Wolfgang Ertel: „Viele nehmen lieber ein Schmerzmittel und kommen erst dann, wenn das Knie kaputt ist.“ Bei der Krankheit spielten viele Faktoren eine Rolle. Umso wichtiger sei es, bei der Suche nach Therapien breit aufgestellt zu sein. „Der Forschungsverbund OVERLOAD-PrevOp bietet da mit seiner einzigartigen Zusammensetzung von Experten aus so vielen Fachgebieten eine hervorragende Basis.“