World Revolution in an Urban Space

The world’s metropolises are constantly in flux, undergoing rapid and radical change. As the pioneers of globalization for the past 200 years, they are now the focus of an international research training group that has its roots in Berlin.

Jun 13, 2017

Metropolises like Tokyo change at a rapid and radical pace. An international research training group with roots in Berlin addresses the multifaceted topics that flow into interdisciplinary urban research.

Metropolises like Tokyo change at a rapid and radical pace. An international research training group with roots in Berlin addresses the multifaceted topics that flow into interdisciplinary urban research.
Image Credit: Bernhard Friess, flickr.comCC BY-ND 2.0

Before World War II, Berlin’s famous Potsdamer Platz was the most traffic-bound intersection in Europe and offered the craziest night life to boot. It remained a huge wasteland after 1945 and was then divided by the Berlin Wall in 1961. Even well before German reunification, the huge, unauthorized Polish market was a source of new life as well as conflict at the interface between East and West. It served as a trading ground for T-shirts, Polish sausage, marinated mushrooms, crystal, cigarettes, liquor, and more. By the end of the 1990s, Potsdamer Platz had been transformed into a new and vibrant Berlin quarter. Today, multinational companies operate in smart new buildings, while tourists from around the world stroll through streets lined with cinemas, shopping malls, and hotels. The city’s night-life scene and its rougher streets and corners are now found elsewhere.

“Berlin has changed rapidly and radically over the past 200 years. It has been both a pioneer and a driver of societal change,” says Alexander Nützenadel, a professor of social and economic history at Humboldt Universität Berlin and co-speaker of the international research training group whose work looks at: Die Welt in der Stadt: Metropolitanität und Globalisierung vom 19. Jahrhundert bis zur Gegenwart. (The World in the City: Metropolitan Life and Globalisation from the 19th Century to Today). “In Berlin,” says Nützenadel, “the city’s social, economic, and political dynamics come together in a tight urban space where large numbers of people with very different backgrounds live with and alongside one another in constellations that are constantly subject to change. Technische Üniversität, Humboldt-Universität, and Freie Universität formed the research training group to close a research gap.”

Metropolises: A People Magnet since Industrialization Began

Industrialization seen since the 19th century has changed the world in many ways. It was a revolution that began in the metropolises of Europe and North America. In the space of just a few decades, the populations of cities like Paris, London, and New York grew million-fold. People migrated in masses to the places where factories were offering work. And as industrialization progressed, globalization surged forward as well. The distance between countries and continents shrank significantly, first thanks to steamships and railways, and later to cars and planes. The world’s metropolises were and still are the hubs. Over the years, the social science subject of urban research has studied the interrelationship between metropolises and globalization. However, most of the studies on world history have only touched on this interrelationship as a kind of fringe issue. Even urban history has rarely addressed the global transformations seen since the 19th century.

In the research training group, doctoral candidates from many and varied disciplines investigate the full range of topics involved in interdisciplinary urban research: architecture and urban planning, migration and mobility, knowledge and communication, environment protection, and sustainable development. “Berlin’s universities are all well positioned in terms of their specific areas of research,” says Nützenadel. “The research training group consolidates their individual strengths.”

The research work conducted by the research training group, which is funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG), is not limited to Berlin – universities in New York and Toronto are also involved. “Thanks to the group’s excellent research network we are able to offer our young researchers a working environment that is international as well as interdisciplinary. They are able to conduct transnational research, both in terms of research content and the institutions with which they work,” Nützenadel explains. “The research training group is designed to produce a new generation of researchers who are both transnational researchers and global citizens.”

Graduate Research Focuses on Cities across Continents

“Collaboration between graduate students from differing disciplines provides additional research impetus,” says Noa Ha describing her own experience. The engineering graduate worked on her doctoral thesis as part of the Transatlantic Research Training Group from 2008 to 2010. This network of Berlin and New York universities gave rise to the international research training group – of which Toronto is also a member – looking at Die Welt in der Stadt (The World in the City). Ha is now a research assistant at the Center for Metropolitan Studies at Technische Universität Berlin. She is also the coordinator of the international research training group. “The work done in the group and the framework program of workshops on offer have really broadened my research horizon,” says Ha. Her dissertation – Polenmarkt am Potsdamer Platz: Handel(n) und Wandel(n). Urbane Informalität, städtische Repräsentation und migrantische Existenzsicherung in Berlin am Beispiel des mobilen Straßenhandels (Trade and Change. Urban Informality, City Representation and Migrant Existence in Berlin in the Example of Mobile Street Trade) – touches among other things on the Polish market on Potsdamer Platz.

The research training group focuses its studies on cities across the continents in their capacities as centers of finance and business, and also as political and social crucibles. The young research community looks not only at how the dynamics of a metropolis are reflected in its architecture and urban planning, but also how music and film play a role in expressing transition and change. This is evident in publications reporting on the jazz scenes of 1920s Paris and Berlin, and in 1960s films depicting change in New York. Current topics like the refugee crisis are investigated in a historical context, as are the problems of housing scarcity and social conflict. Once they have been identified, knowledge of temporally and spatially overlapping structures and patterns can be used to develop solutions for use in tackling the challenges of the day.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Weltrevolution auf engstem Raum

Metropolen wandeln sich ständig, rasant und radikal. Damit sind sie seit 200 Jahren Vorreiter der Globalisierung – und Thema eines internationalen Graduiertenkollegs mit Berliner Wurzeln.

13.06.2017

Metropolen wie Tokio wandeln sich ständig, rasant und radikal. Ein internationales Graduiertenkolleg mit Berliner Wurzeln befasst sich mit allen relevanten Themenfeldern der interdisziplinären Stadtforschung.

Metropolen wie Tokio wandeln sich ständig, rasant und radikal. Ein internationales Graduiertenkolleg mit Berliner Wurzeln befasst sich mit allen relevanten Themenfeldern der interdisziplinären Stadtforschung.
Bildquelle: Bernhard Friess, flickr.comCC BY-ND 2.0

Vor dem Krieg befand sich am Potsdamer Platz die verkehrsreichste Kreuzung Europas samt verruchtem Nachtleben. Nach 1945 blieb nur eine riesige Brache, ab 1961 von der Berliner Mauer durchtrennt. Bereits vor der Wiedervereinigung sorgte der nicht genehmigte Polenmarkt an der Schnittstelle von Ost und West für neues Leben – und für Auseinandersetzungen. Auf dem riesigen Markt wurden T-Shirts, polnische Würste, eingelegte Pilze, Kristall, Zigaretten, Schnaps und noch vieles mehr verkauft. Ende der 1990er Jahre entstand am Potsdamer Platz ein völlig neues Stadtquartier: Heute residieren in den Neubauten internationale Konzerne, auf den Straßen flanieren Touristen aus aller Welt zwischen Kinos, Hotels und Shoppingmalls. Die wilden Ecken der Stadt sind woanders.

„Berlin hat sich in den vergangenen 200 Jahren immer wieder rasant und radikal gewandelt und war damit einer der Vorreiter sowie Antreiber gesamtgesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen“, sagt Alexander Nützenadel, Professor für Sozial- und Wirtschaftsgeschichte an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und Co-Sprecher des internationalen Graduiertenkollegs Die Welt in der Stadt: Metropolitanität und Globalisierung vom 19. Jahrhundert bis zur Gegenwart. „In Berlin verdichtet sich soziale, wirtschaftliche und politische Dynamik auf engem Raum, hier treffen viele Menschen mit sehr unterschiedlichen Hintergründen aufeinander, leben mit- und nebeneinander in immer wieder neuen Konstellationen,“ sagt Nützenadel. Das Graduiertenkolleg von Technischer Universität, Humboldt-Universität und Freier Universität wurde ins Leben gerufen, um eine Forschungslücke zu schließen.

Metropolen waren seit der Industrialisierung ein Anziehungspunkt für die Menschen

Seit dem 19. Jahrhundert hat die Industrialisierung die Welt extrem verändert. Diese Revolution begann in den Metropolen Europas und Nordamerikas. In Städten wie Paris, London oder New York ging die Bevölkerungszahl binnen weniger Jahrzehnte in die Millionen. Unzählige Menschen zogen dorthin, wo in Fabriken Arbeiter gebraucht wurden. Im Zuge der Industrialisierung bekam auch die Globalisierung einen ungeheuren Schub. Zunächst ließen Dampfschiffe und Eisenbahnen, später Autos und Flugzeuge die Entfernungen zwischen Ländern und Kontinenten schrumpfen. Knotenpunkte waren und sind die Metropolen. Die sozialwissenschaftliche Stadtforschung untersucht seit Jahren die gegenwärtige Wechselbeziehung zwischen Metropolen und Globalisierung. Demgegenüber haben die meisten Untersuchungen mit Blick auf die Weltgeschichte diesen Zusammenhang nur am Rande thematisiert. Auch die historische Urbanistik hat sich kaum mit den globalen Transformationen seit dem 19. Jahrhundert befasst.

In dem Graduiertenkolleg forschen Doktoranden aus vielen verschiedenen Fachgebieten zu allen relevanten Themenfeldern der interdisziplinären Stadtforschung: Architektur und Städtebau; Migration und Mobilität; Wissen und Kommunikation; Umwelt und Nachhaltigkeit. „Die Berliner Universitäten sind jede für sich in den einzelnen Forschungsbereichen schon gut aufgestellt. Im Graduiertenkolleg werden diese Stärken gebündelt“, sagt Nützenadel.

Die wissenschaftliche Arbeit innerhalb des Graduiertenkollegs, das von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft gefördert wird, beschränkt sich nicht auf Berlin, Hochschulen in New York und Toronto sind mit eingebunden. „Durch das hervorragende Forschungsnetzwerk des Graduiertenkollegs können wir unseren Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern nicht nur ein interdisziplinäres, sondern gleichzeitig auch ein internationales Arbeitsumfeld bieten, in dem sie inhaltlich wie institutionell transnational forschen können,“ so Nützenadel. „Das Graduiertenkolleg soll dazu beitragen, eine neue Generation von Forschern auszubilden, die gleichermaßen internationale Wissenschaftler wie globale Bürger sind.“

Städte auf allen Kontinenten sind Untersuchungsobjekte der Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden

„Die Zusammenarbeit von Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus unterschiedlichen Fächern gibt der Forschung zusätzliche Impulse“, beschreibt Noa Ha ihre Erfahrung. Die Diplom-Ingenieurin hat von 2008 bis 2010 am Transatlantischen Graduiertenkolleg an ihrer Promotion gearbeitet. Aus diesem Netzwerk von Berliner und New Yorker Hochschulen wurde 2012 – mit Toronto im Bunde – das internationale Graduiertenkolleg Die Welt in der Stadt. Ha ist heute wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Center for Metropolitan Studies der Technischen Universität Berlin und Koordinatorin des Internationalen Graduiertenkollegs. „Die Arbeit in Gruppen und das Rahmenprogramm mit den Workshops haben meinen fachlichen Horizont bereichert“, sagt Noa Ha. Das Thema ihrer Dissertation streift unter anderem den „Polenmarkt“ am Potsdamer Platz: „Handel(n) und Wandel(n). Urbane Informalität, städtische Repräsentation und migrantische Existenzsicherung in Berlin am Beispiel des mobilen Straßenhandels“ lautet der Titel.

Städte auf allen Kontinenten sind Untersuchungsobjekte der Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden: als Finanz- und Wirtschaftszentren, als politische und soziale Brennkammern. Die junge Forschergemeinde fragt nicht nur danach, wie sich die Dynamik der Metropolen in ihrer Architektur und in der Stadtplanung widerspiegelt. Auch Musik und Film als Ausdruck des Wandels spielen eine Rolle. Das zeigt sich in Publikationen, die sich mit Jazz im Berlin und Paris der 1920er Jahre befassen oder den Wandel New Yorks der 1960er Jahre im Kinofilm spiegeln. Aktuelle Themen wie die Flüchtlingskrise werden im historischen Kontext untersucht, ebenso die Problematik knappen Wohnraums und soziale Konflikte. Sind zeitlich oder räumlich übergreifende Strukturen und Muster erst einmal erkannt, können mit dieser Erkenntnis Lösungen für aktuelle Herausforderungen gefunden werden.