Once Again, with Feeling

Psychologist Isabel Dziobek does research on empathy training programs at the Berlin School of Mind and Brain, an international graduate school at Humboldt Universität.

Jun 13, 2017

In her role as a mentor, Professor Dziobek also provides support for young researchers at an early stage in their career.

In her role as a mentor, Professor Dziobek also provides support for young researchers at an early stage in their career.
Image Credit: Heike Zappe

Isabel Dziobek recalls the moment it went “click.” It was 2001, and she was working on her doctoral thesis at the Center for Brain and Health at the New York University School of Medicine. To test an experimental design she needed test persons who were unable to recognize emotions in others, so she decided to contact self-help groups for people with autism. As she sat with one specific group and listened, Dziobek suddenly realized what she wanted to do. She says, “I saw the self-confident way in which those with autism perceive their personal strengths and don’t just focus on their deficits. That really gripped me, and I’ve wanted to find and activate those strengths ever since.”

What this comes down to is empowerment: measures that can increase the degree of autonomy and self-determination in the lives of those affected. This is the goal that has run like a silver thread through Dziobek’s research work since her visit to that self-help group. Since 2014 the 43-year-old professor of social cognition at the research training group, Berlin School of Mind and Brain, which is based at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, with involvement by Berlin’s Charité university hospital, Technische Universität Berlin, and Freie Universität. It is here that Dziobek develops new methodologies to find out how emotions regulate interpersonal behavior – for example, the ways in which people recognize feelings and express them. She also aims to find ways to help patients who experience difficulties with emotional recognition.

Graduate Schools

Her team works, for example, with 80 actors who sit in front of a camera and express a range of different emotions. A software company then uses the images to develop a game for use in training people with autism to recognize emotions. People without mental disabilities can also use it to strengthen their social skills. “I think empathy is important in achieving success in life. And by success I’m not talking about earning money, but about establishing a functional social network,” Dziobek explains.

Emotions have long been neglected in scientific research, she goes on. Since the so-called emotional turn in science, research into feelings is the order of the day. “Neuroscience research has shown that emotional background noise can play an important role even in rational decisions. It’s what we commonly call gut feeling.”

When Dziobek talks of her own development path, it’s difficult not to use her as an example for her own theory. She came to psychology more or less by accident. “I had taken education as an elective subject in secondary school, and l assumed psychology was a similar field, but without really knowing what job I wanted to do in that field.” She certainly hadn’t thought of becoming a researcher. “I didn’t really pay all that much attention to my studies. While at university I also worked part-time in discos, organized parties, and had an exciting social life. I thought that was all far more important.”

Nonetheless, Dziobek grabbed the opportunities that came her way, such as a scholarship for doctoral studies in New York. And back in Germany, the chance to join the ProFIL mentoring program with Technische Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, and Freie Universität Berlin, working with young researchers to support them on their journey toward becoming professors. “I believe Berlin’s universities have played a pioneering role in promoting women. And I have benefited greatly from it,” says Dziobek. In 2009 she was made head of the junior research group “Understanding Interaffectivity” at the Languages of Emotion Cluster of Excellence at Freie Universität Berlin, where she qualified as a professor. This was followed by a professorship at the Berlin School of Mind and Brain, a graduate school at Humboldt-Universität. It was a seamless transition. Today, Dziobek has three mentees and regularly attends panel discussions and workshops to report on the experience she has gained – something that could also be seen as empowerment.

But to help people on their way, it is important to know what they want. This is why Dziobek always works “close to the people.” For the past ten years she has headed a participatory research group where as part of a research team with non-autistic researchers, autists work on research questions that they themselves find relevant. According to Dziobek, the focus is less on finding a cure and more on improving quality of life and ensuring better provision. In recognition of her work with the Autism Research Cooperation (AFK), Dziobek received the 2016 Antistigma Award from the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie, Psychosomatik und Nervenheilkund, justone of many awards she has received. Dziobek believes it is important not to lose contact with her work or with people. In addition to research, she still practices as a psychotherapist, seeing two patients a week, and has set up an open psychotherapy surgery in a refugee accommodation center.

But it is not only her encounters with people that give Dziobek ideas for new research studies. She believes new technological advancements, such as emotion-sensitive machines, also play an important role. In the future, computers will be able to read dementia patients’ feelings, measure their stress levels, and make an appropriate response. “Once machines help us to meet peoples’ needs, we will develop a much deeper emotional bond with them,” Dziobek says. And because this sparks a range of new ethical questions, she is already working with Arne Manzeschke, a professor of ethics at LMU Munich, on projects to develop emotion-sensitive software.

It is impossible to foresee what technical aids the future will provide to help people cope with mental illness. For people with autism, however, special eyeglasses are already available which show them the emotions being expressed by the face in front of them. But apart from prostheses that patients will need to wear on a permanent basis, Dziobek says she also wants to develop programs to help them learn how to compensate for their weaknesses. She is convinced that “technology can help people to help themselves.”

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Noch einmal mit Gefühl

Die Psychologin Isabel Dziobek forscht an der Graduiertenschule Berlin School of Mind and Brain der Humboldt-Universität zu Programmen, mit denen sich Empathie trainieren lässt.

13.06.2017

Als Mentorin setzt sich die Professorin auch für die Förderung von Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen ein.

Als Mentorin setzt sich die Professorin auch für die Förderung von Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen ein.
Bildquelle: Heike Zappe

Isabel Dziobek erinnert sich an den Moment, als es „klick“ machte. Es war 2001 und Dziobek arbeitete an ihrer Doktorarbeit am Center for Brain Health an der New York University School of Medicine. Um einen Versuchsaufbau zu prüfen, brauchte sie Testpersonen, die Emotionen anderer Menschen nicht erkennen können. Also nahm sie Kontakt zu Selbsthilfegruppen für Autisten auf. Und als sie dann dort saß und zuhörte, hatte sie plötzlich ihr Ziel gefunden: „Ich erlebte damals, wie Autisten sehr selbstbewusst ihre Stärken wahrnehmen und nicht nur die eigenen Defizite sehen. Das hat mich nicht mehr losgelassen: Seitdem will ich diese Stärken finden und aktivieren.“

„Empowerment“ nennt sich diese Idee auf Englisch: Maßnahmen, die den Grad an Autonomie und Selbstbestimmung im Leben der Betroffenen erhöhen können. Dieses Ziel zieht sich seitdem durch Isabel Dziobeks Forschung. Seit 2014 ist die 43-Jährige Professorin für Social Cognition an der Graduiertenschule Berlin School of Mind and Brain der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, an der auch die Charité sowie die Technische Universität Berlin und die Freie Universität Berlin als Partner beteiligt sind. Hier entwickelt sie immer neue Methoden, um herauszufinden, wie Emotionen zwischenmenschliches Verhalten regulieren. Etwa, wie Menschen Gefühle erkennen und ausdrücken. Außerdem möchte sie Wege finden, wie man Patienten, die damit Probleme haben, helfen kann.

Graduiertenschulen

Ihr Team arbeitete zum Beispiel mit achtzig Schauspielern zusammen, die vor der Kamera verschiedene Gefühle ausdrückten. Eine Softwarefirma entwickelte daraus ein Spiel, mit dem etwa Autisten trainieren können, Emotionen zu erkennen. Aber auch Menschen ohne psychische Störung können damit ihre sozialen Kompetenzen stärken. „Ich glaube, Empathie ist eine wichtige Fähigkeit, um im Leben Erfolg zu haben. Und mit Erfolg meine ich nicht nur das Geldverdienen, sondern zum Beispiel auch ein funktionierendes soziales Netz zu haben,“ erklärt Dziobek.

Lange habe man Emotionen wissenschaftlich vernachlässigt, sagt sie. Seit dem sogenannten Emotional Turn in der Wissenschaft stehe allerdings die Erforschung von Gefühlen hoch im Kurs: „Die neurowissenschaftliche Forschung hat gezeigt, dass auch bei vermeintlich rationalen Entscheidungen das emotionale Hintergrundrauschen eine wichtige Rolle spielt – also das, was landläufig Bauchgefühl genannt wird.“

Wenn Isabel Dziobek von ihrem eigenen Werdegang erzählt, kommt man nicht umhin, sie selbst als Beispiel für diese Theorie zu nehmen. Zur Psychologie sei sie eher zufällig gekommen: „Ich hatte Erziehungswissenschaften als Abiturfach und dachte, Psychologie sei sicher so ähnlich – ohne genau zu wissen, welchen Job ich damit machen will.“ An ein Leben als Forscherin habe sie jedenfalls nicht gedacht: „Ich war nicht besonders auf das Studium fokussiert und habe nebenbei in Diskos gejobbt, selbst Partys organisiert, hatte ein spannendes Sozialleben und fand das viel wichtiger.“

Aber sie ergriff die Chancen, als sie sich boten. Das Doktorandenstipendium in New York etwa. Oder, 2006 zurück in Deutschland, die Teilnahme am Mentorinnen-Programm ProFiL, mit dem die Technische Universität Berlin, die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und die Freie Universität Berlin gemeinsam Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen auf dem Weg zur Professur unterstützen. „In meinen Augen haben die Berliner Universitäten bei der Förderung von Frauen eine Vorreiterrolle. Und ich habe sehr davon profitiert“, sagt Dziobek. 2009 wurde sie Leiterin der Nachwuchsforschungsgruppe „Understanding Interaffectivity“ am Exzellenzcluster Languages of Emotion an der Freien Universität Berlin, wo sie sich 2014 habilitierte. Es folgte die Professur an der Graduiertenschule Berlin School of Mind and Brain an der Humboldt-Universität. Der Wechsel klappte reibungslos. Heute betreut Dziobek selbst drei Mentees und berichtet regelmäßig bei Podiumsdiskussionen und Workshops von ihren Erfahrungen. Auch eine Form von Empowerment.

Doch um Menschen auf ihrem Weg zu unterstützen, muss man zunächst einmal wissen, was diese überhaupt wollen. Deshalb arbeitet Isabel Dziobek immer „nah am Menschen“. Seit zehn Jahren leitet sie eine partizipatorische Forschungsgruppe. Autisten forschen dort gemeinsam mit Wissenschaftlern zu Fragen, die sie selbst relevant finden. Da gehe es dann weniger um Heilungschancen, sondern um Lebensqualität und bessere Versorgung, erzählt Dziobek. 2016 erhielt sie für die „Autismus-Forschungs-Kooperation“ (AFK) den Antistigma-Preis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie, Psychosomatik und Nervenheilkunde. Eine von mittlerweile zahlreichen Auszeichnungen für ihre Arbeit. Es sei ihr wichtig, den Kontakt zum Beruf und zu den Menschen nicht zu verlieren, sagt sie. Neben ihrer Forschung praktiziert sie immer noch als Psychotherapeutin, sieht wöchentlich zwei Patienten und hat eine offene psychotherapeutische Sprechstunde in einem Flüchtlingsheim aufgebaut.

Es sind nicht nur die Begegnungen mit Menschen, aus denen Isabel Dziobek Ideen für neue Forschungsprojekte entwickelt. Zentral sind für sie auch neue technische Entwicklungen, wie emotionssensitive Maschinen zum Beispiel. In Zukunft könnten Computer die Gefühle von dementen Menschen lesen, ihr Stressempfinden messen – und entsprechend reagieren. „Wenn Maschinen uns helfen, Bedürfnisse zu befriedigen, wird es auch eine viel tiefere emotionale Bindung zur Maschine geben,“ sagt Dziobek. Und weil das ganz neue ethische Fragen aufwerfe, arbeitet sie bereits jetzt bei Projekten zu emotionssensitiven Programmen mit dem Ethiker Professor Arne Manzeschke von der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München zusammen.

Niemand kann absehen, welche technischen Hilfsmittel es in Zukunft bei psychischen Störungen geben wird. Für Autisten gibt es zum Beispiel bereits eine Brille, die ihnen anzeigt, welche Gefühle das Gesicht des Gegenübers ausdrückt. Aber Isabel Dziobek hofft, dass nicht nur Prothesen entwickelt werden, die Patienten permanent tragen müssen. Sie möchte Programme entwickeln, mit denen Betroffene langfristig lernen, ihre Schwächen zu kompensieren. Und sie ist überzeugt: „Technik kann Menschen helfen, sich selbst zu helfen.“