Berlin’s Math Maker

Professor Günter M. Ziegler does research and teaches at Freie Universität Berlin. He sees collaboration between three city universities as the great strength of mathematics in Berlin.

Jun 13, 2017

Günter M. Ziegler is a professor at Freie Universität Berlin Institute of Mathematics and has launched numerous research collaborations, including MATHEON and the Berlin Mathematical School.

Günter M. Ziegler is a professor at Freie Universität Berlin Institute of Mathematics and has launched numerous research collaborations, including MATHEON and the Berlin Mathematical School.
Image Credit: Stefan Gräf

When Günter M. Ziegler arrived in Berlin as a young researcher in 1992, a whole new world opened up for him. “I saw back then how the great minds of Berlin mathematics – Martin Grötschel at Technische Universität Berlin, Peter Deuflhard at Freie Universität, and Jürgen Sprekels at Humboldt-Universität – collaborated on research activities and launched joint projects. When leading researchers spread such a collaborative mindset, the effect is infectious.” Twenty-five years later, mathematician Günter Ziegler is himself one of the leading team players in collaborations between Freie Universität, Technische Universität Berlin, and Humboldt-Universität. He refers to the German capital as “a unique setting.”

Part of that setting relates to the collaborative projects between Freie Universität, Technische Universität Berlin, and Humboldt-Universität. “I can set more in motion here than anywhere else,” says the 54-year-old. Ziegler is University Professor at Freie Universität Institute of Mathematics, where he heads the Discrete Geometry group. In May 2017 he was additionally appointed an adjunct professor at Technische Universität Berlin. That professorship takes him back to the venue of his first years in Berlin. It was at Technische Universität Berlin where he completed his Habilitation in 1992 and worked as a lecturer before serving as professor of mathematics from 1995 to 2011. He then switched to Freie Universität.

Günter Ziegler has launched or helped with large numbers of research collaborations in Berlin. He is among the founder-members of Matheon, which was established in 2002 as a research center of the German Research Foundation (DFG). Matheon has since grown to become an internationally acknowledged platform for application-oriented mathematics and – after the maximum period for DFG funding expired – has been funded since 2012 by the Einstein Foundation Berlin.

Strong Partners

At Matheon, researchers from the universities, the Weierstrass Institute for Applied Analysis and Stochastics (WIAS), and the Zuse Institute Berlin (ZIB) use mathematics to develop new methods for key technologies in areas such as health care, logistics, and visualization. Günter Ziegler was first spokesperson of the Methods for Discrete Structures research training group and in 2008, as president of the German Mathematical Society (DMV), had a major hand in planning and staging the German Year of Mathematics. This project led to the establishment of the DMV Mathematics Media Office, which is now located at Freie Universität and promotes mathematics in the media.

“Together we can achieve so much more”

Working in collaboration with colleagues, in the first round of the German government’s Excellence Initiative in 2006, Günter Ziegler succeeded in winning one of the first graduate schools for Berlin: the Berlin Mathematical School (BMS), ), a joint institution of Technische Universität Berlin, Freie Universität, and Humboldt-Universität where he served as founding chair from 2006 to 2007. The BMS program, which is highly regarded internationally, enables students from all over the world to progress directly in the space of just a few years from bachelor’s to doctorate. A total of 233 doctorates were awarded at the graduate school up to March 2017. The chair of BMS alternates every two years between Technische Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität, and Freie Universität; Ziegler is once again the current chair.

“Together we can achieve so much more than with everyone working on their own,” says Ziegler, going on to enumerate the wealth of expertise that comes together at BMS: Technische Universität Berlin with its four focus areas in stochastics, numerics, optimization, and geometry; Humboldt-Universität with its knowhow in areas such as algebra, number theory, and nonlinear optimization; and Freie Universität with focus areas including mathematics in the life sciences and discrete mathematics. “In my research area at Freie Universität we look into many different questions of discrete geometry and especially the theory of polytopes,” explains Ziegler. At this point he breaks off and laughs. “But without a geometry lecture that isn’t very easy to understand.” For Ziegler, Matheon and the BMS are key institutions for networking in mathematics.

At the beginning of his academic career he never would have thought that he would one day be an accomplished team player, Ziegler relates, saying he started out very much as a go-it-aloner. He recalls his studies as a turbocharged part of his career. “I hit university at 18 and had my doctorate at 24.” Looking back, he says he was over-eager and over-ambitious. “I wanted to show everyone I could do it.” He was a loner who after his Vordiplom in mathematics and physics at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in Munich went to the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in the USA to do his doctorate and then on to the University of Augsburg. There, from 1987 to 1991, he held a postdoc position under Martin Grötschel – today’s president of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities – until Grötschel accepted a professorship at Technische Universität Berlin. In 1991, Ziegler went to Sweden for a research year studying combinatorics at the Mittag-Leffler Institute in Djursholm. A year later he completed his Habilitation in Berlin. It was there that he experienced the collaboration between Grötschel, Deuflhard, and Sprekels that he found so inspiring.

Ziegler also passes on his enthusiasm for mathematics in book form. His latest book, ironically entitled Mathematik – Das ist doch keine Kunst! (roughly translated, “Mathematics? There’s no art to that!”), entertainingly describes Ziegler’s science with the aid of 24 works of art: as an art that creates art, as a playground for ambitious adventurers, and also as a major driver of progress.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Mit ihm muss Berlin rechnen

Professor Günter M. Ziegler forscht und lehrt an der Freien Universität. Die Stärke der Mathematik in Berlin sieht er in der Kooperation dreier Berliner Universitäten.

13.06.2017

Günter M. Ziegler ist Professor am Institut für Mathematik der Freien Universität Berlin und hat bereits viele Forschungskooperationen auf den Weg gebracht, darunter das Matheon und die Berlin Mathematical School.

Günter M. Ziegler ist Professor am Institut für Mathematik der Freien Universität Berlin und hat bereits viele Forschungskooperationen auf den Weg gebracht, darunter das Matheon und die Berlin Mathematical School.
Bildquelle: Stefan Gräf

Als Günter M. Ziegler 1992 als junger Wissenschaftler nach Berlin kam, eröffnete sich für ihn eine neue Welt. „Ich habe damals erlebt, wie die großen Köpfe der Berliner Mathematik – Martin Grötschel von der Technischen Universität Berlin, Peter Deuflhard von der Freien Universität und Jürgen Sprekels von der Humboldt-Universität – gemeinsam geforscht und Projekte angestoßen haben. Wenn führende Wissenschaftler eine solche Stimmung der Zusammenarbeit verbreiten, dann steckt das an.“ 25 Jahre später ist der Mathematiker Günter Ziegler selbst einer der großen Teamplayer im Zusammenspiel von Freier Universität, Technischer Universität Berlin und Humboldt-Universität. In der Hauptstadt finde er „ein Setting, das einzigartig ist“.

Das „Setting“, das sind auch die Kooperationsprojekte der Freien Universität, Technischen Universität Berlin und Humboldt-Universität. „Ich könnte nirgends sonst so viel auf die Beine stellen wie hier“, sagt der 54-Jährige. Ziegler ist Hochschulprofessor am Institut für Mathematik der Freien Universität und leitet dort die Arbeitsgruppe Diskrete Geometrie. Seit Mai 2017 ist er zudem Honorarprofessor an der Technischen Universität Berlin. Die Professur führt ihn zurück an seine erste Wirkungsstätte in Berlin. An der Technischen Universität Berlin habilitierte er sich 1992 und war dort als Privatdozent und von 1995 bis 2011 als Professor für Mathematik tätig. Dann wechselte er an die Freie Universität.

Günter Ziegler hat in Berlin eine Vielzahl von Forschungskooperationen auf den Weg oder vorangebracht: Er zählt zu den ersten Mitgliedern von Matheon, das 2002 als Forschungszentrum der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft gegründet wurde. Mittlerweile hat sich Matheon zur international anerkannten Marke für anwendungsorientierte Mathematik entwickelt und wird – nachdem es den Höchstförderzeitraum der DFG erreicht hatte – seit 2012 von der Einstein-Stiftung Berlin gefördert.

Gemeinsam im Verbund

Am Matheon arbeiten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Universitäten, des Weierstraß-Instituts für Angewandte Analysis und Stochastik (WIAS) und des Konrad-Zuse-Zentrums für Informationstechnik Berlin (ZIB) daran, mithilfe der Mathematik neue Methoden für Schlüsseltechnologien etwa im Gesundheitswesen, der Logistik und der Visualisierung zu entwickeln. Günter Ziegler brachte das Graduiertenkolleg „Methods for Discrete Structures“ als Sprecher an den Start, im Jahr 2008 war er als Präsident der Deutschen Mathematiker-Vereinigung (DMV) maßgeblich an der Konzeption und Organisation des bundesweiten „Jahres der Mathematik“ beteiligt. Aus diesem Projekt entstand das „Medienbüro Mathematik“ der DMV, das inzwischen von der Freien Universität aus das Thema Mathematik an die Medien vermittelt.

„Gemeinsam können wir viel mehr bewegen“

In der ersten Runde der Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder 2006 warb Günter Ziegler im Verbund mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen eine der ersten Graduiertenschulen in Berlin ein: die Berlin Mathematical School (BMS), eine gemeinsame Einrichtung von Technischer Universität Berlin, Freier Universität und Humboldt-Universität, deren Sprecher er von 2006 bis 2007 war. Das international angesehene Programm der BMS führt Studierende aus aller Welt in wenigen Jahren vom Bachelor direkt zur Promotion. Bis März 2017 wurden an der Graduiertenschule insgesamt 233 Doktoranden promoviert. Die Sprecherschaft der BMS wird alle zwei Jahre zwischen Technischer Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität und Freier Universität weitergegeben; zurzeit ist Ziegler wieder Sprecher.

„Gemeinsam können wir viel mehr bewegen, als wenn jeder für sich arbeitet“, sagt Günter Ziegler und zählt die Expertisen der Universitäten auf, die an der BMS zusammenlaufen: die Technische Universität Berlin mit ihren vier Schwerpunkten in Stochastik, Numerik, Optimierung und Geometrie; die Humboldt-Universität mit ihrem Know-how, beispielsweise in Algebra und Zahlentheorie sowie in Nichtlinearer Optimierung; und die Freie Universität mit Schwerpunkten unter anderem in der Mathematik in den Lebenswissenschaften und Diskreter Mathematik. „In meinem Forschungsbereich an der Freien Universität beschäftigen wir uns mit den vielfältigen Fragestellungen der Diskreten Geometrie, insbesondere mit der Theorie der hochdimensionalen Polyeder“, erläutert Günter Ziegler. Hier bricht er seine Erklärungen ab und lacht: „Aber ohne Geometrie-Vorlesung ist das nicht so leicht zu verstehen.“ Für Ziegler sind das Matheon und die BMS wichtige Einrichtungen für eine Vernetzung in der Mathematik.

Dass er ein ausgewiesener Teamplayer werden würde, habe er in seinen wissenschaftlichen Anfängen nicht gedacht, er sei eher ein Einzelkämpfer gewesen, sagt Ziegler. Seine Studienzeit hat er als Turbojahre in Erinnerung. „Mit 18 war ich an der Uni, mit 24 promoviert.“ Rückblickend beschreibt er sich als übereifrig und überambitioniert: „Ich wollte allen zeigen, dass ich es kann.“ Ein Einzelkämpfer, den es nach seinen Vordiplomen in Mathematik und Physik an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in München zur Promotion an das Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in die USA führte, anschließend an die Universität Augsburg. Dort war er von 1987 bis 1991 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter bei Martin Grötschel – dem heutigen Präsidenten der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften –, bevor dieser eine Professur an der Technischen Universität Berlin annahm. Günter Ziegler ging 1991 für ein Forschungsjahr auf dem Gebiet der Kombinatorik an das Mittag-Leffler-Institut im schwedischen Djursholm und habilitierte sich ein Jahr später in Berlin. Hier erlebte er die Zusammenarbeit von Grötschel, Deuflhard und Sprekels, was ihn begeisterte.

Seine Begeisterung für das Fach vermittelt Ziegler auch in Buchform. Das jüngste Buch trägt den ironischen Titel „Mathematik – Das ist doch keine Kunst!“ und beschreibt Zieglers Wissenschaft unterhaltsam anhand von 24 Bildern: als eine Kunst, die Kunst produziert, als Spielplatz für ambitionierte Abenteurer, aber auch als ein wesentlicher Motor für den Fortschritt.