Of Hearsay and Knowledge

Digital networks change our lives and society. A joint computer science and media degree program explores the points of intersection between technology and society.

Jun 13, 2017

How can communication with voice control systems such as Siri be improved? Facial robots can be used to improve the dialogues through additional interactions such as eye contact or head shaking.

How can communication with voice control systems such as Siri be improved? Facial robots can be used to improve the dialogues through additional interactions such as eye contact or head shaking.
Image Credit: TU Berlin/PR/Oana Popa

Recent years have seen ever-increasing use of “fake news” to influence political sentiment. An example was the “Lisa case,” the incident of a 13-year-old Russian girl allegedly raped by refugees in Berlin at the beginning of 2016. The fabricated story spread over social media and led to angry demonstrations in the German capital and even strained diplomatic ties between the Russian and the German foreign ministers. “In such cases, the new technical possibilities opened up by digital communication create huge potential for conflict,” says Martin Emmer, at professor at the Institute for Media and Communication Studies at Freie Universität Berlin. “Large numbers of previously passive readers and consumers are turning into active disseminators of news.” Such points of intersection between social and technical aspects are increasingly important and are a subject of academic inquiry in computer science and media studies.

The Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Technische Universität Berlin and the Institute for Media and Communication Studies within the Department of Political and Social Sciences at Freie Universität Berlin offer a joint, German-language bachelor’s program in computer science and media (Medieninformatik). Graduates from the degree program, which was launched three years ago, receive a degree certificate from both universities.

Course Content: Computer Science, Technology, Communication Studies, and Media Law

“Demand was strong from the outset, and we’ve had very good experience with the new degree program,” says Emmer, who heads the program together with Sebastian Möller, a professor of electrical engineering at Technische Universität Berlin. The program can accept 60 students each semester. Most recently, Emmer says, the number of applications was ten times that. “The logical next step after the successful launch is for us now to go on and offer a master’s degree.” The master’s program is being provided in collaboration with a new partner, the Faculty of Law at Humboldt-Universität. The program combines mathematics, fundamentals of computer science, and media technology with social science approaches to media communication. Technische Universität Berlin is responsible for the computer science and technology component, Freie Universität for the communications studies and economics-related content, while Humboldt-Universität teaches media law content covering areas such as commercial intellectual property law, licensing agreements, and rights of personality. Students are also able to attend courses at the Konrad Wolf Film University in Babelsberg.

Learning with interactive media: Using a model of the ear, students in the degree program on media informatics illustrate the process of listening.

Learning with interactive media: Using a model of the ear, students in the degree program on media informatics illustrate the process of listening.
Image Credit: TU Berlin/PR/Oana Popa

“What’s special about computer science and media in Berlin is the amount of social science analysis built into the degree program,” Emmer explains. “Throughout the entire program, students alternate between acquiring technology-related and communication/social studies knowledge and skills, and all the elements are closely interconnected.” This enables students not only to develop and implement digital media applications, but to analyze their effects and make inferences from that analysis. Key skills like project management and team working likewise feature on the timetable. What’s more, thanks to the three universities’ outstanding international connections and exchange programs, undergraduates in the program can further widen their horizons by incorporating a study period abroad. “We were positively surprised by the amount of prior knowledge students have even in the first semester. Many have already done some programming for fun at school,” says Emmer. “Many of the projects produced by the students in the last semester before their finals were quite ambitious.”

Student Research Projects

Tomasz Tkaczyk, for example, a sixth semester computer science and media undergraduate, is working with fellow students on a research project targeting fake news. “Germany already has a growing fact-checking community that picks up on rumors online,” says Tkaczyk. “But what is missing is an easy way to track the spread of fake news, and that is what we’re working on.” With the aid of communication scholar Christoph Raetzsch, Tkaczyk’s group at Freie Universität Berlin’s Division of Journalism Studies is developing a tool that will mainly be of use to journalists but could also interest politicians: www.fakenewsgraph.de aims to show who launched a given item of fake news and who it was disseminated through. The object of enquiry consists of data from Twitter.

The Fake News Graph Analysis project is already making waves off campus, too. On 1 June 2017, Tkaczyk’s group presented their work at the #DisruptPopulism conference in Berlin, where 15 teams from five different countries competed for an award including 15,000 euros. “We didn’t win but we did get great encouragement to keep going,” says Tkaczyk, who is now applying for the master’s program. “Dr. Christoph Raetzsch at Freie Universität’s Division of Journalism Studies helped us find the right idea at the right time. He gave us tremendous motivation, and the group worked together really well. I learned a lot from the project.”

Graduates with master’s degrees have a wide range of career options. Opportunities are open to them in new media companies and also in traditional sectors where digital media skills are increasingly in demand – such as in television and the automotive industry. “People with this kind of expertise are also sought after in the academic world,” Emmer stresses. “For example, big data is a major upcoming issue in research.”

In Berlin, there is little distance separating computer science and media studies from other areas of inquiry surrounding digitalization. An example is the nearby Einstein Center Digital Future opened in early April. The new center will be home to 50 new professorships across the core area of digital infrastructure, methods, and algorithms and extending to innovation focuses including digital health, the digital society, and social sciences, and digital industry and services. A further addition will be the German Internet Institute that is to be established in the German capital with up to 50 million euros a year in funding for the first five years from the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research. “The research entities here in the city add up to an exciting cluster,” says Emmer. “That makes Berlin a trailblazer in research related to digitalization.”

Vom Hörensagen und Wissen

Digitale Netzwerke verändern unseren Alltag und die Gesellschaft. Der universitätenübergreifende Studiengang Medieninformatik untersucht die Schnittstelle von Technik und Sozialem.

13.06.2017

Wie lässt sich die Kommunikation mit Sprachsteuerungssystemen wie Siri und Co. verbessern? Durch Gesichtsroboter lassen sich die Dialoge durch zusätzliche Interaktionen wie Blickkontakt oder Kopfschütteln verbessern.

Wie lässt sich die Kommunikation mit Sprachsteuerungssystemen wie Siri und Co. verbessern? Durch Gesichtsroboter lassen sich die Dialoge durch zusätzliche Interaktionen wie Blickkontakt oder Kopfschütteln verbessern.
Bildquelle: TU Berlin/PR/Oana Popa

Seit einigen Jahren werden immer häufiger Fake News lanciert, um politisch Stimmung zu machen – wie etwa im „Fall Lisa“: das 13-jährige russische Mädchen war Anfang 2016 in Berlin angeblich von Flüchtlingen vergewaltigt worden. Die über soziale Netzwerke verbreitete Lügengeschichte führte zu Demonstrationen empörter Bürger in der Bundeshauptstadt und sogar zu Spannungen zwischen dem russischen und dem deutschen Außenminister. „In solchen Fällen entfalten die neuen technischen Möglichkeiten digitaler Kommunikation ein enormes soziales Konfliktpotenzial“, sagt Martin Emmer, Professor am Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft der Freien Universität. „Eine große Zahl bisher passiver Leser und Konsumenten wird selbst zu Akteuren, die Nachrichten verbreiten.“ Auf solche Schnittstellen sozialer und technischer Aspekte, die immer größere gesellschaftliche Bedeutung erlangen, zielt das Fach Medieninformatik ab.

Schon seit drei Jahren bieten die Fakultät Elektrotechnik und Informatik der Technischen Universität Berlin und das Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft am Fachbereich Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften der Freien Universität Berlin den Bachelorstudiengang Medieninformatik gemeinsam an. Die Studierenden erhalten nach erfolgreichem Abschluss von beiden Universitäten ein Zeugnis.

Die Studieninhalte: Informatik, Technich, Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienrecht

„Die Nachfrage war von Anfang an groß, und wir haben sehr gute Erfahrungen mit dem neuen Studiengang gemacht“, so Emmer, der den Studiengang gemeinsam mit Elektrotechnik-Professor Sebastian Möller von der Technischen Universität Berlin leitet. In jedem Semester werden 60 Studierende immatrikuliert. Zuletzt, so Emmer, lagen die Bewerbungszahlen mehr als zehnmal so hoch. „Die Logische Konsequenz nach diesem erfolgreichen Start ist, dass wir nun im zweiten Schritt den Master anbieten.“ Neuer Kooperationspartner des Masterprogramms ist die Juristische Fakultät der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin. Der Studiengang kombiniert Mathematik, Grundlagen der Informatik und Medientechnik mit sozialwissenschaftlichen Zugängen zu medialer Kommunikation. Die Technische Universität Berlin ist dabei für den Informatik- und Technikanteil zuständig, die Freie Universität für die kommunikations- und wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Inhalte, die Humboldt Universität vermittelt die Inhalte zum Medienrecht rund um Themen wie zum Beispiel gewerblicher Rechtsschutz, Lizenzverträge und Persönlichkeitsrechte. Auch an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg Konrad Wolf können Kurse belegt werden.

Lernen mit interaktiven Medien: Studierende des Studiengangs Medieninformatik veranschaulichen den Prozess des Hörens mit einem Modell vom Ohr.

Lernen mit interaktiven Medien: Studierende des Studiengangs Medieninformatik veranschaulichen den Prozess des Hörens mit einem Modell vom Ohr.
Bildquelle: TU Berlin/PR/Oana Popa

„Besonderheit der Berliner Medieninformatik ist die starke Integration sozialwissenschaftlich-analytischer Anteile in das Studium“, erläutert Emmer. „Das heißt, über die gesamte Studiendauer wechseln sich der Erwerb technikbezogener und kommunikations- und gesellschaftsbezogener Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten ab, wobei sämtliche Lehrangebote eng miteinander verknüpft sind.“ Dies befähige die Studierenden, digitale Medienanwendungen nicht nur zu entwickeln und umzusetzen, sondern ihre Auswirkungen zu analysieren und daraus Rückschlüsse zu ziehen. Die Vermittlung zentraler Fähigkeiten wie Projektmanagement oder Teamarbeit steht ebenfalls auf dem Stundenplan. Hinzu kommt, dass es beste internationale Beziehungen und Austauschprogramme an den drei Universitäten dem akademischen Nachwuchs ermöglichen, einen Auslandsaufenthalt ins Studium zu integrieren, der den Horizont nochmals erweitert. „Wir waren positiv überrascht, wie viel Vorwissen die Studierenden schon ins erste Semester mitbringen, viele haben bereits zu Schulzeiten aus Spaß programmiert“, sagt Emmer. „Entsprechend anspruchsvoll waren dann auch viele Projekte, die von den Studierenden im letzten Semester vor dem Bachelor-Abschluss erstellt wurden.“

Eigene Forschungsprojekt entwickeln

Tomasz Tkaczyk etwa studiert im sechsten Semester Medieninformatik und nimmt in einem Forschungsprojekt mit seinen Kommilitonen Fake News ins Visier: „Es gibt in Deutschland zwar schon eine wachsende Fact-Checking-Community, die Gerüchte im Internet aufdeckt“, sagt Tkaczyk. „Was aber noch fehlt, ist eine einfache Möglichkeit, die Verbreitung von Fake News nachzuvollziehen – und da setzen wir an.“ Seine Gruppe an der Arbeitsstelle Journalistik der Freien Universität entwickelt mit Unterstützung des Kommunikationswissenschaftlers Christoph Raetzsch ein Tool, das vor allem Journalisten nutzen könnten, aber auch Politiker und andere gesellschaftliche Akteure interessieren dürfte: www.fakenewsgraph.de soll beantworten, wer Fake News initiiert hat und über wen sie weiterverbreitet wurden. Objekt der Untersuchung sind Daten von Twitter.

Das Projekt „Fake News Graph Analysis“ zieht seine Kreise bereits außerhalb des Campus. Am 1. Juni 2017 präsentierte Tkaczyks Arbeitsgruppe ihre Entwicklung auf der Konferenz #DisruptPopulism in Berlin. Dort wetteiferten 15 Teams aus fünf Ländern um einen mit 15.000 Euro dotierten Preis. „Wir haben zwar nicht gewonnen, aber ein tolles Feedback bekommen, um weiterzumachen“, sagt Tkaczyk, der sich nun für den Master-Studiengang bewirbt. Sein Fazit: „Doktor Christoph Raetzsch von der Arbeitsstelle Journalistik der Freien Universität hat uns zum richtigen Zeitpunkt auf die richtige Idee gebracht, uns enorm motiviert, und die Gruppe hat wirklich gut zusammengearbeitet – ich habe dabei viel gelernt.“

Nach dem Masterstudium stehen den Studierenden viele Berufswege offen. Sie können etwa in Unternehmen der neuen digitalen Wirtschaft arbeiten, aber auch in traditionellen Branchen, wo ebenfalls zunehmend digitale Medienkompetenzen benötigt werden, wie etwa bei Rundfunkanstalten oder in der Automobilindustrie. „Auch in der Wissenschaft sind Leute mit solcher Expertise gefragt“, betont Emmer. „Big Data zum Beispiel ist ein großes Zukunftsthema in der Forschung.“

Der Weg von der Medieninformatik zu anderen Arbeitsbereichen rund um das Thema Digitalisierung ist in Berlin nicht weit. So wurde Anfang April in der Wilhelmstraße das Einstein Center Digital Future eröffnet. Dort werden 50 neue Professuren im Kernbereich Digitale Infrastruktur, Methoden und Algorithmen sowie in den Innovationsbereichen Digitale Gesundheit, Digitale Gesellschaft und Geisteswissenschaften sowie Digitale Industrie und Dienstleistungen eingerichtet. Hinzu kommt nun auch das Deutsche Internet-Institut, das in der Bundeshauptstadt errichtet werden soll und vom Bundesforschungsministerium in den ersten fünf Jahren mit bis zu 50 Millionen Euro gefördert werden wird. „Die wissenschaftlichen Akteure hier in der Stadt bilden in diesem Themenspektrum ein spannendes Cluster“, sagt Emmer. „Das macht Berlin in der Forschung rund um Digitalisierung zum Vorreiter.“