How Modern Technology Helps People and Animals

In the BB3R research platform, Berlin universities and non-university institutions work together to develop alternatives to animal testing.

Jun 13, 2017

Modeling the mouse: Partners to the BB3R research platform seek alternatives to animal testing.

Modeling the mouse: Partners to the BB3R research platform seek alternatives to animal testing.
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

When Professor Monika Schäfer-Korting first started in the early 1990s, many colleagues did not take her seriously. Using artificial skin models to test ways of treating skin complaints on human cells instead of on animals did not sound feasible. Yet it is. In fact it works so well that students of pharmacy at Freie Universität Berlin do not have to do any more animal testing at all.

Over the years, other places in Berlin also saw progress on animal-free testing methods for biomedical research and teaching. “But individual working groups did not have the efficiency to make advances in this important area quickly enough,” says Schäfer-Korting. So in 2014 she launched BB3R, the Berlin-Brandenburg research platform.

The Three Rs: Replacement, Reduction, Refinement

The “3R” in BB3R relates to the “three Rs” of replacing, reducing, or refining animal testing. One or more of these three Rs must be present as a criterion for a research project to be accepted for the research platform, which receives funding from the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research. Founding members of BB3R include the Berlin universities, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, the University of Potsdam, the German Federal Institute for Risk Assessment, and the Zuse Institute Berlin. There are also a number of associated working groups, among others at the Robert Koch Institute.

Professor Monika Schäfer-Korting is a pharmacologist, Executive Vice President of Freie Universität Berlin, and initiator of the BB3R, the Berlin-Brandenburg research platform.

Professor Monika Schäfer-Korting is a pharmacologist, Executive Vice President of Freie Universität Berlin, and initiator of the BB3R, the Berlin-Brandenburg research platform.
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

The platform brings together a wealth of expertise in pharmacy, pharmacology, toxicology, human and veterinary medicine, bioinformatics, and biotechnology. BB3R also provides training for dedicated young researchers in the field of alternative methods to animal testing.

A central component of BB3R is the graduate program “Innovations in 3R Research: Genetic Engineering, Tissue Engineering, and Bioinformatics.” The young scientists follow two approaches with their thematically very varied research projects: “One set of researchers works on reducing the impact on animals of experiments that cannot be replaced, for example by targeted reduction of pain and stress. Other colleagues aim to use alternative methods to obtain useful findings for human medicine,” says Monika Schäfer-Korting, spokesperson for the BB3R platform.

This includes in silico substance analysis where biochemical processes are simulated in a computer and the recent organ-on-a-chip technology that is used to simulate the interaction of multiple organs. It also encompasses bioprinting, a brand-new technology involving a 3D printer to create tissue and organs.

In the doctoral students’ seminar, the researchers swap notes and discuss their projects. Researchers from other institutions are also welcomed to the annual BB3R Spring School, which is dedicated each year to one of the three "R"s.

Multidisciplinary Expertise

For maximum research efficiency, three junior professorships have been created under the umbrella of BB3R, and the participating institutions have also made additional appointments related to the 3Rs. One of the junior professors is Andrea Volkamer. Working at Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, the bioinformatician develops software-based methods for predicting the toxicity, if any, of new drugs or chemicals in silico, meaning by computer. Her “personal R” is “reduce.”

“Among other things, we throw big data at large numbers of substances that have been tested in the past and apply machine learning methods to them to generate models with high predictive accuracy,” says Volkamer. “We then use the models on new substances.” The predictions are based on the similarity principle. “If the computer comes to the conclusion that based on its knowledge a substance is toxic, we flag that substance with high risk potential.” All Volkamer needs to launch the program is the chemical structure of the new molecule in question.

The scientists grow skin models from skin cells to test new medicines.

The scientists grow skin models from skin cells to test new medicines.
Image Credit: Christian Zoschke

Although she only moved to Berlin from the Saarland, the other end of Germany, in 2016, Volkamer has already been able to forge close research contacts through BB3R, for example with colleagues at the Zuse Institute Berlin and Freie Universität. “The great thing about BB3R is being able to tap into so much multidisciplinary expertise,” she says.

“It’s ideal for us bioinformaticians to have our application right on the doorstep, and the predictions we generate give our experimental colleagues the timely and cost-efficient information they need to prioritize molecules.” For Volkamer, this makes the seminars “simply brilliant. You learn about what the others are doing, get into conversation, and that leads to ideas for whole new lines of enquiry.”

It was in one of the seminars that the idea was born for a joint project with Sarah Hedtrich. Also a BB3R junior professor, Hedtrich develops skin models at Freie Universität to replicate neurodermatitis in 3D cell cultures. “We take ten or fifteen hairs from a patient’s head and put them on a cell culture plate.

After two weeks, the keratinocytes and fibroblasts have grown and the two cell types have formed colonies that we can separate.” The fibroblasts – connective tissue cells that lend structure and strength to the skin – are embedded in a collagen matrix. This mixture effectively forms the subcutaneous layer. “As soon as this has formed, we seed keratinocytes on it and afterwards expose the whole lot to the air.” Within days, artificial skin is formed that is very similar to the real organ in all its complexity.

In her research, Hedtrich aims to develop drugs to intercept a messenger substance that keratinocytes generate in connection with neurodermatitis and that evidently stimulates the overactive immune response that leads to the inflammation typical of the disease. Volkamer will make use of special techniques to predict the structure of small molecules that can block this inflammatory mediator. The best inhibitors will then be synthesized and tested on a skin model.

Professor Sarah Hedtrich also appreciates the lively research network at BB3R and already works in collaboration with a number of colleagues. Many of them are researchers she may never have met without BB3R.

Wie moderne Technik Menschen und Tieren hilft

Im Forschungsverbund „BB3R“ entwickeln Berliner Hochschulen gemeinsam mit außeruniversitären Einrichtungen Alternativen zu Tierversuchen.

13.06.2017

Modell statt Maus: Die Beteiligten des Forschungsverbunds „BB3R“ suchen nach Alternativen zu Tierversuchen.

Modell statt Maus: Die Beteiligten des Forschungsverbunds „BB3R“ suchen nach Alternativen zu Tierversuchen.
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Als sie Anfang der 1990er-Jahre damit anfing, wurde Professorin Monika Schäfer-Korting noch belächelt: Künstliche Hautmodelle, um Möglichkeiten zur Therapie von Hauterkrankungen an humanen Zellen statt im Tiermodell zu untersuchen? Kann das gehen? Ja, es geht! Und zwar so gut, dass inzwischen kein Studierender der Pharmazie an der Freien Universität Berlin mehr Tierversuche machen muss.

Auch andernorts im Berliner Raum wurde in den letzten Jahren an tierfreien Versuchsmethoden für die biomedizinische Forschung und Lehre gearbeitet. „Doch die Effizienz einzelner Arbeitsgruppen war nicht groß genug, um dieses wichtige Thema ausreichend rasch voranzubringen“, sagt Schäfer-Korting. Also initiierte sie 2014 den Berlin-Brandenburgische Forschungsverbund BB3R.

3 mal R: Replacement, Reduction, Refinement

„3R“ steht für das Prinzip, wo immer es geht, Tierversuche zu vermeiden (Replacement), zu reduzieren (Reduction) oder zu verbessern (Refinement). Eines oder mehrere der 3R zu berücksichtigen ist Voraussetzung dafür, dass ein Forschungsprojekt in den vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung geförderten Verbund aufgenommen wird. Zu den Gründungsmitgliedern von BB3R gehören neben den Berliner Universitäten und der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin auch die Universität Potsdam, das Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung sowie das Zuse Institut Berlin. Zudem wurden mehrere Arbeitsgruppen assoziiert, unter anderem vom Robert-Koch-Institut.

Professorin Monika Schäfer-Korting ist Pharmakologin, Erste Vizepräsidentin der Freien Universität Berlin und Initiatorin des Berlin-Brandenburgischen Forschungsverbunds „BB3R“.

Professorin Monika Schäfer-Korting ist Pharmakologin, Erste Vizepräsidentin der Freien Universität Berlin und Initiatorin des Berlin-Brandenburgischen Forschungsverbunds „BB3R“.
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Die geballte Kompetenz aus Pharmazie, Pharmakologie, Toxikologie, Human- und Veterinärmedizin, Bioinformatik und Biotechnologie kommt in dem Forschungsverbund zusammen. Zudem werden im BB3R engagierte Nachwuchswissenschaftler auf dem Gebiet von Alternativmethoden zu Tierversuchen ausgebildet.

Zentraler Bestandteil von BB3R ist das Graduiertenkolleg „Innovationen in der 3R-Forschung – Gentechnik, Tissue Engineering und Bioinformatik“. Mit ihren thematisch sehr unterschiedlichen Forschungsprojekten folgen die jungen Wissenschaftler zwei Wegen: „Die einen arbeiten daran, bei nicht ersetzbaren Tierversuchen die Belastung der Tiere zu reduzieren, zum Beispiel durch gezielte Reduktion von Schmerz und Stress. Andere Kollegen wollen mit Alternativmethoden besonders aussagekräftige Ergebnisse für den Menschen erzielen“, sagt Monika Schäfer-Korting, Sprecherin des Verbundes BB3R.

Dazu zählen die sogenannte In-silico-Wirkstoffanalyse, bei der mithilfe des Computers biochemische Prozesse simuliert werden, ebenso wie die noch junge Organ-on-a-chip-Technologie, bei der auf einem Chip menschliche Organgewebe im Mikromaßstab „nachgebaut“ werden und so das Zusammenwirken mehrerer Organe simuliert werden kann. Außerdem gehört dazu die gerade aufkommende Technologie des Bioprinting: die Herstellung von Geweben beziehungsweise Organen mit einem 3D-Drucker.

Im Doktorandenseminar tauschen sich die Forscherinnen und Forscher über den aktuellen Stand ihrer Projekte aus und diskutieren sie. Zur jährlichen BB3R-Spring School, die sich jeweils einem „R“ widmet, sind auch externe Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler willkommen.

Starke Partner aus verschiedenen Fachrichtungen

Um die Effizienz der Forschung zu maximieren, wurden unter dem Dach von BB3R drei Juniorprofessuren geschaffen und es fanden weitere 3R-relevante Neuberufungen an den beteiligten Institutionen statt. Andrea Volkamer ist eine der Juniorprofessorinnen. Die Bioinformatikerin entwickelt an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin Computermethoden, um die mögliche Toxizität neuer Wirkstoffe oder Chemikalien in-silico – also am Rechner - vorhersagen zu können. Ihr „persönliches R" ist Reduce.

„Wir nutzen unter anderem umfangreiche Daten von sehr vielen Substanzen, die bereits früher getestet wurden, und wenden darauf maschinelle Lernverfahren an, um Modelle mit hoher Vorhersagegenauigkeit zu generieren“, sagt Volkamer. „Anschließend wenden wir diese Modelle auf neue Substanzen an.“ Die Vorhersage basiert auf dem Ähnlichkeitsprinzip. „Kommt der Computer zu dem Ergebnis, nach seinem Wissen sei eine Substanz toxisch, markieren wir sie mit einem hohen Risikopotential.“ Um das Programm zu starten, braucht Andrea Volkamer am Ende lediglich die chemische Struktur des neuen Moleküls.

Aus Hautzellen züchten die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler Hautmodelle, an denen neue Medikamente getestet werden können.

Aus Hautzellen züchten die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler Hautmodelle, an denen neue Medikamente getestet werden können.
Bildquelle: Christian Zoschke

Obwohl die Saarländerin erst 2016 nach Berlin kam, knüpfte sie über BB3R bereits intensive Forschungskontakte zu Kolleginnen und Kollegen, unter anderem vom Zuse Institut Berlin oder der Freien Universität. „Das Großartige an BB3R ist, dass man so viele starke Partner hat, die aus ganz verschiedenen Fachrichtungen kommen.

Für uns Bioinformatiker ist es ideal, die Anwendung quasi vor der Tür zu haben, für die experimentellen Kollegen wiederum liefern unsere Vorhersagen frühzeitige, schnelle und kosteneffiziente Informationen, um Moleküle zu priorisieren.“ Die Seminare nennt Volkamer deshalb „genial“. „Man erfährt, was die anderen tun, kommt ins Gespräch und es ergeben sich ganz neue Fragestellungen.“

Im Seminar entstand auch die Idee zu einem gemeinsamen Projekt mit Sarah Hedtrich. Sie ist ebenfalls BB3R-Juniorprofessorin und entwickelt an der Freien Universität Hautmodelle, um Neurodermitis in 3D-Zellkulturen abbilden zu können. „Wir zupfen den Patienten dafür 10 bis 15 Kopfhaare aus und legen sie auf eine Zellkulturplatte.

Nach zwei Wochen sind die Keratinozyten und Fibroblasten herausgewachsen und diese beiden Zelltypen haben Kolonien gebildet, die wir trennen.“ Die Fibroblasten – Bindegewebszellen, die der Haut Struktur und Festigkeit geben – werden in eine Kollagenmatrix eingebettet. Aus dieser Mixtur bildet sich quasi die Unterhaut. „Sobald sich diese gebildet hat, sähen wir die Keratinozyten darauf aus und heben das Ganze später an die Luft.“ Innerhalb weniger Tage entwickelt sich die künstliche Haut, die dem höchst komplexen echten Organ sehr ähnlich ist.

Sarah Hedtrich will mit ihrer Forschung Arzneistoffe entwickeln, die einen Botenstoff abfangen, der bei Neurodermitis von den Keratinozyten gebildet wird und offenbar die überschießende Immunreaktion stimuliert, die zu der für Neurodermitis typischen Entzündung führt. Andrea Volkamer wird mit Hilfe spezieller Verfahren die Struktur kleiner Moleküle vorhersagen, die diesen Entzündungsmediator blockieren können. Die besten Hemmstoffe werden dann synthetisiert und am Hautmodell getestet.

Auch Professorin Sarah Hedtrich empfindet BB3R als einen sehr lebhaften Verbund und kooperiert bereits mit diversen Partnern. Mit Kollegen, die sie ohne die Forschungsplattform BB3R vielleicht nie kennengelernt hätte.