Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Junior Research Groups

In June 2021, the Berlin University Alliance is publishing calls for proposals for junior research groups for the first time. The aim is to create attractive career opportunities for excellent post-doctoral researchers around the world. At the renowned institutions of the excellence alliance – Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin – junior researchers find ideal conditions to further develop their research profile and establish themselves as independent researchers – embedded in the uniquely diverse Berlin research hub.

Junior research groups will be announced initially in the areas of Research Quality and Open Science and Diversity and Gender Studies, and at a later date under the Promoting Talent objective.

The initiative is aimed at outstanding candidates who already have some research experience at a post-doctoral level and would now like to head up a research group at one of the partner institutions. The group leaders design their research projects independently and assume responsibility for the professional management of the groups. This may also include supervising a student's dissertation work, for example. The format therefore enables candidates to gain initial leadership experience in the scientific field over a period of four to five years and to develop their research profile with a view to attaining a professorship or some other prominent position in science, science management, or other fields of practice.

The junior researchers stand to benefit in a variety of ways from the intensive cooperation of the partner institutions. The Berlin University Alliance pools the strengths of its members, thereby facilitating the cooperative use of expertise, services, research infrastructures and equipment, and connecting departments across the boundaries of individual institutions and disciplines. Cooperation with research institutions not affiliated with academia is also possible and desirable. The calls are aimed at post-doctoral researchers across the globe. Applications from candidates who have not yet worked in the German academic system are particularly welcome.

Calls for Proposals in Research Quality and Open Science

The junior research groups in the Research Quality and Open Science area will take into account the many aspects of the topic and seek to create a theoretical as well as an empirical basis for achieving a better understanding of research quality and open science – also factoring in differences across disciplines. The junior research groups will get involved in the debate surrounding the quality and standards of research across disciplinary and institutional boundaries. They also aim to develop research practices that sustainably anchor the topic of research quality in institutions and enable the opening up of science. Against this backdrop, the calls are aimed at researchers from all disciplines.

The calls for proposal are set to start on June 3, 2021. Closing date for applications is August 1, 2021.
Junior Research Group “Research Quality in and across Disciplines”
Junior Research Group “Digital Methods and Research Quality”

Calls for Proposals in Diversity and Gender Studies

Outstanding postdocs can apply for one of the four new junior research groups focusing on new questions, methods, and approaches in the area of Diversity and Gender Equality. The aim is to develop innovative standards that promote the cultural shift toward a diversity- and gender-sensitive research and teaching environment. Special attention will be paid to the multidimensional and intersectional nature of diversity in academic institutions.

The calls for proposals are set to start on June 3, 2021. Closing date for applications is August 31, 2021.
Junior Research Groups for Diversity & Gender Equality

Calls for Proposals under the Promoting Talent Objective

The calls are aimed at post-doctoral researchers from all disciplines. The junior research groups should be linked to two partner institutions of the Berlin University Alliance and/or focus on a topic that can be assigned to one of the Grand Challenge Initiatives of the alliance, e.g. “Social Cohesion” and “Global Health”.

Further details will be announced within the next months.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Nachwuchsgruppen (Junior Research Groups)

Im Juni 2021 veröffentlicht die Berlin University Alliance erstmals Ausschreibungen für Nachwuchsgruppen (Junior Research Groups). Damit schafft sie attraktive Karriereoptionen für exzellente promovierte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler weltweit. An den renommierten Institutionen des Exzellenzverbunds – Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin – finden Nachwuchsforschende ideale Bedingungen vor, um ihr wissenschaftliches Profil weiterzuentwickeln und sich als selbstständige Forscherinnen und Forscher zu etablieren – eingebettet in den einzigartig vielfältigen Wissenschaftsraum Berlin.

Nachwuchgsgruppen werden zunächst in den Bereichen Forschungsqualität und Open Science sowie Diversität und Geschlechterforschung ausgeschrieben. Die Ausschreibung des Objective Promoting Talent folgt innerhalb der nächsten drei Monate.

Gesucht werden herausragende Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten, die bereits wissenschaftliche Erfahrung nach der Promotion sammeln konnten und nun die Leitung einer Forschungsgruppe an einer der Verbundpartnerinnen übernehmen möchten. Die Gruppenleiterinnen und Gruppenleiter konzipieren ihre Forschungsprojekte selbstständig und übernehmen die fachliche Verantwortung während der Laufzeit der Gruppe. Dazu kann auch die Betreuung von Qualifikationsarbeiten zählen. Das Format ermöglicht ihnen somit, während der Laufzeit von vier bis fünf Jahren erste Leitungserfahrungen im wissenschaftlichen Bereich zu sammeln und ihr Forschungsprofil in Hinblick auf eine Professur oder herausgehobene Positionen in der Wissenschaft, der Wissenschaftsadministration oder anderen Praxisfeldern zu entwickeln.

Die Nachwuchsforschenden profitieren dabei auf vielfältige Weise von der intensiven Zusammenarbeit der Verbundpartnerinnen. Die Berlin University Alliance bündelt die Stärken ihrer Mitglieder und erleichtert dadurch die kooperative Nutzung von Expertise, Forschungseinrichtungen und -geräten sowie die Vernetzung von Fachbereichen über die Grenzen einzelner Institutionen und Disziplinen hinweg. Auch die Zusammenarbeit mit außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen ist möglich und erwünscht. Die Ausschreibungen richten sich an promovierte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler weltweit. Bewerbungen von Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten, die noch nicht im deutschen Wissenschaftssystem tätig waren, sind besonders willkommen.

Ausschreibungen im Bereich Forschungsqualität und Open Science

Die ersten Ausschreibungen richten sich an Bewerberinnen und Bewerber, die sich wissenschaftlich mit Fragen im Bereich Forschungsqualität und Open Science sowie der Geschlechterforschung auseinandersetzen, drei Themenbereiche, die für die Berlin University Alliance nicht nur wissenschaftlich, sondern auch mit Blick auf das eigene Selbstverständnis von höchster Relevanz sind. In diesem Sinne erhofft sich die Berlin University Alliance von diesen Nachwuchsgruppen nicht nur wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisgewinn, sondern auch Effekte auf die Forschungskultur der Partnereinrichtungen und den gesamten Berliner Forschungsraum.

Die Ausschreibungen starten am 3. Juni 2021. Bewerbungsende ist der 1. August 2021.
Nachwuchsgruppe „Research Quality in and across Disciplines“
Nachwuchsgruppe „Digital Methods and Research Quality“

Ausschreibung im Bereich Diversität und Geschlechterforschung

Herausragende Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden können sich für eine von vier neuen Nachwuchsgruppen bewerben, die sich mit neuen Fragestellungen, Methoden und Herangehensweisen im Bereich Diversity and Gender Equality beschäftigen. Ziel ist die Entwicklung innovativer Standards, die den kulturellen Wandel zu einem diversitäts- und geschlechtssensiblen Forschungs- und Lehrumfeld befördern. Dabei soll der mehrdimensionale und intersektionale Charakter von Vielfalt in wissenschaftlichen Institutionen besonders berücksichtigt werden.

Die Ausschreibung startet am 3. Juni 2021. Bewerbungsende ist der 1. August 2021.
Nachwuchsgruppen zu Diversity & Gender Equality

Ausschreibung des Objective Promoting Talent

Die Ausschreibung richtet sich an promovierte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aller Disziplinen. Die Nachwuchsgruppe sollte mit zwei Partnerinnen der Berlin University Alliance verbunden sein. Weitere Details werden innerhalb der nächsten drei Monate bekanntgegeben.

Die Ausschreibung wird voraussichtlich im August veröffentlicht.