Globally Networked Research

A feature of the research and teaching at the three major Berlin universities and Charité is their international dimension

Carlos Echeverria is from Mexico and studies at the Institute of Mathematics at Technische Universität Berlin.

Carlos Echeverria is from Mexico and studies at the Institute of Mathematics at Technische Universität Berlin.
Image Credit: Christian Kielmann

With its academic programs and outstanding resources, Berlin has attracted more scholars and scientists from all over the world than any other research region in Germany over the last several years. The number of international students also continues to grow. 

Research associations work together across disciplines and are globally networked. Strategic partnerships and profile partnerships with universities throughout the entire world enable targeted cooperation on joint research projects and the promotion of young researchers.

Members of the three major Berlin universities and Charité, including students, researchers, and administrative employees, also visit outstanding institutes in all parts of the world through exchange programs and various cooperation projects. This allows new ideas to emerge from information sharing and networking. The diversity of international perspectives is a crucial aspect contributing to research excellence in Berlin. 

Attracting researchers from all over the world

Berlin is the most popular city in Germany for international researchers. This is reflected in the rankings of the two biggest funding agencies, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, which sponsors researchers from all over the world at German universities, and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), which supports students as well as scholars. Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin all perform near the top in both rankings.

Freie Universität and Humboldt-Universität occupy first and second place in the Humboldt Ranking for 2012 to 2016, while Technische Universität Berlin ranks seventh. At Freie Universität, 124 researchers from abroad are admitted per 100 professors; at Humboldt-Universität, the figure is 93 – more than double the number at the majority of universities in Germany. Charité, which appears in this list under other institutions, ranks fourth in the field of life sciences. 

Here to stay

Scientists and scholars from all over the world appreciate Berlin not only as a place for temporary research. An increasing number of professors who conduct research and teach at the three major Berlin universities or at Charité have an international background. In 2016, the figure for Humboldt-Universität was 14 percent, while it was 12 percent at Freie Universität, 10 percent at Technische Universität, and 7 percent at Charité. The average figure in Berlin was more than at other universities in Germany.

Young researchers from all over the world

The major Berlin universities and Charité hold particular appeal for young researchers. Around a third of all PhD students at all four institutions come from abroad – 34 percent at Freie Universität Berlin, while 32 percent international PhD students are enrolled each at Humboldt-Universität and Technische Universität Berlin, and 27 percent at Charité.

The number of PhD students from abroad increased steadily at Freie Universität, Technische Universität Berlin, and Humboldt-Universität from 2008 to 2018. The share of these students even tripled at Freie Universität. 

The share of postdoctoral students and other academic employees at the universities is around 20 percent on average at all institutions. 

Successful programs like the EU-funded fellowship of the Dahlem Research School have also played a role in enabling around 100 international PhD graduate researchers to develop an in-house research project at Freie Universität in one of the biggest interdisciplinary and inter-institutional research associations within a period of seven years. At the same time, the scholarship holders contributed to the international networking of the institutions.

Students transcend borders

In the degree programs at the major Berlin universities and at Charité, the share of international students is growing steadily and is far above the German average. Only the Technical University of Munich has a higher percentage of foreign students. The share of these students increases along with the level of study: while 10 to 15 percent of students in bachelor’s programs come from abroad, the figure for consecutive master’s degree programs is already over 20 percent and as high as 24 percent at Technische Universität Berlin. The curriculum, which includes a series of English-language degree programs, is one of the key attractions.

The mobility of Berlin students has also continued to increase over the last several years. Humboldt-Universität, Technische Universität Berlin, and Freie Universität are among the German universities from which the most students spend part of their studies abroad, with aid from Erasmus and via direct exchange. DAAD also sponsors many Berlin students studying abroad. 

Berlin-based researchers are also very active abroad. According to data from German funding agencies for 2014, Freie Universität and Humboldt-Universität were the institutions in Germany that dispatched the most scholars and scientists abroad.

Networking in research associations

International cooperation projects are an outstanding feature of the major research associations from the German Excellence Strategy. The SCRIPTS excellence cluster of Freie Universität has developed institutional partnerships with universities in every region of the world in order to investigate the global challenges facing liberal democracy. Academic cooperation partners of the cluster are based in locations such as the Middle East at the Bilkent University in Ankara, at the Southeast Asian Jawaharlal Nehru University in New Delhi, and at the University of California in Berkeley. 

The UniSysCat excellence cluster also cooperates with many international partners with the aim of promoting catalysis research across geographical borders. The cooperation partners include the Catalan Institute for Catalysis (ICIQ) in Tarragona, Spain, the Kaist Consortium for Catalysis in Korea, and Stanford University in the US, among others. Young researchers also benefit from the academic networks of the association partners by conducting research as part of PhD programs or in graduate schools at a partner institution for a specific time frame.

University partnerships 

Apart from the existing university partnerships, some of which date back several decades, Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité have developed very close strategic partnerships with selected universities. These partnerships promote exchange between university members at all levels through a range of formats: they facilitate the development of joint research projects while also promoting young scholars and scientists through joint doctoral programs, for example.

While Humboldt-Universität cooperates with Princeton University, the National University of Singapore, and the University of São Paulo, Freie Universitätis currently involved in six strategic partnerships. These include the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Peking University, Saint Petersburg State University, the University of British Columbia, the University of California, Berkeley, and the University of Zurich. Technische Universität Berlin has traditionally focused its partnerships on Eastern Europe, with Technische Universität Wien, St. Petersburg State Polytechnical University, the Warsaw University of Technology, and the Norwegian University of Science and Technology. Politecnico Milano and the University of Technology Sydney have also joined as non-European partners. 

Charité is a founding member of the European University Hospital Alliance. The objective of the association is to promote an active exchange of performance models and staff in all areas and at all levels in order to set standards of excellence in patient treatment, medical research, innovation and technology transfer, and training and education for all of Europe. The alliance also acts as a consultant for stakeholders in EU politics, NGOs, industry, and science. Assistance publique – Hôpitaux de Paris, Erasmus University Medical Center in Rotterdam, San Raffaele Hospital in Milan, Karolinska University Hospital in Stockholm, King’s Health Partners in London, University Hospitals Leuven, the Medical University of Vienna, and Vall d’Hebron in Barcelona are the partners in the alliance.

The three major Berlin universities and Charité have also concluded a strategic cooperation with Oxford University (link to Oxford webpage https://www.berlin-university-alliance.de/en/commitments/international/oxford/index.html) and entered into joint partnerships with the University of Melbourne (link) and the National University of Singapore (link). 

Research centers abroad

Freie Universität Berlin is involved in two Maria Sibylla Merian research collegia. In cooperation with the center, named after the naturalist Merian (1647-1717), the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) wants to promote the internationalization of humanities and cultural and social sciences in locations outside of Germany. The Maria Sibylla Merian Centre for Advanced Studies “Conviviality in Unequal Societies” was opened in São Paulo in 2017, together with Freie Universität, the Ibero-American Institute (IAI) of the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation, the University of São Paulo, and other German and Latin American institutions.

Since 2010, Technische Universität Berlin has been running a satellite campus in El Gouna, Egypt, which is set up as a nonprofit public-private partnership. The degree courses offered on the campus are exclusively subject to German university legislation in terms of both content and structure.

Charité is a consulting partner for the construction and operation of a mother and child clinic in Shanghai. For the past four years, it has been training young interns from Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates in a six-year program to become specialists in various disciplines.

Event calendar with global perspectives

Interested Berlin residents and visitors to the city can also participate in the global networking of the three major Berlin universities and Charité by attending public lectures and lecture series. 

The Queen’s Lecture was established at Technische Universität Berlin as far back as 1965 as a gift from the Queen to the city of Berlin. Since then, many renowned British scholars and scientists have spoken in Berlin, with a break during the 1970s and 1980s. Queen Elizabeth II, who opened the lecture during her first visit to Berlin, returned after 50 years for its anniversary in 2015. 

There are also many regular lectures at Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin given by outstanding international researchers from all disciplines, from mathematics to philosophy, most of which are open to the public and therefore accessible to students, colleagues, and anyone in the city seeking inspiration.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Weltweit vernetzte Forschung

Ein Kennzeichen von Forschung und Lehre an den drei großen Berliner Universitäten und der Charité ist ihre Internationalität

Carlos Echeverria stammt aus Mexiko und forscht am Institut für Mathematik an der Technischen Universität Berlin.

Carlos Echeverria stammt aus Mexiko und forscht am Institut für Mathematik an der Technischen Universität Berlin.
Bildquelle: Christian Kielmann

Berlin hat in den letzten Jahren mit seinen reichen akademischen Programmen und exzellenten Ressourcen so viele Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt angezogen wie keine andere Forschungsregion in Deutschland. Auch die Zahl der internationalen Studierenden ist kontinuierlich gewachsen. 

Forschungsverbünde arbeiten disziplinübergreifend zusammen und sind weltweit vernetzt. Strategische Partnerschaften oder Profilpartnerschaften mit Universitäten auf der ganzen Welt ermöglichen eine zielgerichtete Zusammenarbeit in gemeinsamen Forschungsprojekten oder im Bereich Nachwuchsförderung.

Mitglieder der vier Partnerinnen in der Berlin University Alliance – ob Studierende, Forschende oder Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der Verwaltung – sind ihrerseits im Rahmen von Austauschprogrammen und unterschiedlichen Kooperationsformaten zu Gast an renommierten Einrichtungen auf allen Kontinenten. So entstehen neue Ideen durch Austausch und Vernetzung – die Diversität internationaler Perspektiven ist grundlegender Bestandteil der Forschungsexzellenz in Berlin. 

Anziehungspunkt für Forschende aus aller Welt 

Berlin ist die beliebteste Stadt für internationale Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in Deutschland. Das zeigen die Rankings der beiden großen Förderorganisationen, der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, die den Aufenthalt von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt an deutschen Universitäten und anderen Forschungseinrichtungen fördert, sowie des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdiensts, der neben Akademikern auch Studierende unterstützt. Die Freie Universität, die Humboldt-Universität, die Technische Universität Berlin sowie die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin nehmen in beiden Ranglisten jeweils Spitzenplätze ein.

Freie Universität und Humboldt-Universität belegen im Humboldt-Ranking für die Jahre 2012 bis 2016 Platz 1 und 2, die Technische Universität Berlin befindet sich auf Platz 7: An der Freien Universität werden pro 100 Professorinnen und Professoren 124 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus dem Ausland aufgenommen, an der Humboldt-Universität 93 – das sind mehr als doppelt so viele wie das Gros der Hochschulen in Deutschland. Auch die Charité, die in dieser Aufstellung unter sonstigen Einrichtungen gelistet wird, liegt im Bereich Lebenswissenschaften auf Platz 4. 

Gekommen, um zu bleiben

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt schätzen Berlin nicht nur für einen temporären Forschungsaufenthalt. Immer mehr Professorinnen und Professoren, die an den drei großen Berliner Universitäten oder der Charité forschen und lehren haben einen internationalen Hintergrund: 2016 waren es an Humboldt-Universität 14 Prozent, an der Freien Universität 12 Prozent sowie 10 Prozent an der Technischen Universität Berlin und 7 Prozent an der Charité. Das sind im Berliner Durchschnitt mehr als an anderen Universitäten in Deutschland.

Nachwuchs aus aller Welt 

Besonders attraktiv sind die großen Berliner Universitäten und die Charité für Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler. Rund ein Drittel aller Promotionsstudierenden an allen vier Einrichtungen stammen aus dem Ausland, bei der Freien Universität Berlin sind es 34 Prozent, an Humboldt-Universität und Technischer Universität Berlin sind jeweils 32 Prozent internationale Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden immatrikuliert, an der Charité sind es 27 Prozent.

Freie Universität, Technische Universität Berlin und Humboldt-Universität konnten zwischen 2008 und 2018 die Zahl der Promovierenden aus dem Ausland immer weiter ausbauen. Bei der Freien Universität hat sich ihr Anteil sogar beinahe verdreifacht. 

Unter den Postdoktoranden und sonstigen wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern an den Universitäten liegt der Anteil im Durchschnitt an allen Einrichtungen bei rund 20 Prozent. 

Hierzu tragen auch erfolgreiche Programme wie das Fellowship der Dahlem Research School aus Mitteln der Europäischen Union bei, das in den insgesamt sieben Jahren Laufzeit rund 100 promovierten internationalen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern die Entwicklung eines eigenen Forschungsprojekts an der Freien Universität in einem der großen, interdisziplinären und interinstitutionellen Forschungsverbünde ermöglicht. Gleichzeitig leisten auch die Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten einen Beitrag zur internationalen Vernetzung der Einrichtungen.

Studierende überwinden Grenzen 

In den Studiengängen an den großen Berliner Universitäten und der Charité steigt der Anteil der internationalen Studierenden kontinuierlich und liegt weit über dem Bundesdurchschnitt. Ihr Anteil nimmt mit steigender Qualifikation zu: Während im Bachelor 10 bis 15 Prozent aus dem Ausland kommen, sind es in den konsekutiven Masterstudiengängen bereits über 20 Prozent, an der Technische Universität Berlin sogar 24 Prozent. Hierzu trägt nicht zuletzt das attraktive Lehrangebot mit einer Reihe englischsprachiger Studiengänge bei.

Auch die Mobilität der Berliner Studierenden hat in den letzten Jahren weiter zugenommen. Die Humboldt-Universität, Technische Universität Berlin und Freie Universität zählen zu Deutschlands Universitäten, an denen am meisten Studentinnen und Studenten mit Hilfe von Erasmus und über einen Direktaustausch einen Teil ihres Studiums im Ausland verbringen. Auch der DAAD förderte zahlreiche Auslandsaufenthalte von Studierenden aus Berlin. 

In Berlin ansässige Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sind ebenfalls besonders viel im Ausland unterwegs. Nach Angaben von deutschen Förderinstitutionen für 2014 waren die Freie Universität und die Humboldt-Universität diejenigen Einrichtungen in Deutschland, die die meisten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler ins Ausland entsendeten.

Vernetzung in Forschungsverbünden

Internationale Kooperationen sind auch ein herausstechendes Merkmal der großen Forschungsverbünde aus der Exzellenzstrategie. Der Exzellenzcuster SCRIPTS der Freien Universität hat institutionelle Partnerschaften mit Universitäten in allen Weltregionen entwickelt, um die weltweiten Herausforderungen für liberale Demokratie zu untersuchen. Akademische Kooperationspartner des Clusters sitzen beispielsweise im Nahen Osten an der Bilkent University in Ankara, genauso wie an der südasiatischen Jawaharlal Nehru University in Neu Dehli oder der UC Berkeley

Auch der Exzellenzcluster UniSysCat der Technischen Universität arbeitet mit einer Vielzahl internationaler Partner zusammen, um über Ländergrenzen hinweg die Katalyseforschung voran zutreiben. Zu den Kooperationspartnern gehören neben weiteren das Catalan Institute for Catalysis (ICIQ) im spanischen Tarragona, das Kaist Consortium for Catalysis in Korea oder die Stanford University in den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika. Auch der wissenschaftliche Nachwuchs profitiert von den akademischen Netzwerk der Verbundpartnerinnen, in dem er etwa im Rahmen von Promotionsprogrammen oder Graduiertenschulen für einen bestimmten Zeitraum an einer der Partnereinrichtungen forscht. 

Universitätspartnerschaften 

Über oftmals bereits seit mehreren Jahrzehnten bestehende Universitätspartnerschaften hinaus haben die Freie Universität, die Humboldt-Universität, die Technische Universität Berlin und die Charité zu ausgewählten Hochschulen besonders intensive, strategische Partnerschaften aufgebaut. Diese Partnerschaften fördern den Austausch zwischen Universitätsmitgliedern auf allen Ebenen durch verschiedene Formate; sie erleichtern die Entwicklung von gemeinsamen Forschungsprojekten ebenso wie die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses – etwa durch gemeinsame Promotionsprogramme.

Während die Humboldt-Universität mit der Princeton University, der National University of Singapore und der Universidade de São Paulo kooperiert, hat die Freie Universitätderzeit insgesamt sechs strategische Partnerschaften. Hierzu zählen: die Hebrew University of Jerusalem, die Peking University, die Saint Petersburg State University, die University of British Columbia, die University of California, Berkeley sowie die Universität Zürich. Die Technische Universität Berlin hat mit ihren Partnerschaften traditionell einen Fokus auf Osteuropa, mit der Technischen Universität Wien, der St. Petersburg State Polytechnical University, der Warsaw University of Technology und der Norwegian University of Science and Technology. In den letzten Jahren sind die Politecnico di Milano und die UTS in Sydney als nicht-europäischer Partner dazu gekommen. 

Die Charité ist Gründungsmitglied in der European University Hospital Alliance. Ziel dieses Verbundes ist ein reger Austausch von Handlungsmodellen und Personal aller Bereiche und Ebenen, um europaweite Exzellenzstandards in der Behandlung von Patientinnen und Patienten, in der medizinischen Forschung, in Innovation und Technologietransfer sowie in Ausbildung und Studium zu setzen. Dabei sieht sich die Allianz auch als Berater für Stakeholder aus der EU-Politik, Nichtregierungsorganisationen, Industrie und Wissenschaft. Partner in der Allianz sind die Assistance Publique Hôpiteaux de Paris, Erasmus University Medical Center Rotterdam, Ospedale San Raffaele in Mailand, Karolinska University Hospital in Stockholm, King’s Health Partners in London, University Hospital Leuven, Medizinische Universität Wien und Vall d’Hebron in Barcelona.

Die drei großen Berliner Universitäten sowie die Charité haben außerdem mit der Oxford University eine weitreichende Kooperation geschlossen. Eine Partnerschaft unterhalten die Mitglieder der Berlin University Alliance auch mit der University of Melbourne, mit der sie ein Förderprogramm für gemeinsame Forschungsprojekte aufgelegt haben. 

Zentren der Forschung im Ausland 

Die Freie Universität Berlin ist an zwei Maria-Sibylla-Merian Forschungskollegs beteiligt. Mit den nach der Naturforscherin Merian (1647 – 1717) benannten Zentren will das Bundesforschungsministerium (BMBF) die Internationalisierung der Geistes-, Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaften in Deutschland an Standorten außerhalb Deutschlands voranbringen. 2017 wurde das Maria Sibylla Merian Centre for Advanced Studies „Conviviality in Unequal Societies“ in São Paulo eröffnet, an dem neben der Freien Universität unter anderem das Ibero-Amerikanische-Institut der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz und die Universität von São Paulo sowie andere deutsche und lateinamerikanische Einrichtungen beteiligt sind.

Bereits seit 2010 unterhält die Technische Universität Berlin einen Satellitencampus im ägyptischen Al Gouna, der als Non-Profit Public-Privat-Partnership eingerichtet ist. Die dort angebotenen Studiengänge unterliegen sowohl inhaltlich als auch strukturell ausschließlich deutscher Hochschulgesetzgebung.

Die Charité ist beratender Partner beim Bau und Betrieb einer Mutter-Kind-Klinik in Shanghai und bildet seit vier Jahren junge Assistenzärztinnen und –ärzte aus Saudi-Arabien und den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten in einem 6-jährigen Programm zu Fachärzten unterschiedlicher Disziplinen aus.

Veranstaltungskalender mit weltweiter Perspektive

Auch interessierte Berlinerinnen und Berliner sowie Gäste der Stadt können an der weltweiten Vernetzung der Berlin University Alliance im Rahmen von öffentlichen Vorträgen und Vortragsreihen teilhaben. 

Bereits 1965 wurde an der Technischen Universität Berlin die Queen’s Lecture eingerichtet – als Geschenk der Queen an die Stadt Berlin. Seitdem haben – mit einer Unterbrechung in den 1970er und 1980er Jahren – viele renommierte britische Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen in Berlin gesprochen, und Queen Elisabeth II., die die Vorlesung einst bei ihrem ersten Berlin-Besuch eröffnet hatte, kam auch zum Jubiläum 2015 nach 50 Jahren wieder an die Universität zurück. 

Auch an der Freien Universität Berlin oder an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin gibt es regelmäßig zahlreiche Vorträge herausragender internationaler Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus allen Disziplinen – von der Mathematik bis zur Philosophie – , die zum großen Teil öffentlich sind und so Studierende, Fachkolleginnen und -kollegen und Neugierige aus der Stadt gleichermaßen begeistern. 

Schlagwörter