Teacher Education

All of the universities in Berlin offer study disciplines for future educators. The institutions work as a team to train and educate teachers.

Teamwork: The universities in Berlin work together closely in educating future teachers and in designing their course offerings in this field.

Teamwork: The universities in Berlin work together closely in educating future teachers and in designing their course offerings in this field.
Image Credit: Michael Fahrig

At Berlin’s universities, programs to educate teachers who will later work at the elementary and secondary school levels are organized through central institutes. The lead institution at Freie Universität is the Dahlem School of Education (DSE), at Technische Universität Berlin it is the SETUB (School of Education TU Berlin), at Humboldt-Universität the Professional School of Education (PSE), and at Berlin University of the Arts the Zentrum für künstlerische Lehrkräftebildung (zfkl). The universities work together on an overarching basis in multiple groups with the goal of coordinating and further developing the training and education programs and course offerings for future teachers.

The members of the Teacher Education Steering Group (Steuerungsgruppe Lehrerbildung) coordinate teacher education between the universities and the relevant Berlin State Senate administrations and set out the key points. The group works on the quality of degree programs in accordance with the Teacher Education Act for the State of Berlin (Lehrkräftebildungsgesetz). The steering group includes the presidents of the universities that offer degree programs toward the teaching credential (or, on a substitute basis, the vice presidents responsible for this subject) and the senators in Berlin who are responsible for schools and higher education.

An Interface with Real-world Practices in the Schools

The Cooperation Council (Kooperationsrat) acts as an interface with real-world practices in the schools. It was established by the Berlin State Senate administration responsible for schools. Under the Teacher Education Act for the State of Berlin (Lehrkräftebildungsgesetz), its tasks include coordinating the professional studies content of degree programs and practical studies in the schools. The Cooperation Council is made up of representatives of the central institutes of teacher training at the universities, members of the seminars focusing on real-world practices in the schools, persons affiliated with the schools where training takes place, and members of the Senate administration responsible for schools.

The Berlin Education Training Act is also the basis for the practical semester, introduced in 2016, for students enrolled in master’s degree programs toward the teaching credential. In multiple working groups on subjects such as internship placements, supporting learning, and research on learning, the universities in Berlin coordinate with the Senate administration in organizational and conceptual terms. Students working toward a teaching credential also benefit from the cooperation among Berlin’s universities through the Berlin mentoring training program: With support from external funding provided by the Senate administration, the program will train about 1,000 teachers between now and 2020 to act as mentors to support students during their practical semester. Efforts to coordinate the content of the qualification program started in 2013. The program is offered according to a standardized approach.

Alongside cooperation at the management and administration level, there are also joint projects, such as Zukunftscampus – Neue Lehrkräfte für Berlin (Future Campus – New Teachers for Berlin). This project is aimed at bringing young people into the teaching profession, as Berlin’s schools face a shortage of teachers. The project is sponsored by Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität, Technische Universität Berlin, and Berlin University of the Arts, along with the Berlin Senatsverwaltung für Bildung, Jugend und Familie (Senate Administration for Education, Youth, and Family) and the Berliner Netzwerk für Lehrkräfte mit Migrationshintergrund (Berlin Network for Teachers with Immigrant Backgrounds). The goal is to provide information to young people starting in grade 10 regarding studying toward a teaching credential and give them tips for embarking on their studies. These secondary school students receive information on how a degree program is structured, possible combinations of subjects, and how to apply. They can talk to students working toward the teaching credential about various subjects and get useful information about everyday life at the university. In workshops, teachers talk about their day-to-day work and academic advising specialists provide information on applying to a university and financing a study program. The Zukunftscampus program is offered in late February or early March of every year, hosted by a different university in rotation

Preparing for the Multilingual Classroom

More than 30 percent of primary and secondary school students in Berlin are learning German as a second language and speak a different language at home. For some of these students, and also for some whose native language is German, the linguistic requirements that apply in school pose an obstacle. With this in mind, the goal of the Sprachen – Bilden – Chancen: Innovationen (Languages – Education – Opportunities: Innovations) project for teaching credentials in Berlin was to give teachers better preparation for dealing with the linguistic diversity found in Berlin’s classrooms. The joint project between Humboldt-Universität, Freie Universität, and Technische Universität Berlin ran for just under three years, until 2017. The findings of the project are supposed to help strengthen teacher education in language acquisition, language development, and German as a foreign language. Various activities took place with this aim in mind, including analyzing the “Language Acquisition / German as a Second Language” modules for students in credential programs and developing suggestions for further development for the various phases of teacher education: studies, preparatory service, and continuing education.

Lehrkräftebildung

Alle Berliner Universitäten bieten Studienfächer für zukünftige Pädagoginnen und Pädagogen an. Ihre Ausbildung ist Teamarbeit.

Teamarbeit: Bei der Ausbildung und dem Lehrangebot für angehende Lehrinnen und Lehrer arbeiten die Berliner Universitäten eng zusammen.

Teamarbeit: Bei der Ausbildung und dem Lehrangebot für angehende Lehrinnen und Lehrer arbeiten die Berliner Universitäten eng zusammen.
Bildquelle: Michael Fahrig

An den Berliner Universitäten wird die Ausbildung von Lehrkräften für Grundschulen und weiterführende Schulen an Zentralinstituten organisiert. Die federführende Einrichtung an der Freien Universität ist die Dahlem School of Education (DSE), an der Technischen Universität Berlin ist es die SETUB (School of Education TU Berlin), an der Humboldt-Universität die Professional School of Education (PSE) und an der Universität der Künste Berlin das Zentrum für künstlerische Lehrkräftebildung (zfkl). Die Universitäten arbeiten übergreifend in mehreren Gruppen mit dem Ziel zusammen, die Ausbildung und das Lehrangebot für angehende Lehrinnen und Lehrer abzustimmen und weiterzuentwickeln.

Die Mitglieder der Steuerungsgruppe Lehrerbildung koordinieren das Thema Lehrkräftebildung zwischen den Universitäten und den zuständigen Senatsverwaltungen und geben die Eckpunkte vor. Das Gremium befasst sich gemäß Lehrkräftebildungsgesetz mit der Qualität der Studiengänge. Zur Steuerungsgruppe gehören die Präsidentinnen und Präsidenten der Universitäten mit Lehramtsstudiengängen – stellvertretend die für das Thema zuständigen Vizepräsidentinnen und -präsidenten – sowie die für Schulwesen und Hochschulen zuständigen Senatorinnen und Senatoren in Berlin.

Schnittstelle zur Schulpraxis

Der Kooperationsrat dient als Schnittstelle zur Schulpraxis. Er wurde von der für das Schulwesen zuständigen Senatsverwaltung eingerichtet. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören gemäß Lehrkräftebildungsgesetz unter anderem die Abstimmung der berufswissenschaftlichen Inhalte sowie der schulpraktischen Studien. Der Kooperationsrat setzt sich zusammen aus Vertreterinnen oder Vertretern der Zentralinstitute für Lehrkräftebildung an den Universitäten, Angehörigen der Schulpraktischen Seminare und der ausbildenden Schulen sowie Mitgliedern der für das Schulwesen zuständigen Senatsverwaltung.

Das Berliner Lehrkräftebildungsgesetzes ist auch Basis des 2016 eingeführten Praxissemesters für Lehramtsstudierende im Masterstudium. In mehreren Arbeitsgruppen, etwa zur Praktikumsplatzvermittlung, Lernbegleitung oder Lernforschung, stimmen sich die Berliner Universitäten mit der Senatsverwaltung organisatorisch und konzeptuell ab. Lehramtsstudierende profitieren von der Zusammenarbeit der Berliner Universitäten auch durch die Berliner Mentoring-Qualifizierung: Unterstützt durch Drittmittel der Senatsverwaltung werden bis 2020 etwa 1000 Lehrinnen und Lehrer als Mentorinnen und Mentoren ausgebildet, die Studierenden während ihres Praxissemesters begleiten. Das Qualifizierungsprogramm wurde bereits seit 2013 inhaltlich abgestimmt und erfolgt nach einem einheitlichen Ansatz.

Neben der Zusammenarbeit auf Ebene der Leitungen und Verwaltungen gibt es auch gemeinsame Projekte, zum Beispiel den Zukunftscampus – Neue Lehrkräfte für Berlin. Mit dieser Veranstaltung sollen junge Menschen für den Lehrberuf gewonnen werden, denn in Berlins Schulen fehlen Lehrerinnen und Lehrer. Das Projekt wird getragen von Freier Universität, Humboldt-Universität und Technischer Universität Berlin sowie von der Universität der Künste, außerdem von der Senatsverwaltung für Bildung, Jugend und Familie und dem Berliner Netzwerk für Lehrkräfte mit Migrationshintergrund. Ziel ist es, junge Menschen ab der Jahrgangsstufe 10 über das Lehramtsstudium zu informieren und ihnen Tipps für den Einstieg in das Studium an die Hand zu geben. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler erhalten Informationen zum Aufbau eines Studiums, über mögliche Fächerkombinationen und zur Bewerbung. Sie können mit Lehramtsstudierenden über verschiedene Fächer sprechen und hören Wissenswertes über den Alltag an der Universität. In Workshops berichten Lehrerinnen und Lehrer aus ihrem Berufsalltag, und Fachleute aus der Studierendenberatung informieren über die Bewerbung an einer Universität und die Finanzierung eines Studiums. Der Zukunftscampus wird jährlich Ende Februar oder Anfang März im Wechsel an den Universitäten stattfinden.

Vorbereiten auf die Sprachenvielfalt im Klassenzimmer 

Mehr als 30 Prozent der Berliner Schülerinnen und Schüler lernen Deutsch als zweite Sprache; in der Familie sprechen sie ihre Herkunftssprache. Für einen Teil dieser Schülerinnen und Schüler, aber auch für einige Kinder, deren Muttersprache Deutsch ist, sind die sprachlichen Anforderungen in der Schule eine Hürde. Das Ziel des Projekts Sprachen – Bilden – Chancen: Innovationen für das Berliner Lehramt war es deshalb, Lehrerinnen und Lehrer besser auf die Sprachenvielfalt in den Berliner Klassenzimmern vorzubereiten. Das gemeinsame Vorhaben von Humboldt-Universität, Freier Universität und Technischer Universität Berlin lief knapp drei Jahre bis 2017. Die Ergebnisse des Projekts sollen dazu beitragen, Sprachbildung, Sprachförderung und Deutsch als Fremdsprache in der Ausbildung von Lehrkräften zu stärken. Für diesen Zweck wurden unter anderem die Module „Sprachbildung / Deutsch als Zweitsprache“ für Lehramtsstudierende ausgewertet und Vorschläge zur Weiterentwicklung für die Ausbildungsphasen Studium, Vorbereitungsdienst und Fortbildung ausgearbeitet.