Teaching Activities

Landscape architecture is one of the many subjects that can be studied in Berlin.

Landscape architecture is one of the many subjects that can be studied in Berlin.
Image Credit: Philipp Arnold

An academic degree program is more than merely imparting knowledge in a specific discipline. At Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, and Charité, their joint medical school, forging connections between teaching activities and research is fundamental. Technische Universität Berlin has also embraced a mission of providing universal education since it was founded in 1946. The goal is for students at all of Berlin’s universities to receive the best possible education. Their studies should enable them, later in their lives, to tackle new social challenges that cannot yet be foreseen – whether in academia and the research sector or in a different professional setting.

With their rich academic resources, the universities in Berlin offer an ideal environment for curious students. Right from the start, they can become familiar with top-caliber research in major collaborative projects, and they are encouraged to write a bachelor’s or master’s thesis in an innovative research field. New research topics from the clusters of excellence and other alliance projects are addressed in seminars and lectures, for example, and prominent figures come to Berlin as visiting scholars, scientists, and researchers. Joint degree programs offered by the universities allow students to take courses at different institutions, thereby expanding on their exploration of the subject through additional, complementary offerings.

Berlin’s universities host guests from a variety of fields – not just science, academia, and research, but also the arts and the political sphere. Every summer semester students from all disciplines and all higher education institutions are invited to participate in a writers’ group at Freie Universität, discussing their own literary texts with prominent German-language authors, such as Reinald Götz, Feridan Zaimoglu, and Herta Müller, Nobel laureate in literature.

The universities in Berlin and Charité – Universitätsmedizin help refugees embark on a study program by offering language classes and preparatory seminars. The higher education institutions have made it a bedrock principle to take the growing diversity of the student body into account in their course and program offerings.

Alongside joint degree programs, Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität, and Technische Universität Berlin work together in particular in educating those who plan to impart knowledge to future generations themselves later on: teachers. Schools face a whole host of new tasks, from digitization to integrating children who have been forced to flee their home countries. Working together is the best way to give students enrolled in teaching credential programs comprehensive preparation for these challenges.

Learn more

Lehre

Landschaftsarchitektur gehört zu den vielen Fächern, die man in Berlin studieren kann.

Landschaftsarchitektur gehört zu den vielen Fächern, die man in Berlin studieren kann.
Bildquelle: Philipp Arnold

Ein wissenschaftliches Studium ist mehr als die reine Vermittlung von Fachwissen: Für die Freie Universität, die Humboldt-Universität sowie die Charité als ihr gemeinsamer medizinischer Fachbereich ist die Verbindung von Lehre und Forschung grundlegend. Auch die Technische Universität Berlin fühlt sich seit ihrer Gründung 1946 einem universellen Bildungsauftrag verpflichtet. Studierende an den Berliner Universitäten sollen die bestmögliche Ausbildung erhalten. Das Studium soll sie befähigen, sich in ihrem späteren Leben neuen, noch nicht absehbaren gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen zu stellen – ob in der Wissenschaft oder in einem anderen Berufsfeld.

Mit ihrem reichen akademischen Programm bieten die Berliner Universitäten ein ideales Umfeld für neugierige Studierende. Von Anfang an können sie Spitzenforschung in den großen Verbundprojekten kennenlernen und zum Beispiel in einem innovativen Forschungsfeld ihre Bachelor- oder Masterarbeit schreiben. Neue Forschungsthemen etwa aus den Exzellenzclustern oder anderen Verbundprojekten werden in Seminaren und Vorlesungen aufgegriffen, und renommierte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler kommen als Gäste nach Berlin. Gemeinsame Studiengänge der Universitäten ermöglichen es den Studierenden, an mehreren Hochschulen Kurse zu belegen und so den Lehrstoff durch zusätzliche, komplementäre Angebote zu erweitern.

Gäste der Berliner Universitäten kommen nicht nur aus dem Bereich der Wissenschaft, sondern auch aus der Kunst oder Politik. In jedem Sommersemester können Studierende aus allen Disziplinen und von allen Hochschulen in einem Autorenkolleg an der Freien Universität eigene literarische Texte mit herausragenden deutschsprachigen Autorinnen und Autoren wie etwa Reinald Götz, Feridan Zaimoglu oder der Literaturnobelpreisträgerin Herta Müller besprechen.

Die Berliner Universitäten und die Charité – Universitätsmedizin unterstützen Flüchtlinge bei der Aufnahme eines Studiums durch Sprachkurse und vorbereitende Seminare. Ganz grundsätzlich tragen die Hochschulen der wachsenden Diversität der Studierenden in den Lehrangeboten Rechnung.

Neben gemeinsamen Studiengängen arbeiten Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität und Technische Universität Berlin vor allem bei der Ausbildung derjenigen zusammen, die später selbst Wissen an künftige Generationen vermitteln sollen: die Lehrerinnen und Lehrer. Die Schulen stehen vor einer Fülle neuer Aufgaben, von der Digitalisierung bis zur Integration von Kindern, die aus ihrer Heimat fliehen mussten. Lehramtsstudierende darauf umfassend vorzubereiten, gelingt gemeinsam am besten.