Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Postdocs

From doctorate to professorship: Career paths starting in Berlin

Those who have already earned a doctorate can also benefit from the cooperative institutions in Berlin, including the graduate schools supported by the German Excellence Initiative and the research training groups and programs for graduates. Even though most of the support provided by these institutions tends to focus on doctoral candidates and their research, almost all of them also have space for postdoctoral fellows. Some, like the Berlin Mathematical School (BMS), even have a “postdoctoral faculty.” Its members make an important contribution to the courses offered at BMS and within the departments of mathematics at Technische Universität Berlin, Freie Universität, and Humboldt-Universität, the school’s host institutions.

Postdocs not only pursue their own research agenda, but also actively participate in the program by making their own contributions to the curriculum and through other activities, such as inviting colleagues to participate in discussions and hold talks. They also function as a point of contact for doctoral candidates and can even assume shared responsibility for their dissertation projects under the candidates’ supervision agreements.

Because they are affiliated with jointly hosted graduate institutions, postdocs also receive access to the departments at participating universities, so they can use the existing research infrastructure there, including libraries and large-scale equipment, along with their far-reaching networks of research and exchange relationships.

Junior scholars and scientists who are between doctoral studies and the professorship level will find that Berlin offers many ways to pursue further education and development. The various graduate programs and three umbrella organizations – the Dahlem Research School (DRS), Humboldt Graduate School, and TU-DOC, the body that provides doctoral and postdoctoral services at Technische Universität Berlin – support mutual networking through a wide range of events and offer many options for obtaining skills and education in the areas of research management, academic teaching, and career advancement. In the future, the alliance partners plan to coordinate the support they offer for junior scholars and scientists even more closely and expand on these services.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Postdoktoranden

Von der Promotion zur Professur: Karrierewege made in Berlin

Auch diejenigen, die ihren Doktorgrad bereits erworben haben, profitieren von den kooperativ geführten Einrichtungen – seien es die Graduiertenschulen aus der Exzellenzinitiative oder die Graduiertenkollegs und -programme. Denn auch, wenn der Schwerpunkt der Förderung in diesen Einrichtungen zumeist auf Promovierenden und deren Forschung liegt, nehmen nahezu alle Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden als Fellows auf. Oder sie haben gar, wie die Berlin Mathematical School (BMS), eine „Postdoctoral Faculty“. Deren Mitglieder leisten einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Lehrangebot der BMS und der mathematischen Fachbereiche oder Fakultäten der Technischen Universität Berlin, der Freien Universität und der Humboldt-Universität – den Trägern der „Schule“.

„Postdocs“ verfolgen nicht nur ihre eigene Forschungsagenda, sie beteiligen sich auch aktiv am Programm, indem sie selbst zum Curriculum beitragen oder Kolleginnen und Kollegen zu Diskussionen und Vorträgen einladen. Zudem sind sie Ansprechpartner für Promovierende und übernehmen im Rahmen der Betreuungsvereinbarung auch Mitverantwortung für deren Dissertationsprojekte.

Dank ihrer Zugehörigkeit zu gemeinsam getragenen Graduierteneinrichtungen erhalten auch Postdoktoranden Zugang zu den Fachbereichen und Fakultäten der beteiligten Universitäten. So können sie die dort vorhandene Forschungsinfrastruktur wie Bibliotheken und Großgeräte nutzen sowie das weitreichende Netzwerk aus Forschungs- und Austauschbeziehungen.

Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler zwischen Promotion und Professur finden in Berlin viele Möglichkeiten, sich weiter zu qualifizieren und -zu entwickeln: Graduiertenprogramme und die Dachorganisationen Dahlem Research School (DRS), Humboldt Graduate School und das an der Technischen Universität Berlin angesiedelte Nachwuchsbüro TU-DOC unterstützen durch viele Veranstaltungen das gegenseitige Vernetzen und bieten ein umfangreiches Angebot zur Qualifizierung in den Bereichen Forschungsmanagement, akademische Lehre und Karriereförderung. In Zukunft wollen die Verbundpartner ihre Unterstützung für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs noch stärker aufeinander abstimmen und weiter ausbauen.