Excellence Initiative 2007 to 2019

Achieving Success through Cooperation

The Excellence Initiative strove to advance top-level research and to improve the quality of higher education and research in Germany across the board, both with the goal of building up Germany’s reputation as a leader in science and research for many years to come. The German Research Foundation (DFG) carried out the initiative together with the German Council of Science and Humanities.

The Excellence Initiative had three funding lines: Graduate Schools to support early-career researchers, Clusters of Excellence, and institutional strategies.

Berlin’s universities demonstrated their merit early on with multiple successes during the first round of competition for funding in 2007. Nationwide, 37 Clusters of Excellence were granted funding to carry out large-scale research projects with experts from different fields working together on a topic with bearing on the future. Four of those clusters were in Berlin: Languages of Emotion (Freie Universität Berlin), NeuroCure (Charité as the joint medical faculty of Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) and UniCat (Technische Universität Berlin). The fourth cluster Topoi resulted from a joint proposal submitted by Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, but in fact all of the other clusters involved partnerships between institutions.

In addition, Freie Universität Berlin won recognition for its “International Network University” institutional strategy in 2007.

In June 2009, the German government decided to extend the Excellence Initiative beyond the initial five-year period for another five years to 2012. Berlin demonstrated once again during this second phase (2012 to 2017) that it is home to great researchers and great universities. In 2012, three of the Berlin Clusters of Excellence were approved to continue during the second funding period starting. Meanwhile, at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin a new cluster was approved: Image Knowledge Gestaltung.

Once again, Freie Universität Berlin’s institutional strategy was successful. Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin also joined the ranks of the German “Universities of Excellence” (eleven in all) thanks to its strategy “Bildung durch Wissenschaft. Educating Inquiring Minds.”

Graduate Schools to support early-career researchers constitute another important feature of the cooperative spirit between Berlin universities, as they are often operated by several partner institutions together. The Excellence Initiative paved the way for a total of nine Graduate Schools in Berlin.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Exzellenzinitiative 2007 bis 2019

Zusammenarbeit als Erfolgsfaktor

Die Exzellenzinitiative zielte darauf ab, gleichermaßen Spitzenforschung und die Anhebung der Qualität des Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsstandortes Deutschland in der Breite zu fördern und ihn damit nachhaltig zu stärken. Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft führte die Initiative gemeinsam mit dem Wissenschaftsrat durch.

In der Exzellenzinitiative gab es drei Förderlinien: Graduiertenschulen zur Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses, Exzellenzcluster und Zukunftskonzepte von Universitäten.

Bereits bei der ersten Förderperiode des Wettbewerbs 2007 waren die Berliner Universitäten sehr erfolgreich. In der Förderlinie der Exzellenzcluster, große Verbundforschungsprojekte, in denen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler verschiedener Disziplinen zu einem zukunftsträchtigen Thema zusammenarbeiten, wurden vier von bundesweit 37 Clustern in Berlin eingeworben: Languages of Emotion (Freie Universität), NeuroCure (Charité als gemeinsame medizinische Fakultät von Freier Universität und Humboldt-Universität) sowie UniCat (Technische Universität). Topoi war ein gemeinsamer Antrag der Freien Universität Berlin und Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin; auch alle anderen Cluster basierten auf der Kooperation der Einrichtungen.  

Zudem wurde die Freie Universität Berlin 2007 für ihr Zukunftskonzept Internationale Netzwerk Universität ausgezeichnet.

Im Juni 2009 beschlossen Bund und Länder, die Exzellenzinitiative über das Jahr 2012 hinaus für weitere fünf Jahre fortzusetzen. Auch in dieser zweiten Phase (2012 bis 2017) konnten Berliner Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und ihre Universitäten große Erfolge verzeichnen. Drei der Berliner Cluster wurden in der zweiten Förderperiode 2012 verlängert, als neuer Cluster kam an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin Bild Wissen Gestaltung hinzu.

Das Zukunftskonzept der Freien Universität Berlin war erneut erfolgreich. Ebenfalls zu den elf deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten zählen konnte sich die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin mit ihrem Konzept Bildung durch Wissenschaft.

Auch Graduiertenschulen zur Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses, die häufig ebenfalls von mehreren Partnern getragen werden, sind ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Forschungskooperationen der Berliner Universitäten. Insgesamt wurden in der Exzellenzinitiative neun Graduiertenschulen in Berlin eingerichtet.