Equality

People of all genders should have the same opportunities at every level – beginning with their studies and phases of professional qualification through to professorships and university management and in administrative positions. Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin all view achieving this aim as a strategic task that cuts across all of their activities. To them, this is a task that requires daily involvement and the participation of many different people. It encompasses large portions of day-to-day life at the university, including professionalization, networking, and research.

To ensure that talent does not get left behind, it should be possible to balance studying or working and family life. This applies to all areas in which long-term responsibility is assumed, from life with children to caring for family members. With this in mind, the major universities in Berlin and Charité have made a wide range of efforts on the path to becoming family-friendly higher education institutions.

The challenging task of achieving equal opportunity across genders is inconceivable without findings from the field of gender studies. A relatively new academic discipline, gender studies has a long history in Berlin. The institutions and facilities at Freie Universität, Technische Universität, Humboldt-Universität, and Charité make special contributions to these institutions’ academic profiles and to the profile of broad empirical gender research.

Learn more

Gleichstellung

Personen jeglichen Geschlechts sollen auf allen Ebenen die gleichen Chancen haben – vom Studium, über Phasen der beruflichen Qualifizierung bis zu Professur und Hochschulmanagement sowie in der Verwaltung. Diesem Anspruch gerecht zu werden sehen die Freie Universität, die Humboldt-Universität, die Technische Universität Berlin und die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin als eine strategische Querschnittsaufgabe. Chancengleichheit ist für sie eine täglich gestaltete Aufgabe, an der viele Akteure gemeinsam arbeiten und die weite Teile des universitären Lebens gestaltet, darunter Professionalisierung, Vernetzung und Forschung.

Damit Talente sich bestmöglich entfalten können, sollen Studium oder Beruf und Familie gut vereinbar sein. Das betrifft alle Bereiche, in denen langfristig Verantwortung übernommen wird: ob im Leben mit Kindern oder in der Pflege von Angehörigen. Die Berliner Universitäten und die Charité haben deshalb eine Vielzahl an Anstrengungen unternommen, als familiengerechte Hochschulen alle Mitglieder angemessen zu unterstützen.

Die anspruchsvolle Aufgabe, Chancengleichheit zu verwirklichen, ist ohne die Ergebnisse der Geschlechterforschung nicht vorstellbar. Die in der Wissenschaftslandschaft vergleichsweise junge Geschlechterforschung hat in Berlin eine lange Tradition. Die Einrichtungen an Freier Universität, Technischer Universität, Humboldt-Universität und Charité tragen in besonderer Weise zu deren wissenschaftlichem Profil bei und zum Profil einer breiten empirisch basierten Geschlechterforschung.

Mehr erfahren