Equality of Opportunity

At Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Freie Universität Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, achieving equal opportunities across genders is a strategic task that cuts across all of their activities. Many stakeholders work to achieve this, from the university administration to all decentralized levels.

Full-time and part-time women’s representatives and gender equality officers also play an important role in this. Their work covers a very wide range of topics. They participate in processes aimed at hiring student assistants or to fill a professorship, provide advice in conflict situations, participate in committees, and are involved in processes of change, such as when degree programs are revised or agreements on human resource development are drafted. Shared interests and cross-university matters having to do with equal opportunity are pooled together within the state conference of women’s representatives and gender equality officers of Berlin’s higher education institutions and the university medical centers in the state of Berlin. This body, made up of full-time women’s representatives and gender equality officers, has been active since 1991. It offers a forum for dialogue, cooperation, and joint action.

Equality Affects the Quality of Research, Teaching, and Administration

The universities in Berlin and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin have published a document outlining their general equality standards, the Allgemeine Gleichstellungsstandards. It forms an important basis for the joint development of their equality policies. These kinds of standards are important and even necessary, as a successful equality strategy yields significant added value. Equality affects the quality of research, teaching, and administration, since when people are equal, all skills and abilities are recognized and many different talents can be included. With this in mind, the general equality standards for Berlin were agreed upon with the aim of breaking down structural barriers that affect women, placing equality goals and targets on a solid footing at all levels, and assigning responsibility for implementing the standards and for fleshing them out in concrete detail to managers. To integrate a diverse range of perspectives into research and teaching activities and realize goals associated with gender equality policies at the universities, relevant findings from the field of gender studies are included.

The percentage of professorships at Berlin’s universities that are held by women has risen markedly in the past decade. To provide support to women whose professional goal is to become professors, the ProFiL. Professionalization of Women in Research and Teaching: Mentoring – Training – Networking program has been in place since 2004. This joint project between Technische Universität Berlin, Freie Universität, and Humboldt-Universität has supported more than 450 female scholars and scientists since it was first founded. Mentoring, specifically tailored seminars, and strategic networking provide program participants with one year of support in advancing their professional development and preparing for the future leadership and management roles associated with a professorship. The program for female scientists and researchers in university medicine that is based at the Mentoring Competence Center of Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin is also committed to the same idea of networking and dialogue.

The universities in Berlin have long-standing experience with joint research alliances. This experience has been the impetus for the institutions to establish a dialogue for optimum discussion in the case of research applications regarding the integration of equality aspects and to provide support for the implementation of individual measures. This gives those submitting applications for research projects at all locations relevant places to turn for advice. Individual measures – such as those aimed at providing professional support to female scholars and scientists (including specifically junior ones) – are also open to all members of the cross-institution alliances, regardless of the specific institution to which they belong. The participants involved in providing advice on equality work continuously to expand and further develop their cooperation.

Equality Concepts of the Institutions

Chancengerechtigkeit

Die Chancengerechtigkeit der Geschlechter ist eine strategische Querschnittsaufgabe an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, der Freien Universität Berlin, der Technischen Universität Berlin und der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. An ihr arbeiten viele Akteurinnen und Akteure – von den Leitungen bis zu allen dezentralen Ebenen.

Eine wichtige Rolle kommt auch den haupt- und nebenamtlichen Frauen- und Gleichstellungsbeauftragten zu. Ihre Arbeit ist sehr vielfältig: Sie begleiten Verfahren zur Einstellung einer studentischen Hilfskraft oder bei der Besetzung einer Professur, sie beraten in Konflikten, wirken in Gremien mit und sind an Veränderungsprozessen beteiligt, etwa an der Überarbeitung eines Studiengangs oder bei Personalentwicklungskonzepten. Gemeinsame Interessen und hochschulübergreifende Angelegenheiten der Gleichberechtigung werden in der Landeskonferenz der Frauenbeauftragten der Berliner Hochschulen und Universitätsklinika des Landes Berlin gebündelt. Dieser Zusammenschluss der hauptamtlichen Frauenbeauftragten ist seit 1991 aktiv und bietet einen Rahmen für Austausch, Zusammenarbeit und gemeinsames Handeln.

Gleichstellung wirkt sich auf die Qualität von Forschung, Lehre und Verwaltung aus

Mit den Allgemeinen Gleichstellungsstandards verfügen die Berliner Universitäten und die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin über eine wichtige Grundlage für die gemeinsame Entwicklung ihrer Gleichstellungspolitik. Solche Standards sind wichtig und notwendig, da eine erfolgreiche Gleichstellungsstrategie zu einem deutlichen Mehrwert führt: Gleichstellung wirkt sich auf die Qualität von Forschung, Lehre und Verwaltung aus, da alle Fähigkeiten anerkannt und vielfältige Talente einbezogen werden können. Deshalb wurden die Allgemeinen Gleichstellungsstandards in Berlin mit dem Ziel vereinbart, strukturelle Barrieren für Frauen abzubauen, Gleichstellungsziele auf allen Ebenen zu verankern und den Führungskräften die Verantwortung für die Konkretisierung und Umsetzung der Standards zu übertragen. Um vielfältige Perspektiven in Forschung und Lehre zu integrieren und gleichstellungspolitische Ziele an den Universitäten zu verwirklichen, werden einschlägige Erkenntnisse der Geschlechterforschung einbezogen.

An den Berliner Universitäten ist der Anteil von Frauen an den Professuren im vergangenen Jahrzehnt deutlich gestiegen. Um Frauen mit dem Berufsziel Professorin auf ihrem Weg zu unterstützen, wird seit dem Jahr 2004 das Programm ProFiL. Professionalisierung für Frauen in Forschung und Lehre: Mentoring – Training – Networking ausgeschrieben. Durch das gemeinsame Projekt der Technischen Universität Berlin, der Freien Universität und der Humboldt-Universität sind seit seiner Gründung mehr als 450 Wissenschaftlerinnen unterstützt worden. Durch Mentoring, passgenaue Seminare und strategische Vernetzung werden die Teilnehmerinnen ein Jahr lang dabei unterstützt, ihre berufliche Entwicklung voranzubringen und sich auf künftige Führungs- und Managementaufgaben vorzubereiten, die mit einer Professur verbunden sind. Diesem Gedanken von Vernetzung und Austausch verpflichtet ist auch das Programm für die Wissenschaftlerinnen in der Universitätsmedizin, welches im Mentoring Competence Center der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin verankert ist.

Die Berliner Universitäten haben seit Langem Erfahrungen mit gemeinsamen Forschungsverbünden. Deshalb hat sich zwischen den Einrichtungen ein Austausch etabliert, um bestmöglich bei Forschungsanträgen zur Integration von Gleichstellungsaspekten zu beraten und dabei zu unterstützen, einzelne Maßnahmen umzusetzen. So können sich Antragstellerinnen und Antragsteller von Forschungsprojekten an allen Standorten in den entsprechenden Stellen beraten lassen. Auch einzelne Maßnahmen – etwa zur beruflichen Förderung von (Nachwuchs-)Wissenschaftlerinnen – stehen allen Mitgliedern der hochschulübergreifenden Verbünde offen, unabhängig davon, welcher Institution sie angehören. Die Akteurinnen und Akteure der Gleichstellungsberatung bauen die Kooperation kontinuierlich aus.

Gleichstellungskonzept und -strategie der Einrichtungen