Digitalization

Video: Berlin researchers talk about digitalization in their fields of research.

Digitalization affects all areas of life, including the work at universities. The three major Berlin universities and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin treat digital transformation as a cross-cutting aspect of research, teaching, and administration. The alliance partners address the opportunities and risks of digitalization in a variety of programs and initiatives. 

The Berlin universities support the Berlin Open Access Strategy, whose aim is to provide free, unlimited online access to scientific and scholarly information. Digital research platforms are used in research, while in teaching “blended learning” formats are used in which students work through learning materials independently with the help of digital formats and deepen their knowledge in face-to-face courses.

The Berlin alliance partners are also conducting research projects on the social and ethical consequences of digitalization. In this context, scholars and scientists from a wide range of disciplines come together to cooperate on areas related to the digital transformation.

Researching and Designing Digitalization

Scientists and scholars at the Berlin universities are helping design the process of the digital transformation in Germany. They are working with the Weizenbaum Institute for the Networked Society – the German Internet Institute, funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), where an interdisciplinary research team is seeking ways to ensure participation and democratic self-determination in the digital age.

Researchers at the Einstein Center Digital Future, founded in 2017, are pursuing digital structures in science, the economy, and society. The center for digitalization research is an interdisciplinary project of Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität, Technische Universität Berlin, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, and the Berlin University of the Arts, along with other non-university research institutes, and is based on a major public-private partnership (PPP) involving more than 30 companies and organizations.

The alliance partners are also participating in the Berlin university program DiGiTal, which promotes outstanding scientists and artists in digitalization research. Financed via the Berlin Program for Equal Opportunities of Women in Higher Education (BCP), its aim is to ensure equal opportunities for participation and provide critical guidance throughout the digitalization and transformation processes.

Digitalisierung

Im Video: Berliner Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sprechen darüber, was Digitalisierung für ihren Forschungsbereich bedeutet.

Die Digitalisierung betrifft alle Lebensbereiche, auch die Arbeit an den Hochschulen. In Forschung und Lehre sowie in der Verwaltung begreifen die drei großen Berliner Universitäten und die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin die digitale Transformation deshalb als Querschnittsthema. Den Chancen und Risiken der Digitalisierung begegnen die Verbundpartnerinnen in einer Vielzahl von Programmen und Initiativen.

Die Berlin University Alliance unterstützt die Berliner Open-Access-Strategie, um wissenschaftliche Informationen uneingeschränkt und kostenlos online zur Verfügung zu stellen. In der Forschung wird etwa auf digitale Forschungsplattformen gesetzt und in der Lehre kommen sogenannte Blended Learning-Formate zum Einsatz, bei denen sich Studierende den Lehrstoff mit Hilfe digitaler Formate selbst erarbeiten und dann in der Präsenzveranstaltung vertiefen.

Auch die sozialen und ethischen Konsequenzen der Digitalisierung sind Gegenstand von Forschungsprojekten der Berliner Verbundpartner. Die Themen der digitalen Transformation bringt dabei Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler unterschiedlichster Disziplinen zusammen.

Digitalisierung erforschen und gestalten

Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Berliner Universitäten gestalten den Prozess der digitalen Transformation in Deutschland mit. Sie arbeiten an dem vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung geförderten Weizenbaum-Institut für die vernetzte Gesellschaft, dem Deutschen Internet-Institut. Ein interdisziplinäres Forscherteam sucht dort nach Wegen, um Teilhabe und demokratische Selbstbestimmung im digitalen Zeitalter zu sichern.

Den digitalen Strukturen in Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft gehen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler auch in dem 2017 gegründetem Einstein Center Digital Future nach. Das Zentrum für Digitalisierungsforschung ist ein interdisziplinäres Projekt der Freien Universität, der Humboldt-Universität, der Technischen Universität Berlin, der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin und der Universität der Künste Berlin sowie weiteren außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen und beruht auf einer großen Public-Private-Partnership (PPP) aus mehr als 30 Unternehmen und Organisationen.

Die Verbundpartnerinnen sind auch beteiligt an dem Berliner Hochschulprogramm DiGiTal zur Förderung exzellenter Wissenschaftlerinnen und Künstlerinnen in der Digitalisierungsforschung. Es wird finanziert über das Berliner Programm zur Förderung der Chancengleichheit für Frauen in Forschung und Lehre und zielt ab auf eine chancengerechte Teilhabe an und kritische Begleitung von Digitalisierungs- und Transformationsprozessen.

Schlagwörter