Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Workshop: Open Science and Research Quality

Trainer:
Nele Hofmann und Stefan Skupien (Center for Open and Reliable Research)

Further speakers:
Amelya und Felix (Student Network for Open Science), Jessica Rohmann und Toivo Glatz (peerspectives).

Time and place: Januar 23rd 2024, 10 am - 3 pm e)23. Januar 2024, 10-15 Uhr (inklusive gemeinsamer MittagspauseJanuary 23, 2024, 10 a.m. - 3 p.m. (including lunch break)

Content:

Research quality and openness in the research process have always been an important part in the self-reflection of science in many of its disciplines and subject areas. The latest regional and global initiatives clearly demonstrate this. The Berlin University Alliance has also committed itself to the goal of strengthening and deepening the assurance of quality in research and its openness with regard to the respective subject cultures. There are already a number of activities in the Berlin research area that participants in the workshop can build on. 

In the first part of the workshop, we want to work together on the core ideas, concepts and processes of research quality and open science using individual examples, e.g. What is peer review and how does it work?  What does "open access" as an important topic of open science mean in concrete terms? What does the Berlin Research Space already offer for various steps in the research process?

In the second part of the workshop, guest speakers will present techniques, offers and initiatives from the Berlin Research Area that students from all disciplines can use to actively contribute to the quality assurance of research from the earliest stage of their academic training and to make their own research work open. We will discuss the advantages and challenges of the practical implementation of various measures and techniques with our guest speakers. 

Registration is open until January 12. A short survey on expectations will then be conducted among those registered in order to make the workshop even more targeted. The course will take place if at least 10 people have registered.

Registration

Procedure: 

10:00 - 10:15 Introduction and expectations

10:15 - 11:00 Research quality and open science - concepts and basic terms

11:00 - 11:15 Break

11:15 - 12:15 Discussion round: Where do openness and research quality overlap?

12:15 - 13:15 Lunch break

13:15 - 14:00 Input and discussion: Student open access publishing (Amelya Keles and Felix Hambitzer)

14:00 - 14:45 Input and discussion: Quality of Peer Review (Jessica Rothmann and Toivo Glatz)

14:45 - 15:00 Conclusion and maneuver critique

 

The speakers: 

Nele Hofmann is a research quality officer and has been involved in higher education and science research for several years. Stefan Skupien is a consultant for Open Science and is currently shaping the Open Science strategy of the Berlin University Alliance. Both work at the Berlin University Alliance's Center for Open and Responsible Research (CORe).

Felix Hambitzer and Amelya Keles started setting up the student open access journal Berlin Exchange Medical three years ago as medical students at Charité. Today, the initiative goes beyond the journal and is called the Student Network for Open Science.

Dr. Jessica Rothmann and Toivo Glatz are part of the team in charge of the "Peerspectives" training program for young scientists in the field of biomedicine at the Berlin Institute for Health. With this program, they train young scientists to better understand the scientific peer review process and its integration into scientific publication structures.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Workshop: Open Science und Forschungsqualität

Workshopleitung: 
Nele Hofmann und Stefan Skupien (Center for Open and Reliable Research)

Referentinnen:
Amelya und Felix (Student Network for Open Science), Jessica Rohmann und Toivo Glatz (peerspectives).

Termin, Zeit und Ort: 23. Januar 2024, 10-15 Uhr (inklusive gemeinsamer Mittagspause)23. Januar 2024, 10-15 Uhr (inklusive gemeinsamer Mittagspause)

Inhalt:
Forschungsqualität und Offenheit im Forschungsprozess sind schon immer ein wichtiger Teil in der Selbstreflexion der Wissenschaft in vielen ihrer Disziplinen und Fachbereichen gewesen. Die jüngsten regionalen und globalen Initiativen zeigen das deutlich. Auch die Berlin University Alliance hat sich dem Ziel verschrieben, die Sicherung von Qualität in der Forschung und ihre Offenheit mit Rücksicht auf die jeweiligen Fachkulturen zu stärken und zu vertiefen. Dafür gibt es bereits eine Vielzahl an Aktivitäten im Berliner Forschungsraum, auf welche die Teilnehmenden des Workshops aufbauen können. 

Im ersten Teil des Workshops wollen wir gemeinsam die Kernideen, Begrifflichkeiten und Prozesse von Forschungsqualität und Open Science an einzelnen Beispielen erarbeiten, z.B. Was ist peer review und wie funktioniert es?  Was bedeutet „Open Access“ als ein wichtiges Thema von Open Science konkret? Was bietet der Berliner Forschungsraum bereits für verschiedene Schritte im Forschungsprozess?

Im zweiten Teil des Workshops präsentieren Gäste Techniken, Angebote und Initiativen aus dem Berliner Forschungsraum, auf die Studierende aus allen Fachbereichen zurückgreifen können, um ab dem frühesten Punkt der wissenschaftlichen Ausbildung bereits aktiv zur Qualitätssicherung von Forschung beizutragen und die eigene Forschungsarbeit offen zu gestalten. Dabei diskutieren wir mit unseren Gästen die Vorteile und Herausforderungen der praktischen Umsetzung verschiedener Maßnahmen und Techniken. 

Die Anmeldung ist bis zum 12.1. geöffnet. Unter den Angemeldeten wird im Anschluss eine kurze Umfrage zu Erwartungen durchgeführt, um den Workshop noch zielgerichteter zu gestalten. Der Kurs findet statt, wenn sich mindestens 10 Personen angemeldet haben.

Anmeldung: Siehe Link in der E-Mail oder per Mail an: sturop@berlin-university-alliance.de

Ablauf: 

10:00 – 10:15 Vorstellung und Erwartungen

10:15 – 11:00 Forschungsqualität und Offene Wissenschaft – Konzepte und Grundbegriffe

11:00 – 11:15 Pause

11:15 – 12:15 Diskussionsrunde: Wo überlappen sich Offenheit und Qualitätssicherung?

12:15 – 13:15 Mittagspause

13:15 – 14:00 Input und Diskussion: Studentisches Open Access Publishing 

14:00 – 14:45 Input und Diskussion: Open Peer Review 

14:45 – 15:00 Ausklang und Manöverkritik

 

Die Referent:innen: 
Nele Hofmann ist Referentin für Forschungsqualität und beschäftigt sich seit mehreren Jahren mit Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung. Stefan Skupien ist Referent für Open Science und gestaltet derzeit die Open Science-Strategie der Berlin University Alliance. Beide arbeiten am Center for Open and Responsible Research (CORe) der Berlin University Alliance.

Felix Hambitzer und Amelya Keles haben vor drei Jahren als Medizinstudent:innen an der Charité begonnen, das studentische Open Access Journal Berlin Exchange Medical aufzubauen. Heute geht die Initiative über das Journal hinaus und heißt Student Network for Open Science.

Dr. Jessica Rothmann und Toivo Glatz sind Teil des Teams, das am Berlin Institute for Health das  Trainingsprogramm „Peerspectives“ für Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen im Bereich der Biomedizin betreuen. Mit diesem Programm wollen wir Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen darin ausbilden, den wissenschaftlichen Peer-Review-Prozess und dessen Einbindung in wissenschaftliche Publikationsstrukturen besser zu verstehen.