Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Research Data Management and Open Access

The BUA funds structural projects that (further) develop tools and services to facilitate access to research data and publications. Existing infrastructures are to be linked and best practice examples developed. Employees of the four partner institutions collaborate to achieve this goal in the following projects.

The project A Digital Network for University Collections explores the basis for a sustainable collection infrastructure within the four partner institutions and develops a recommendation for its sustainable design. A comprehensive digital infrastructure of the approximately 90 collections will support their usability and visibility, as well as enable their research. The project is led by Dr. Yong-Mi Rauch (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), Dr. Andreas Brandtner (Freie Universität Berlin), and Prof. Dr. Schnalke (Charité -– Universitätsmedizin Berlin).

The project A Digital Research Space for the Berlin University Alliance (PILOT) aims to create a portal for services related to electronic research data from all the participating BUA partners and to include it in the portfolio of university libraries. Further portal functionalities for researchers are planned, in particular access to the BUA's digital resources and a digital research environment for designing data-driven research. Prof. Dr. Claudia Müller-Birn (Freie Universität Berlin) and Dr. Sonja Schimmler (Technische Universität Berlin) are heading the project.

The goal of the project Concept Development for Collaborative Research Data Management Services is to further strengthen services related to research data management (RDM) within the BUA. The focus is on the sustainable development of competencies and expertise in the field of research data management for researchers and multipliers. At the end of the two-year project, there will be, among other things, a central BUA RDM informational website and a strategy development on research data management coordinated within the BUA. The project is led by Sibylle Söring of Freie Universität Berlin.

The Project “COVID-19 and Transport (Collecting, Analyzing and Providing Real Time Data on Mobility in Pandemic Times. Berlin Data Hub Mobility and Logistics)” aims to jointly implement a monitoring center for the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on transportation, mobility, and logistics in the German capital. Prof. Dr. Natalia Kliewer (Freie Universität Berlin) and Prof. Dr. Hans-Liudger Dienel (Technische Universität Berlin) are heading the project.

The objective of the Distributed Network for Publishing Services project is the cooperative development of consulting and services for scientific publishing, as well as the expansion of interlinked open access publishing infrastructures based on distributed competencies of the BUA partners. With the realization of the network, transparency for publication processes will be established, legal certainty will be created, the visibility of quality-assured publications will be increased, and the bibliometric classification of published research results will be made possible. Dr. Andreas Brandtner (Freie Universität Berlin), Prof. Dr. Andreas Degkwitz (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), Jürgen Christof (Technische Universität Berlin), and Ursula Flitner (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin) are leading the project.

To ensure that resources in laboratories can be used in the best possible way, the Laboratory Know-How as a Shared Resource project has set itself the goal of developing a joint management of the laboratories. In the case of thematically related research objectives, it makes sense to bundle resources for reasons of efficiency. In order to avoid loss of knowledge due to staff changes, for example, the project records and catalogs inventories and offers laboratory trainings. The project is led by Prof. Dr. Pia Knoeferle (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) and Prof. Fabian Klostermann (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin).

Using the VIVO open source software, the project Research Information Platform with VIVO will submit a federated research information platform (FIP) to the BUA. Internally, the emerging platform will serve to facilitate better, easier search, presentation, and interdisciplinary networking of researchers and their work and topics, as well as to manage and analyze research information. Externally, the platform serves science communication and knowledge transfer with its transparent, structured presentation. The project is led by Malte Dreyer (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin).

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Forschungsdatenmanagement und Open Access

Die BUA fördert Strukturprojekte, die Tools und Services (weiter-)entwickeln, um den Zugang zu Forschungsdaten und -publikationen zu erleichtern. Bestehende Infrastrukturen sollen verknüpft und Best-Practice-Beispiele entwickelt werden. In den folgenden Projekten arbeiten Mitarbeiter*innen der vier Verbundpartnerinnen zusammen, um dieses Ziel zu erreichen.

Durch das Projekt A Digital Research Space for the Berlin University Alliance (PILOT) wird angestrebt, ein Portal für Dienste rund um elektronische Forschungsdaten von allen beteiligten BUA-Partnerinnen zu erstellen und es in das Portfolio der Universitätsbibliotheken aufzunehmen. Weitere Portal-Funktionalitäten für Wissenschaftler*innen sind geplant, insbesondere der Zugang zu digitalen Ressourcen der BUA und ein digitaler Forschungsraum zum Gestalten datengetriebener Forschung. Das Projekt wird von Prof. Dr. Claudia Müller-Birn (Freie Universität Berlin) und Dr. Sonja Schimmler (Technische Universität Berlin) geleitet.

Ziel des Projekts Concept Development for Collaborative Research Data Management Services ist es, die Services rund um Forschungsdatenmanagement (FDM) innerhalb der BUA weiter zu stärken. Im Zentrum steht ein nachhaltiger Aufbau von Kompetenzen und Expertise zum Thema Forschungsdatenmanagement für Forschende sowie Multiplikator*innen. Am Ende des auf zwei Jahre angelegten Projekts werden unter anderem eine zentrale BUA-FDM-Informationswebsite sowie eine innerhalb der BUA abgestimmte Strategieentwicklung zum Forschungsdatenmanagement stehen. Das Projekt wird von Sibylle Söring (Freie Universität Berlin) geleitet. 

Das Projekt COVID-19 and Transport (Collecting, Analyzing and Providing Real Time Data on Mobility in Pandemic Times. Berlin Data Hub Mobility and Logistics) hat zum Ziel, ein Monitoring-Center für die Auswirkungen der COVID-19-Pandemie auf Transport, Mobilität und Logistik in der Bundeshauptstadt gemeinsam umzusetzen. Das Projekt wird von Prof. Dr. Natalia Kliewer (Freie Universität Berlin) und Prof. Dr. Hans-Liudger Dienel (Technische Universität Berlin) geleitet. 

Das Projekt Digitales Netzwerk Universitätssammlungen exploriert die Grundlage für eine nachhaltige Sammlungsinfrastruktur innerhalb der vier Verbundpartnerinnen und erarbeitet eine Empfehlung zu dessen nachhaltiger Ausgestaltung. Eine umfassende digitale Infrastruktur der rund 90 Sammlungen soll deren Nutzbarkeit und Sichtbarkeit unterstützen sowie deren Forschung ermöglichen. Das Projekt wird von Dr. Yong-Mi Rauch (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), Dr. Andreas Brandtner (Freie Universität Berlin) und Prof. Dr. Schnalke (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin) geleitet.

Zielsetzung des Projekts Distributed Network for Publishing Services ist der kooperative Aufbau von Beratungs- und Serviceleistungen zum wissenschaftlichen Publizieren sowie der Ausbau vernetzter Open-Access-Publikationsinfrastrukturen auf der Grundlage verteilter Kompetenzschwerpunkte der BUA-Partnerinnen. Mit der Realisierung des Netzwerks werden Transparenz für Publikationsprozesse hergestellt, Rechtssicherheit geschaffen, die Sichtbarkeit von qualitätsgesicherten Publikationen erhöht und die bibliometrische Einordnung publizierter Forschungsergebnisse ermöglicht. Das Projekt wird von Dr. Andreas Brandtner (Freie Universität Berlin), Prof. Dr. Andreas Degkwitz (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), Jürgen Christof (Technische Universität Berlin) und Ursula Flitner (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin) geleitet.

Damit Ressourcen in Laboren bestmöglich eingesetzt werden können, hat sich das Projekt Labor Know-How als Shared Resource das Ziel gesetzt, ein gemeinsames Management der Labore zu entwickeln. Bei thematisch verwandten Forschungszielen ist aus Effizienzgründen die Bündelung der Ressourcen sinnvoll. Um Wissensverlust durch zum Beispiel Personalwechsel zu vermeiden, werden im Projekt Bestände erfasst und katalogisiert sowie Labortrainings angeboten. Das Projekt wird von Prof. Dr. Pia Knoeferle (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) und Prof. Fabian Klostermann (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin) geleitet.

Mittels der Open-Source-Software VIVO wird das Projekt Forschungsinformationsplattform FIP mit VIVO eine föderierte Forschungsinformationsplattform (FIP) für die BUA einreichen. Die entstehende Plattform dient nach innen der besseren, einfacheren Suche, Präsentation und interdisziplinären Vernetzung der Forschenden und ihrer Arbeit und Themen sowie dem Management und der Analyse der Forschungsinformationen. Nach außen dient die Plattform mit ihrer transparenten, strukturierten Darstellung der Wissenschaftskommunikation und dem Wissenstransfer. Das Projekt wird von Malte Dreyer (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) geleitet.