Springe direkt zu Inhalt

FAQs for Open Call: Research Quality and Open Science

Eligible to apply are professors, postdoctoral researchers as well as managerial staff and post-doctoral employees from research-support areas who are employed at one of the Berlin University Alliance’s institutions, Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Applicants must have an employment contract with one of the partner institutions for the complete duration of the requested project.

No. However, as funding recipients, applicants must be assigned ‘cost centres’ in their respective institutions for the complete duration of their project. This means that they must have a contract with one of the Berlin University Alliance’s partners for this period.

For applicants employed as WiMis (scientific staff member), the terms of “The Act of Academic Fixed- Term Contract” (Wissenschaftszeitvertragsgesetz, WissZeitVG) apply. Science-Support Staff members are subject to the limitations of the German act on part-time and temporary work (Teilzeitbefristungsgesetz, TzBfG). Fixed-term contracts cannot be issued without reason (“Sachgrund”). Unfounded fixed-term contracts (“sachgrundlose Befristung”) are invalid.

Persons whose positions are to be funded by the project are team members, not applicants. All new positions funded by the project are subject to public calls for application. However, applicants with part-time positions can use project funding to increase their hours, provided that they have an employment contract with one of the institutions’ partners which covers the complete funding period (see also: Who is eligible? And: Do applicants need a permanent contract?). The contractual arrangements are negotiated on an individual basis.

At least two of the four partner institutions of the Berlin University Alliance should be involved in one project. Both (or more) partners can be PIs. Alternatively, one partner can act as a PI while the other one can be integrated as a cooperation partner. The submitting PI needs to enclose an LOI to the proposal (see website for template). The cooperation partner also has to submit a binding LOI of the respective cooperating institution.

Yes. The duration can vary. The maximum is 2 years. Projects have to start by September 2021 at the latest.

The project can fund costs for personnel and resources.

Applicants can claim the costs of resources that are not suggested in the template. To do so, applicants fill in the amount in the line “Others” and provide more information under “details”. For example: you would like to claim transcription costs amounting to 1.000 Euro. Furthermore, you need 200 Euro for materials. You thus fill in 1.200 Euro under the heading “Others” and note under “details”: transcription and materials.

Yes. However, the transfer of funds into the next year is only possible for projects with a duration of more than one year and for a maximum of 20% of the year’s total funds (within the project’s duration). The transfer of funds into the next year must be requested until the 1st of September of each year.

Yes. PhD students can be employed. However, especially with regard to the maximum project duration of 2 years, positions created within the projects are not formal PhD positions.

No. Applicants can only submit one project.

No follow-up funding is planned. However, depending on the availability of funds, further financial support for the implementation of measures designed (and tested) in the initial projects may be possible.

Proposals may focus on one of the two funding lines or may be situated in the overlapping area of the two. They may thus address both topics. Applicants need to clarify the focus and thematic relevance in their proposals.

Selection process

Selection process

Project proposals will first need to satisfy all formal criteria. Proposals that meet all formal requirements will then be presented to a set of (at least two) independent reviewers who assess the proposals with regard to four criteria:

  • Does the proposal lie in the thematic focus of this call?
  • Does the proposal address a problem that is realistic, relevant and state-of-the-art?
  • Does the proposal offer one (or more) solution that is innovative, feasible and adequate?
  • Is the implementation plan realistic and sustainable?

All four criteria are assigned a score from 0 to 3 points. Proposals that receive at least 2 points per criterium by each reviewer will receive a written review. Based on these reviews, a selection committee of four external (non-BUA) experts, together with the four members of the steering committee of Objective 3, compile a shortlist, which will in turn be presented to the BUA-Executive Board for final decision-making.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

FAQs des Open Call: Forschungsqualität und Open Science

Antragsberechtigt sind Professorinnen und Professoren, promovierte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sowie aus den wissenschaftsunterstützenden Bereichen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter mit Leitungsfunktion oder promoviert, die in den Einrichtungen der Berlin University Alliance arbeiten, d.h. Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin sowie Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Antragstellende müssen einen bestehenden Vertrag über die gesamte Projektlaufzeit an einer der BUA-Einrichtungen besitzen.

Nein. Allerdings müssen den Antragstellenden als Mittelempfängerinnen und -empfänger entsprechende Kostenstellen zugeordnet sein. Daher muss sichergestellt sein, dass sie während der gesamten Projektlaufzeit Mitglied einer der vier BUA-Partnerinnen sind – sprich einen Vertrag haben.

Für die wissenschaftlich Mitarbeitenden gelten die Rahmenbedingungen des Wissenschaftszeitvertragsgesetzes (WissZeitVG). Mitarbeitende aus den wissenschaftsunterstützenden Bereichen unterliegen den Regelungen des Teilzeitbefristungsgesetzes (TzBfG). Für eine befristete Beschäftigung ist ein Sachgrund zu benennen. Eine sachgrundlose Befristung ist nicht möglich.

Personen, die über die Projektmittel angestellt werden, sind in der Regel Projektmitarbeitende, nicht Antragstellende. Die eingeworbenen Stellen sind in der Regel auszuschreiben. Stellenanteile von Antragstellenden können aus Projektmitteln finanziert werden vorausgesetzt, es liegt bereits ein Arbeitsvertrag vor (siehe auch Frage: Wer ist antragsberechtigt? Bzw. Müssen Antragstellende unbefristet beschäftigt sein?) der die Laufzeit des Projektes abdeckt. Die vertragliche Gestaltung ist im Einzelfall zu regeln.

Mindestens zwei Partner oder Partnerinnen aus zwei unterschiedlichen Einrichtungen der BUA sollten an einem Projekt beteiligt sein. Dabei können beide Parteien PIs sein, alternativ kann ein Partner oder eine Partnerin als PI fungieren und der andere als Kooperationspartner oder -partnerin eingebunden werden. Der antragstellende PI muss dem Antrag einen LOI beilegen (s. Webseite). Auch der Kooperationspartner oder die -partnerin muss einen verbindlichen LOI seitens der zuständigen kooperierenden Einrichtung beilegen.

Ja, die Projektlaufzeit kann variieren und maximal 2 Jahre betragen. Der späteste Starttermin für ein Projekt ist September 2021.

Es können Personal- und / oder Sachmittel beantragt werden.

Antragstellende haben die Möglichkeit, Sachkosten, sofern diese nicht von den im Template vorausgewählten Kategorien erfasst werden, unter „Weitere Sachkosten“ zu beantragen. Diese Positionen sind ggf. in der Spalte „Erläuterung“ zu benennen. Beispiel: Sie möchten Ausgaben i.H.v. 1.000 Euro für Transkriptionen und 200 Euro für Materialkosten geltend machen. Dafür tragen Sie in dem Feld „Sonstige Sachkosten“ 1.200 Euro ein und ergänzen unter „Erläuterung“: Transkriptions- und Materialkosten.

Ja, allerdings ist eine Übertragung der Mittel in das nächste Haushaltsjahr nur bei einer überjährigen Laufzeit und maximal in Höhe von 20 % der Jahressumme im Rahmen der Projektlaufzeit auf Antrag bis zum 1. September d. J. möglich.

Ja, Promovierende können in den Projekten beschäftigt werden, allerdings sind die Stellen nicht explizit als Promotionsstellen vorgesehen und können mit Blick auf die avisierten Laufzeiten auch nicht als solche verstanden werden.

Eine Beteiligung von Antragstellenden an mehreren Anträgen ist nicht möglich.

Eine Anschlussförderung zur Verstetigung der Aktivitäten ist nicht vorgesehen. In Abhängigkeit von der Verfügbarkeit entsprechender Mittel kann eine weiterführende Unterstützung, die explizit auf die Implementierung von Maßnahmen, die im Rahmen der Projekte konzipiert und getestet werden, geleistet werden.

Anträge können auf eine der beiden Linien fokussieren aber auch in Überlappungsbereichen verortet sein, d.h. beide Themenbereiche adressieren. Im Antrag ist die Ausrichtung und thematische Relevanz für die Linien darzustellen.

Darstellung des Auswahlprozesses

Darstellung des Auswahlprozesses

Die Projekte werden zunächst daraufhin geprüft, ob sie die formalen Zuwendungskriterien erfüllen. Ist dies der Fall werden sie in einer Vorauswahl von mindestens zwei unabhängigen Gutachtenden danach bewertet ob sie

  • inhaltlich im Fokus des Calls liegen?
  • ein Problem adressieren, das real, relevant und zeitgemäß ist?
  • eine Lösung anbieten, die innovativ, machbar und adäquat erscheint?
  • der Plan für die Implementierung realistisch und nachhaltig erscheint.

Für Projekte, die in dieser Stufe der Begutachtung von jedem Gutachtenden mindestens zwei Punkte je Bewertungskriterium (Bewertungsskala 0 bis 3) und jeweils mindestens 8 Punkte insgesamt erzielen, werden schriftliche Gutachten von den Gutachtenden eingeholt. Basierend auf diesen Gutachten wird dann durch ein Auswahlgremium, bestehend aus vier BUA-externen Expertinnen und Experten und den vier Mitgliedern des Steering Committee im Objective 3 eine Shortlist erstellt, die dem Executive Board zur finalen Entscheidung vorlegelegt wird.