Oxford - Berlin Graduate Network in Ancient Studies

Training of young scholars in Classical Studies

Cast Collection of Ancient Sculpture at Freie Universität Berlin

Cast Collection of Ancient Sculpture at Freie Universität Berlin
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

The project is designed to focus on the training of young scholars in Classical Studies. It reinforces the recently established cooperation between the Berlin Graduate School of Ancient Studies (BerGSAS) and the Humanities Division of the University of Oxford. BerGSAS is the graduate school offering five doctoral programs based jointly at Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. The project aims to sustainably promote the doctoral exchange anchored in this agreement in its initial phase and to expand content-related networking between Classics in Berlin and Oxford. For this purpose, mutual stays of four doctoral students and a joint graduate conference are planned.

The doctoral students are to spend a term or a semester at the partner institution, where they are guaranteed participation in lectures, courses and seminars. These stays serve to help the individual in fashioning a profile in their chosen field of study as well as related ones, by developing expertise in said field and by establishing networks. In addition, the stays will expose doctoral students to the scholarly traditions and academic organisation of the partner institution.

The Graduate Conference to be held in Berlin is intended as a slightly different type of academic exchange, where specific dissertation projects are to be introduced and discussed. This type of conference will offer ample opportunity for discussion and networking and will be open to all doctoral students in the field of Classics currently working in Berlin. Exchange between doctoral students will be facilitated through chaired sessions, and doctoral students with related interests or with a useful external perspective on a given project will be able to provide valuable assistance to one another.

Applicants: Prof. Tobias Reinhardt (University of Oxford), Prof. Dr. Monika Trümper (Freie Universität)

Oxford - Berlin Graduate Network in Ancient Studies

Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses in den Altertumswissenschaften

Die Abguss-Sammlung der Freien Universität Berlin.

Die Abguss-Sammlung der Freien Universität Berlin.
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Das Projekt ist auf die Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses in den Altertumswissenschaften konzentriert. Es stärkt die kürzlich vertraglich geregelte Kooperation zwischen der Berlin Graduate School of Ancient Studies (BerGSAS) – dem Dach für fünf an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin angesiedelten Promotionsprogrammen – und der Humanities Division der University of Oxford. Es zielt darauf ab, den darin verankerten Promovierendenaustausch in seiner Initialphase nachhaltig anzuschieben und die inhaltliche Vernetzung zwischen den Altertumswissenschaften in Berlin und Oxford auszuweiten. Zu diesem Zweck sind gegenseitige Gastaufenthalte von vier Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden und eine gemeinsame Graduate Conference vorgesehen.

Die Gastaufenthalte in der Länge von einem Semester beziehungsweise Trimester garantieren die Teilnahme an Lehrveranstaltungen. Sie dienen der individuellen Profilbildung im Promotionsfach und in Nachbardisziplinen, also der Ausbildung von fachlicher Expertise und dem wissenschaftlichen Austausch. Darüber hinaus sollen die Promovierenden mit den akademischen Traditionen und dem Wissenschaftssystem der Partnereinrichtung vertraut werden.

Die Graduate Conference mit Veranstaltungsort in Berlin ist als andere Form wissenschaftlichen Dialogs konzipiert, bei der die konkreten Dissertationsprojekte im Vordergrund stehen. Diese Konferenz bietet ein breites Diskussions- und Vernetzungsangebot und ist allen Promovierenden der Berliner Altertumswissenschaften zugänglich. In einem moderierten Format soll sie den fachlichen Austausch von Promovierenden fördern, die an verwandten Themen arbeiten oder aus einer anderen Fachperspektive wertvolle Hinweise geben können.

Antragstellerin und Antragsteller:

Prof. Tobias Reinhardt (University of Oxford), Prof. Dr. Monika Trümper (Freie Universität Berlin)