Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Call for Proposals for Joint PhD Training in Global Health

Joint call with the University of Melbourne

  • Call opens: October 15, 2021
  • Call closes: February 15, 2022
  • Start of funding: expected April 1, 2022
  • Funding period: 36 months (plus another 12 months upon application)

The internationalization of graduate education is a central goal of the strategic partnership between the Berlin University Alliance (BUA) and the University of Melbourne (UoM). Within the framework of the Grand Challenge Initiative Global Health, the two partners are inviting applications for funding of joint PhD projects.

Research teams from the BUA institutions and the UoM are eligible to apply for funding to jointly supervise two PhD candidates (1 x UoM, 1 x BUA). The doctoral candidates will spend at least 12 months at each institution as part of their training and graduate with a jointly awarded PhD, recognised by one testamur from each institution. The enrolment of the PhD candidates should take place after successful recruitment by the supervisors at one of the BUA institutions, no later than fall semester 2022/2, with a maximum candidature of 4 years.

The funding includes PhD scholarships of 1500 euros per month (BUA; UoM see website) for three years (fourth year possible upon application), mobility support for the doctoral candidates, and a lump sum to support the supervisory teams and to further develop their cooperation. Further details can be found in the call guidelines. In total, up to six proposals, and thus 12 dissertation projects, in the field of Global Health can be funded.

A successful application as main applicant to the call "Determinants of Global Health: Exploring Biological, Human-made & Environmental Factors" does not exclude an application to this call.

Detailed information on selection criteria and content as well as on the application procedure can be found in the Call for Applications.

The collaborative partners of the Berlin University Alliance and the University of Melbourne entered into a strategic partnership in 2018. Since 2019, seventeen joint research projects have received seed funding. In 2021, a framework agreement for joint doctoral degrees was signed between BUA and UoM. This is the starting point for the establishment and expansion of joint activities in graduate education.

Call Documents

Contact

Aleksandra Laski, Strategic Partnership Manager
Tel.: +49 30 / 2093-20084
Email: aleksandra.laski@berlin-university-alliance.de 

Helen Paul, Team Assistance Strategic Partnerships
Email: helen.paul@berlin-university-alliance.de 

Kim Turner, Researcher Development Schemes
Email: res-devschemes@unimelb.edu.au

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Call for Joint PhD Projects

Grand Challenge Initiative Global Health

Gemeinsamer Call mit der University of Melbourne für die gemeinsame Graduiertenausbildung im Bereich Global Health

  • Beginn der Ausschreibung: 15. Oktober 2021
  • Ende der Ausschreibung: 15. Februar 2022
  • Förderbeginn: voraussichtlich 1. April 2022
  • Förderdauer: 36 Monate (weitere 12 Monate voraussichtlich auf Antrag)

Die Internationalisierung der Graduiertenausbildung ist ein erklärtes Ziel der strategischen Partnerschaft zwischen der Berlin University Alliance (BUA) und der University of Melbourne (UoM). Im Rahmen der Grand Challenge Initiative Global Health schreiben deshalb beide Partnerinnen eine dreijährige Förderung gemeinsamer Promotionsvorhaben (Joint PhD) im Themenbereich der globalen Gesundheit aus.

Antragsberechtigt sind Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der BUA-Verbundpartnerinnen und der UoM, die in einem Zweierteam die gemeinsame wissenschaftliche Betreuung von zwei Promovierenden (1 x UoM, 1 x BUA) übernehmen. Die Promovierenden verbringen im Rahmen ihrer Forschung mindestens 12 Monate an der Partneruniversität und schließen nach spätestens vier Jahren mit einem Joint Degree ab. Die Einschreibung der Promovierenden sollte nach erfolgreicher Rekrutierung durch die betreuenden Personen an einer der Einrichtungen der Verbundpartnerinnen, spätestens zum Wintersemester 2022/23 erfolgen.

Die Förderung beinhaltet Promotionsstipendien in Höhe von 1.500 Euro (BUA, UoM siehe Webseite) für drei Jahre (viertes Jahr voraussichtlich auf erneuten Antrag), Zuschüsse zu Reise- und Aufenthaltskosten für die Promovierenden, eine Pauschale zur Unterstützung der Vorhaben und zur Weiterentwicklung der Kooperation. Weitere Details hierzu finden Sie im Ausschreibungstext. Insgesamt können bis zu 6 Promovierenden-Paare und damit 12 Promotionsvorhaben im Themenbereich Global Health gefördert werden.

Eine erfolgreiche Antragsstellung als Hauptantragstellerin oder Hauptantragsteller auf die Ausschreibung „Determinants of Global Health: Exploring Biological, Human-made & Environmental Factors“ schließt eine Bewerbung auf diesen Call nicht aus.

Ausführliche Informationen zu Auswahlkriterien und Inhalt sowie zum Antragsverfahren finden sich im Call for Applications.

Die Verbundpartnerinnen der Berlin University Alliance und die University of Melbourne sind 2018 eine strategische Partnerschaft eingegangen. Seit 2019 wurden 17 gemeinsame Forschungsprojekte im Rahmen eines Seed-Funds gefördert. 2021 schließlich konnte ein Rahmenvertrag über die Vergabe gemeinsamer PhD-Abschlüsse zwischen der BUA und der UoM unterzeichnet werden. Dieser ist der Ausgangspunkt für den Auf- und Ausbau gemeinsamer Aktivitäten in der gemeinsamen Graduiertenausbildung.

Ausschreibungsunterlagen

Kontakt

Aleksandra Laski, Strategic Partnership Manager
Tel.: +49 30 / 2093-20084
E-Mail: aleksandra.laski@berlin-university-alliance.de 

Helen Paul, Teamassistenz Strategische Partnerschaften
E-Mail: helen.paul@berlin-university-alliance.de 

Mark Gregory, International Research Strategy Advisor (University of Melbourne)
E-Mail: mark.gregory@unimelb.edu.au 

Kim Turner, Grants Officer (University of Melbourne)
E-Mail: res-devschemes@unimelb.edu.au