Springe direkt zu Inhalt

FAQ

In the call for proposals, we do not define the “Global South” preliminary as a geographical area but rather as a term that challenges existing hierarchies in knowledge production. The Global South includes countries that occupy a marginalized position in global science production.

The DFG country list might serve as a reference to choose possible international partners. However, the BCGE is open to other countries/regions. It is advisable to explain in the application why a country or a partner belongs to the Global South from the perspective of the applicant, or why it strengthens the cooperation of the Berlin University Alliance with the Global South.

The call is open to faculty members and postdocs with an employment contract of at least one year from project start with one of the Alliance partners. Doctoral candidates are not eligible to apply.

Applications should be submitted by a group of applicants who belong to at least two different institutions of the Berlin University Alliance. If applications are submitted by one or more applicants from a single institution of the Berlin University Alliance, the reasons for this should be explained, potential cooperation partners within the Alliance should be indicated and the status of the cooperation briefly described.

Third parties, in other words persons who are not members of one of the Berlin University Alliance institutions, can be included in applications, but are not eligible to receive funding. Anyone who has an employment contract with an institution of the Alliance is considered a member of an institution of the Alliance.

It is also possible to nominate additional external cooperation partners. Depending on the procurement laws for budgets at the individual Alliance institutions, it may also be possible to commission work from external sources. These are to be invoiced as full costs.

Only material and investment costs may be applied for. Personnel costs are not eligible in this call. However, work contracts may be commissioned according to the guidelines of the respective partner institutions.

No, a formal commitment to cooperate is not required. However, if it is available, it should be submitted. The current status of the cooperation should be briefly outlined.

Approved funding is generally tied to the budget year in accordance with the funded project duration. The carryover of funds to the following year must be applied for and should not exceed 20 percent. Therefore, the allocation of the requested funds to the financial year 2020 or 2021 in the application is of great importance.

The call for proposals focuses on research and knowledge exchange with politics and society. Teaching components are not per se excluded from funding; however, the focus should clearly be on research and knowledge exchange.

This depends on the project. The call for proposals defines possible project types (Multi-stakeholder dialogue; Science diplomacy: Challenges of worldwide academic cooperation; Digital cooperation with the Global South). If the project is assigned to the types Multi-stakeholder dialogue or Digital cooperation with the Global South, a partnership with the Global South is mandatory. If the project is classified as Science diplomacy or Challenges of worldwide academic cooperation, a partnership with the Global South is welcome but not mandatory.

Yes, as long as the project starts on or after September 15, 2020 and ends before or on June 30, 2021.

Yes, a lead applicant must always be named for a project.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

FAQ

In der Ausschreibung definieren wir den „Globalen Süden“ nicht als ein strikt abgegrenztes geographisches Gebiet, sondern als einen Begriff, der bestehende Hierarchien in der Wissenschaftsproduktion in Frage stellt. Dem Globalen Süden gehören Länder an, die in der globalen Wissenschaftsproduktion eine marginalisierte Position einnehmen. Die DFG-Liste der Entwicklungsländer kann zur Orientierung dienen. Das BCGE ist allerdings für andere Länder/Regionen offen. Es ist ratsam, in der Bewerbung zu begründen, warum ein Land bzw. ein Partner oder eine Partnerin aus Sicht der Antragstellerinnen und Antragsteller dem Globalen Süden angehört bzw. die Kooperation der Berlin University Alliance mit dem Globalen Süden stärkt.

Antragsberechtigt sind alle promovierten wissenschaftlichen Mitglieder der Verbundpartnerinnen der Berlin University Alliance, die einen Vertrag mit einer der Einrichtungen mit einer Laufzeit von mindestens einem Jahr ab Projektstart aufweisen. Promovierende sind nicht antragsberechtigt.

Die Anträge sollten in der Regel von einer Gruppe von Antragstellerinnen und Antragstellern gestellt werden, die mindestens zwei unterschiedlichen Einrichtungen der Berlin University Alliance angehören. Wenn Anträge von einer oder mehreren Antragstellerinnen und Antragstellern einer einzigen Einrichtung der Berlin University Alliance gestellt werden, sollte dies begründet werden und zumindest mögliche Kooperationspartnerinnen oder -partner innerhalb des Exzellenzverbunds angedeutet und der Stand der Kooperation kurz erläutert werden.

Dritte, also Personen, die nicht Mitglied einer Einrichtung der Berlin University Alliance sind, können als Mitantragstellerin oder Mitantragsteller auftreten, allerdings ohne damit einen Anspruch auf Förderung zu haben. Als Mitglied einer Einrichtung des Verbundes zählt, wer einen Arbeitsvertrag mit einer Verbundeinrichtung hat.

Darüber hinaus ist es möglich, weitere externe Kooperationspartnerinnen und -partner zu benennen. Es ist möglich, im Rahmen der Vergaberichtlinien für Haushaltsmittel der jeweiligen Verbundeinrichtung, Aufträge nach außen zu geben. Diese sind als Vollkosten abzurechnen.

Es dürfen ausschließlich Sach- und Investitionskosten beantragt werden. Personalkosten sind in diesem Call nicht förderfähig. Es können aber Werkverträge nach den Richtlinien der jeweiligen Partnereinrichtung vergeben werden.

Nein, eine formelle Kooperationszusage ist nicht erforderlich. Wenn sie vorliegt, sollte sie jedoch eingereicht werden. Der Stand der Kooperation sollte kurz skizziert werden.

Die bewilligten Mittel sind grundsätzlich an das Haushaltsjahr gemäß der geförderten Projektlaufzeit gebunden. Der Übertrag von Mitteln in das Folgejahr muss beantragt werden und sollte 20 Prozent nicht überschreiten. Deshalb ist die Zuordnung der beantragten Mittel dem Haushaltsjahr 2020 oder 2021 im Antrag von großer Bedeutung.

Schwerpunkte der Ausschreibung liegen in der Forschung und im Wissensaustausch mit Politik und Gesellschaft. Lehrkomponenten sind nicht per se von der Förderung ausgeschlossen; im Vordergrund sollen jedoch klar Forschung und Wissensaustausch stehen.

Dies hängt vom Projekt ab. In der Ausschreibung werden mögliche Projekttypen definiert (Multi-stakeholder dialogue; Science diplomacy: Challenges of worldwide academic cooperation; Digital cooperation with the Global South). Ist das Projekt den Typen Multi-stakeholder dialogue oder Digital cooperation with the Global South zugeordnet, ist eine Partnerschaft mit dem Globalen Süden zwingend erforderlich. Ist das Projekt den Typen Science diplomacy oder Challenges of worldwide academic cooperation zugeordnet, ist eine Partnerschaft mit dem Globalen Süden willkommen aber nicht zwingend erforderlich.

Ja, solange das Projekt an oder nach dem 15. September 2020 startet und vor oder an dem 30. Juni 2021 endet.

Ja, es muss stets einen Projekt-Hauptantragsteller oder eine Projekt-Hauptantragstellerin benannt werden.