Springe direkt zu Inhalt

IT IS YOUR FUTURE – YOUR TOPIC FOR BERLIN'S TOP-LEVEL RESEARCH

How can we stop climate change? How can we prevent new global health crises? Are we on the brink of more warfare? What can we do for a world that is in danger of falling apart? What positive impact can research have on your future? We want to know what issues concern you as young people in Berlin.

We are the Berlin University Alliance (BUA). The alliance is a consortium consisting of Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Together, we have set ourselves the goal of finding answers to the major questions of the 21st century. How do we want to live together in the future? How do we master the major challenges facing our planet? We are interested in your opinion, in your topic.

With your help and together with researchers and students, we are looking for the Next Grand Challenge – a major issue for all of us, on which scientists from various disciplines will conduct research. Together, new topics for tomorrow's research will be selected. We are eager to hear which global issues you are currently most interested in and which solutions you are hoping for.

Our cooperation is divided into four phases. The entire process from the collection to selection of topics can be watched online.

We have planned workshops, coaching, and other special offerings for you in September and October 2022!

Important dates

  • Workshop 1 - Science and its Methodology: September 3rd and 4th
  • Workshop 2 - Creativity Techniques for your Future Topic: September 10th and 11th
  • Workshop 3 - How to Convince Others and Present Ideas: September 24th and 25th
  • Idea Camp - Your Next Grand Challenge Ideas: October 1st - 3rd
  • Topic submission: October 4th - 31st
  • Next Grand Challenge Forum – Joint discussion of the topic submissions: February 2023

How can I participate?

Do you want to help shape the topics for Berlin's research of tomorrow? Are you between 14 and 18 years of age and do you live in Berlin? Do you think research is important and exciting and would you like to discuss your future topics with scholars and scientists right now? Then join the search for topics for the Next Grand Challenge - the field of research to which the Berlin University Alliance will devote its entire expertise!

In an initial phase, you will be prepared in three workshops and an Idea Camp to learn about scientific topics of the future, to discuss them with scholars and scientists, and to represent your topic proposals in a forum. Then you will receive a certificate of participation from the Berlin University Alliance stating that you have qualified as a participant in the topic identification process for our Next Grand Challenge.

We want all of you to be able to participate, even if you are currently for example pursuing a part-time job, that is why we offer you an allowance of 100 euros as usual for participation projects. Please feel free to contact us.

What you can expect:

You can register to participate here. You can choose between two dates for each of the three workshops. The Idea Camp will take place together with all of you.

In the first workshop, "Science and its Methodology", you will learn about how science works and what exciting research topics there are right now to explore major issues in our world. In the second workshop "Creativity Techniques for your Future Topic" you will learn creative methods for developing your future topics. In the third workshop, "How to Convince Others and Present Ideas", you will learn rhetoric, argumentation, and presentation techniques – all skills you can use to discuss your topics for the Next Grand Challenge.

After that, the Next Grand Challenge Idea Camp will take place, where you will work in groups to develop your topic proposals for the Next Grand Challenge and will be supported by scholars and scientists from the corresponding subject areas.

The workshops will be conducted by team members from "mehr als lernen e.V." The program is organized by Robert Mühling (rm@mehralslernen.org).

Your ideas are invited, we are looking forward to your registration!

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Raffael Barth (raffael.barth@berlin-university-alliance.de)

Our partner: mehr als lernen e.V.

Robert Mühling

Robert Mühling

To ensure that you feel well taken care of and comfortable throughout the program, all workshops, and the Idea Camp will be moderated by the youth educators of mehr als lernen e.V, who have a great deal of experience in the conception and implementation of innovative educational programs. Your contact at mehr als lernen e.V. is Robert Mühling.

Contact

Raffael Barth, Program Manager Research Forum Next Grand Challenge

Dr. Melanie Kryst, Program Manager Research Forum Next Grand Challenge

Dr. Audrey Podann, Head of Research Forums

bua-calling@berlin-university-alliance.de

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

ES IST EURE ZUKUNFT- DEIN THEMA FÜR BERLINS SPITZENFORSCHUNG

Wie können wir den Klimawandel stoppen? Wie können wir neue globale Gesundheitskrisen verhindern? Stehen wir vor weiteren kriegerischen Auseinandersetzungen? Was kann man tun für eine Welt, die aus den Fugen zu geraten droht? Welchen positiven Einfluss kann Forschung auf Eure Zukunft haben? Wir wollen wissen, welche Themen Euch als Jugendliche in Berlin beschäftigen.

Wir sind die Berlin University Alliance (BUA). Das ist ein Zusammenschluss der Freien Universität Berlin, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, der Technischen Universität Berlin und der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Gemeinsam haben wir uns das Ziel gesetzt, Antworten auf die großen Fragen des 21. Jahrhunderts zu finden. Wie wollen wir in Zukunft zusammenleben? Wie meistern wir die großen Herausforderungen für unseren Planeten? Wir sind an Eurer Meinung, an Eurem Thema interessiert.

Zusammen mit Euch, mit Forschenden und Studierenden suchen wir die Next Grand Challenge – eine für uns alle wichtige Problemstellung, zu welcher Wissenschaftler*innen aus verschiedenen Fachgebieten forschen werden. Gemeinsam werden neue Themen für die Forschung von morgen ausgewählt. Wir sind sehr gespannt, für welche globalen Probleme Ihr Euch aktuell am meisten interessiert und für welche Ihr Euch Lösungen erhofft.

Unsere Zusammenarbeit gliedert sich in vier Phasen. Der gesamte Prozess von der Sammlung bis zur Auswahl der Themen kann online mitverfolgt werden.

Workshops, Coachings und weitere spezielle Angebote dazu haben wir für Euch im September und Oktober 2022 geplant!

Wichtige Termine

  • Anmeldung: 4.7. - 31.8.
  • Workshop 1 - Wissenschaft und ihre Arbeitsweisen: 3./4.9.
  • Workshop 2 - Kreativitätstechniken für dein Zukunftsthema: 10./11.9.
  • Workshop 3 - Andere überzeugen und Ideen präsentieren: 24./25.9.
  • IdeenCamp - Deine Next Grand Challenge-Ideen: 1.10. - 3.10.
  • Themeneinreichung: 4.10. – 31.10.
  • Next Grand Challenge Forum – Gemeinsame Diskussion der Themeneinreichungen:
    Feb. 2023

Wie kann ich mitmachen?

Ihr habt Lust bekommen, die Themen für Berlins Forschung von morgen mitzugestalten, seid zwischen 14 und 18 Jahre alt und wohnt in Berlin? Forschung findet ihr wichtig und spannend und wollt euch jetzt schon über eure Zukunftsthemen mit Wissenschaftler*innen austauschen? Dann macht mit bei der Themensuche für die Next Grand Challenge - das Forschungsfeld, dem sich der Berliner Universitätsverbund mit seiner gesamten Expertise widmen wird!

In der ersten Phase werdet ihr in drei Workshops und einem IdeenCamp fit gemacht, wissenschaftliche Themen der Zukunft kennenzulernen, mit Wissenschaftler*innen zu diskutieren und eure Themenvorschläge in einem Forum selbst zu vertreten. Im Anschluss bekommt ihr von der Berlin University Alliance ein Teilnahmezertifikat, dass ihr euch als Teil der Ideenfindung unserer Next Grand Challenge qualifiziert habt.

Das erwartet euch: 

Ihr könnt euch hier zur Teilnahme anmelden. Für die drei Workshops stehen euch je zwei Termine zur Auswahl. Das IdeenCamp findet mit allen von Euch gemeinsam statt. 

Im ersten Workshop “Wissenschaft und ihre Arbeitsweisen” werdet ihr kennenlernen, wie Wissenschaft funktioniert und was gerade spannende Forschungsthemen sind, um große Probleme in unserer Welt zu erforschen. Im zweiten Workshop “Kreativitätstechniken für dein Zukunftsthema” lernt ihr kreative Methoden für die Entwicklung eurer Zukunftsthemen kennen. Im dritten Workshop “Andere überzeugen und Ideen präsentieren” lernt ihr Rhetorik, Argumentation und Präsentationstechniken – alles Skills, die ihr für die Diskussion eurer Themen für die Next Grand Challenge gut gebrauchen könnt.

Danach findet das Next Grand Challenge-IdeenCamp statt, bei dem ihr in Gruppen eure Themenvorschläge für die Next Grand Challenge ausarbeitet und dabei von Wissenschaftler*innen aus den passenden Themenfeldern unterstützt werdet.

Die Workshops werden durch Teamer*innen von mehr als lernen e.V. durchgeführt. Das Programm wird organisiert durch Robert Mühling (rm@mehralslernen.org).

Eure Ideen sind gefragt, wir freuen uns auf eure Anmeldung!

Bei Fragen meldet euch gerne bei Raffael Barth (raffael.barth@berlin-university-alliance.de)

Unser Partner: mehr als lernen e.V.

Robert Mühling

Robert Mühling

Damit ihr euch während des ganzen Programm gut betreut und wohl fühlt, werden alle Workshops und das Ideencamp von den Jugendbildner*innen von mehr als lernen e.V. moderiert, die große Erfahrung in der Konzeption und Durchführung innovativer Bildungsprogramme haben. Euer Ansprechpartner von mehr als lernen e.V. ist Robert Mühling.

Kontakt

Raffael Barth, Referent Research Forum Next Grand Challenge

Dr. Melanie Kryst, Referentin Research Forum Next Grand Challenge

Dr. Audrey Podann, Leiterin Research Forums

bua-calling@berlin-university-alliance.de