Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Exploration Projects of the Grand Challenge Initiative on Global Health

Call for proposals for the second Grand Challenge Initiative of the Berlin University Alliance: “Determinants of Global Health: Exploring Biological, Human-made & Environmental Factors”

  • Start of the call for proposals: April 26, 2021, 3:00 p.m.
  • End of the call for proposals: July 19, 2021, 3:00 p.m.
  • Earliest funding start: February 1, 2022
  • Duration: 3 years
  • Funding amount per project: up to 450,000 euros per year

The ongoing coronavirus pandemic has made the relevance, scope, and complexity of global health very clear, as have the many opportunities for inter- and transdisciplinary research and intervention within the topic of global health. As an emerging discipline, global health addresses health issues in a transnational and global perspective, focusing particularly on the interactions between globalization, health, and determinants of health. One focus here is to reduce inequality in healthcare. Global health thus requires multinational and multidisciplinary collaboration to understand – and influence – the inextricable links between the medical, social, biological, cultural, political, economic and environmental factors that have an impact on human health.

In the exploration projects funding line, inter- and transdisciplinary research groups are to be established involving 6 to 12 researchers from at least two of the partner institutions of the Berlin University Alliance – Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. These projects address socially relevant issues, coordinate and network research on the project topic within the Berlin University Alliance, and promote exchange between research and non-scientific expertise. In this way, they contribute to the development of the Alliance's Grand Challenge Initiatives and strengthen the Berlin research hub. As a result, innovative approaches to global challenges such as global health are developed and elaborated through the interconnectedness of research, society, politics, economy, and culture.

The full text of the call for proposals can be found under the following link: Call for Proposals

If you plan to apply, please email a Letter of Intent (LOI) by June 1, 2021 to: grand-challenges@berlin-university-alliance.de. (In response to widespread technical problems, the deadline was extended.)

Further specifications can be found in the FAQ and in the text of the Call for Proposals.

The recording of the information session which took place on May 26, 2021 can be found below, along with the slides.

In addition, information on transdisciplinary research for interested applicants is offered by the team of the measure "Research Forums" of Objective 2: Fostering Knowledge Exchange:

  • Basic webinar on transdisciplinary research: 28 May and 14 June, 10-11:30. The event will be held in English. Registration: Please send an email with the subject "Anmeldung Grundlagen-Webinar" to globalhealth-forum@berlin-university-alliance.de and include your name and organization. The number of participants is limited. We ask for early and binding registration.
  • Consultation hour on the topic of transdisciplinary research for applicants: We will answer open questions with you and give advice on transdisciplinary research design. The consultation hours are offered on the following dates: June 11, 2021, June 25, 2021, July 7 and July 9, 2021 between 11-12 (Update: currently only dates for July 7 are still available). Please register by email to: globalhealth-forum@berlin-university-alliance.de, indicating your preferred date and with the subject "TDR Sprechstunde". We will then arrange a 20-minute time slot with you. Ideally, please send your questions to the same e-mail address before the consultation.

Applications must be submitted in English via the following portal:
https://portal.bihealth.de/Portal/SitePages/Home.aspx 

FAQ about the call for proposals

Necessary documents

If you have any questions, please contact:
Dr. Julia Wolanski, Scientific Coordinator Global Health
Email: grand-challenges@berlin-university-alliance.de

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Exploration Projects der Grand Challenge Initiative Global Health

Call for proposals für die zweite Grand Challenge Initiative der Berlin University Alliance: „Determinants of Global Health: Exploring Biological, Human-made & Environmental Factors“

  • Beginn der Ausschreibung: 26. April 2021, 15 Uhr
  • Ende der Ausschreibung: 19. Juli 2021, 15 Uhr
  • Frühester Förderbeginn: 1. Februar 2022
  • Dauer: 3 Jahre
  • Fördersumme je Projekt: bis zu 450.000 Euro pro Jahr

Durch die anhaltende Corona-Pandemie sind die Relevanz, der Umfang und die Komplexität von globaler Gesundheit sehr deutlich geworden, ebenso wie die vielen Möglichkeiten für inter- und transdisziplinäre Forschung und Intervention im Themenfeld Global Health. Als aufstrebende Disziplin befasst sich Global Health mit Gesundheitsfragen in einer transnationalen und globalen Perspektive und konzentriert sich insbesondere auf die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Globalisierung, Gesundheit und Gesundheitsdeterminanten. Ein Schwerpunkt dabei ist, Ungleichheiten in Bezug auf Gesundheit zu verringern. Global Health erfordert somit eine multinationale und multidisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit, um die untrennbaren Zusammenhänge zwischen den medizinischen, sozialen, biologischen, kulturellen, politischen, ökonomischen und umweltbedingten Einflussfaktoren auf die menschliche Gesundheit zu verstehen – und zu beeinflussen.

In der Förderlinie Exploration Projects sollen inter- und transdisziplinäre Forschungsgruppen etabliert werden, an denen 6 bis 12 Forscherinnen und Forscher aus mindestens zwei der Verbundpartnerinnen der Berlin University Alliance – Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin – beteiligt sind. Diese Projekte widmen sich gesellschaftlich relevanten Fragestellungen, koordinieren und vernetzen die Forschung zum Projektthema innerhalb der Berlin University Alliance sowie den Austausch zwischen Wissenschaft und außerwissenschaftlicher Expertise. Damit tragen sie zur Entwicklung der Grand Challenge Initiatives des Verbunds bei und stärken den Forschungsstandort Berlin. So werden innovative Ansätze zu globalen Herausforderungen wie Global Health durch die Verschränkung von Forschung, Gesellschaft, Politik, Wirtschaft und Kultur be- und erarbeitet.

Den vollständigen Ausschreibungstext finden Sie unter folgendem Link: Ausschreibungstext

Wenn Sie eine Bewerbung planen, schicken Sie bitte einen Letter of Intent (LOI) bis zum 1. Juni 2021 per E-Mail an: grand-challenges@berlin-university-alliance.de. (Als Reaktion auf weitreichende technische Probleme bei Antragstellenden wurde die Frist verlängert.)

Weitere Vorgaben finden Sie in den FAQ und im Ausschreibungstext.

Die Informationsveranstaltung vom 26. Mai 2021 kann als Aufzeichnung abgerufen werden. Zusätzlich stehen die gezeigten Folien zur Verfügung.

Zudem werden Informationsmöglichkeiten zu transdisziplinärer Forschung für interessierte Antragstellerinnen und Antragsteller vom Team der Maßnahme „Research Foren“ des Objective 2: Fostering Knowledge Exchange angeboten:

  • Grundlagen-Webinar zum transdisziplinären Forschen: 28. Mai und 14. Juni, 10-11:30 Uhr. Die Veranstaltung findet in englischer Sprache statt. Anmeldung: Bitte senden Sie eine E-Mail mit dem Betreff „Anmeldung Grundlagen-Webinar“ an globalhealth-forum@berlin-university-alliance.de und geben Ihren Namen und Ihre Organisation an. Die Anzahl der Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer ist begrenzt. Wir bitten um frühzeitige und verbindliche Anmeldung.
  • Sprechstunde zum Thema transdisziplinäres Forschen für Antragstellerinnen und Antragsteller: Wir klären mit Ihnen offene Fragen und geben Hinweise zum transdisziplinären Forschungsdesign. Die Sprechstunde wird an folgenden Terminen angeboten: 11. Juni 2021, 25. Juni 2021, 7. Juli und 9. Juli 2021 jeweils von 11 bis 12 Uhr (Update: aktuell sind nur noch Termine für den 7. Juli zu vergeben). Bitte melden Sie sich unter Angabe des präferierten Datums und mit dem Betreff „TDR Sprechstunde“ per E-Mail an: globalhealth-forum@berlin-university-alliance.de an. Wir werden dann mit ihnen ein 20-minütiges Zeitfenster vereinbaren. Idealerweise schicken Sie bitte vor der Sprechstunde Ihre Fragen an die selbige Mailadresse.

Anträge müssen auf Englisch über folgendes Portal eingereicht werden:
https://portal.bihealth.de/Portal/SitePages/Home.aspx 

FAQ zur Ausschreibung

Ausschreibungsunterlagen

Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich an:
Dr. Julia Wolanski, Wissenschaftliche Koordinatorin Global Health
grand-challenges@berlin-university-alliance.de