Berlin as a Research Hub

A research metropolis with both history and future

Located right on the Berlin Wall up until 1989, it has now become the thriving heart of the city: the Brandenburg Gate.

Located right on the Berlin Wall up until 1989, it has now become the thriving heart of the city: the Brandenburg Gate.
Image Credit: Kai-Uwe Heinrich

Berlin is not only one of Europe’s largest hubs of research, but also among the most diverse. Students can choose from a wealth of subjects at the city’s more than 40 higher education institutions, including four universities, six universities of applied sciences, and three universities of the arts. The city is home to more than 70 research institutions not affiliated with academia, where researchers, scholars, and scientists work on a broad spectrum of topics, from measures to fight global epidemics and mathematical modeling of socioeconomic processes to the history of emotions.

The following are located in Berlin:

  • 5 Max Planck Institutes
  • 4 institutes of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft
  • 2 research centers of the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres (and one site of the German Aerospace Center, DLR)
  • 14 institutes of the Leibniz Association

and other well-known research institutions, such as the headquarters of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) and the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation.

All of them are involved in cooperation projects with the alliance partners, such as clusters or collaborative research centers. Without their specific expertise, the work of many successful research alliances would not be possible. In turn, researchers from the institutions not affiliated with the universities also find partners for research projects in the higher education institutions. In many cases, they also teach at one of the universities, thereby expanding the range of courses offered.

The most recent example of successful cooperation between the universities and research institutions not affiliated with academia is the German Internet Institute. With this project, a consortium based in Berlin won out over competitors from all over Germany. The project is being coordinated at the Berlin Social Science Center (WZB), with joint support from all four of Berlin’s universities – Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität, Berlin University of the Arts, and Technische Universität Berlin – as well as the University of Potsdam and the Fraunhofer Institute for Open Communication Systems (FOKUS).

The cyclotron, the central circular accelerator, at the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, one of the many non-university research institutions in Berlin

The cyclotron, the central circular accelerator, at the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, one of the many non-university research institutions in Berlin
Image Credit: HZB

A Berlin Original: The Einstein Foundation

Berlin’s scholars and scientists and institutions in academia and the research sector receive particular support from the Einstein Foundation Berlin. Its goal is to fund science and research of top international caliber in Berlin. For example, the Einstein Foundation supports the successful work done by Berlin’s graduate schools. Last year three of them were designated Einstein Graduate Schools, receiving a total of one million euros in funding for a three-year period.

In addition, the Einstein Visiting Fellows format is one way the foundation is helping to drive internationalization in Berlin as a research hub. It supports researchers of international repute in developing a working group there for a certain period. In this way, the foundation was able to attract researchers such as American political scientist Nancy Fraser and the Italian neuroscientist Vittorio Gallese for a several-year stay.

The Museum für Naturkunde, a Leibniz Institute, is among the non-university cooperation partners.

The Museum für Naturkunde, a Leibniz Institute, is among the non-university cooperation partners.
Image Credit: Antje Dittmann, Museum für Naturkunde Berlin

A Destination for Researchers and Students from All over the World

Overall, Berlin’s universities and research institutions not affiliated with academia are among the most attractive locations for researchers from all over the world. According to the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Ranking (2014), nearly 730 recipients of fellowships, scholarships, and grants chose one of the three universities as the place they would spend time abroad. Freie Universität is ranked number one in the list, followed by Humboldt-Universität, and Technische Universität Berlin came in eighth. The institutions not affiliated with academia that are most frequently visited by international visiting scholars and scientists include the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society, the German Archaeological Institute, and the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation.

The number of international students is on the rise as well: During the 2015/16 winter semester, there were more than 31,160 international students in total enrolled in programs in Berlin, more than two-thirds of them at Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität, and Technische Universität Berlin.

A statue was erected in front of Humboldt-Universität in 2014 to commemorate physicist Lise Meitner.

A statue was erected in front of Humboldt-Universität in 2014 to commemorate physicist Lise Meitner.
Image Credit: Silvio Schwartz

The City Where Walls Can Be Torn Down

Berlin also serves as an especially clear example of just how much even a research hub depends on its overall historical and political conditions. In the 19th century Berlin came to be an academic metropolis with international appeal. The city was home to luminaries such as historian Theodor Mommsen, who was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1902 for his multi-volume work on Roman history. Rudolf Virchow and Robert Koch both worked in Berlin, where they took new approaches in their research and made discoveries that advanced the field of medical science. And in November 1915, physicist Albert Einstein presented the outlines of his general theory of relativity at the Prussian Academy of Sciences.

This golden age came to an end with the expulsion of Jewish scholars and scientists – including Lise Meitner, who had discovered nuclear fission with Otto Hahn at the Kaiser Wilhelm Institute in Berlin’s Dahlem district – by the Nazis, followed by World War II. What was left afterward was a divided center of research, with universities and research institutions split by the Berlin Wall.

When the Wall came down on November 9, 1989, new opportunities opened up not only for Berlin and German society at large, but also for the city’s academic and research institutions and the community of researchers and students. It was a radical change whose effects are still being felt today. For example, Charité – which, until 1989, had been a model institution for the East German regime – became the joint medical school of Freie Universität and Humboldt-Universität.

The network of cooperative relationships among the academic, scientific, and research institutions in the city is growing ever closer – not least due to the shared successes that have been experienced in the Excellence Initiative. The sheer diversity of research and teaching activities in Berlin and the interaction between research based at the universities and outside them form a good basis for further shared projects.

Wissenschaftsregion Berlin

Bis 1989 stand es im Mauerstreifen - inzwischen ist es lebendiger Mittelpunkt der Stadt: das Brandenburger Tor.

Bis 1989 stand es im Mauerstreifen - inzwischen ist es lebendiger Mittelpunkt der Stadt: das Brandenburger Tor.
Bildquelle: Kai-Uwe Heinrich

Die Stadt Berlin zählt nicht nur zu den größten Wissenschaftsstandorten in Europa, sondern auch zu den vielfältigsten: an ihren mehr als 40 Hochschulen – darunter vier Universitäten, sechs Fachhochschulen und drei Kunsthochschulen – können Studierende aus einer Fülle an Fächern auswählen. In mehr als 70 außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen arbeiten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler an einer großen Bandbreite von Themen, die von Maßnahmen gegen globale Epidemien über mathematische Modellierung sozioökominischer Prozesse bis zur Geschichte der Gefühle reicht.

In Berlin befinden sich

  • 5 Max-Planck-Institute
  • 4 Institute der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft
  • 2 Forschungszentren der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft (sowie ein Standort des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft und Raumfahrt (DLR)
  • 14 Institute der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft

und andere renommierte Forschungseinrichtungen wie die Zentrale des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts (DAI) oder die Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz.

Sie alle sind in Kooperationsprojekte der Verbundpartner – wie Cluster oder Sonderforschungsbereiche – eingebunden. Ohne ihre spezifische Expertise wäre die Arbeit vieler erfolgreicher Forschungsverbünde nicht möglich. Umgekehrt finden Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus den außeruniversitären Einrichtungen in den Hochschulen auch Partner für Forschungsprojekte. Sie lehren außerdem oftmals an einer der Universitäten und bereichern so das Lehrangebot.

Jüngstes Beispiel für eine erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Universitäten und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen ist das „Das Deutsche Internet-Institut“. Mit diesem Projekt setzte sich ein Berliner Konsortium gegen Mitbewerber aus ganz Deutschland durch. Das Vorhaben wird am Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB) koordiniert und von den vier Berliner Universitäten – Freie Universität, Humboldt-Universität, Universität der Künste und Technische Universität Berlin – sowie der Universität Potsdam und dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Offene Kommunikationssysteme (FOKUS) mitgetragen.

Der Zyklotron, der zentraler Kreisbeschleuniger, im Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, einer der vielen außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen in Berlin.

Der Zyklotron, der zentraler Kreisbeschleuniger, im Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, einer der vielen außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen in Berlin.
Bildquelle: HZB

Ein Berliner Original: Die Einstein Stiftung

Besondere Unterstützung erfahren die Berliner Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und die Wissenschaftseinrichtungen durch die Einstein Stiftung Berlin. Ihr Ziel ist es, Wissenschaft in Berlin auf Spitzenniveau zu fördern. So unterstützt die Einstein Stiftung die erfolgreiche Arbeit der Graduiertenschulen. Im vergangenen Jahr wurden drei von ihnen ausgezeichnet, sie erhalten als Einstein Graduate School Förderung über drei Jahre im Umfang von insgesamt einer Million Euro.

Mit dem Format der Einstein Visiting Fellows treibt die Stiftung zudem die Internationalisierung des Wissenschaftsstandortes Berlin voran. Sie unterstützt international renommierte Forscherinnen und Forscher dabei, dort eine Arbeitsgruppe auf Zeit aufzubauen. Auf diese Weise konnten etwa die amerikanische Politikwissenschaftlerin Nancy Fraser oder der italienische Neurowissenschaftler Vittorio Gallese für einen mehrjährigen Aufenthalt gewonnen werden.

Das Museum für Naturkunde zählt als Leibniz-Institut zu den außeruniversitären Kooperationspartnern.

Das Museum für Naturkunde zählt als Leibniz-Institut zu den außeruniversitären Kooperationspartnern.
Bildquelle: Antje Dittmann, Museum für Naturkunde Berlin

Ein Ziel für Wissenschaftler und Studierende aus aller Welt

Insgesamt zählen die Berliner Universitäten und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen zu den attraktivsten Orten für Forscherinnen und Forscher aus aller Welt. Dem Ranking der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung (2014) zufolge wählten knapp 730 Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten eine der drei Universitäten für ihren Auslandsaufenthalt. Die Freie Universität steht in diesem Ranking auf Platz 1, gefolgt von der Humboldt-Universität, die Technische Universität Berlin belegt den achten Platz. Unter den am häufigsten von internationalen Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern aufgesuchten außeruniversitären Einrichtungen finden sich das Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, das Deutsche Archäologische Institut und die Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz.

Auch die Zahl der Studierenden aus dem Ausland steigt: Insgesamt lernten im Wintersemester 2015/16 mehr als 31.160 ausländische Studentinnen und Studentinnen in Berlin, mehr als zwei Drittel von ihnen an der Freien Universität, der Humboldt-Universität und der Technischen Universität Berlin.

Die Stadt, in der Mauern fallen können

In kaum einer anderen Stadt allerdings zeigt sich so deutlich, wie abhängig auch ein Wissenschaftsstandort von seinen historischen und politischen Rahmenbedingungen ist: Im 19. Jahrhundert entwickelte sich Berlin zur Wissenschaftsmetropole mit internationaler Strahlkraft. Hier wirkte unter anderem der Historiker Theodor Mommsen, der für sein mehrbändiges Werk zur Römischen Geschichte 1902 mit dem Literaturnobelpreis ausgezeichnet wurde. Rudolf Virchow und Robert Koch trieben in Berlin mit neuen Forschungsansätzen und Entdeckungen die Entwicklung der wissenschaftlichen Medizin voran. Und im November 1915 stellte der Physiker Albert Einstein in der Preußischen Akademie der Wissenschaften die Grundzüge seiner Allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie vor.

Die Vertreibung von jüdischen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern – unter ihnen auch Lise Meitner, die im Kaiser-Wilhelm-Institut in Berlin-Dahlem mit Otto Hahn die Kernspaltung entdeckt hatte – durch die Nationalsozialisten und der Zweite Weltkrieg setzten dieser Blütezeit ein Ende. Zurück blieb ein geteilter Wissenschaftsstandort mit Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen diesseits und jenseits der Berliner Mauer.

Mit ihrem Fall am 9. November 1989 eröffneten sich auch für die Berliner Wissenschaftseinrichtungen und ihre Forscherinnen und Forscher sowie die Studierenden neue Möglichkeiten: Ein Umbruch, der bis heute nachwirkt. So wurde etwa die Charité – bis 1989 Vorzeigeeinrichtung der DDR – zum gemeinsamen medizinischen Fachbereich von Freier Universität und Humboldt-Universität.

Das Netz der Kooperationen zwischen den wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen der Stadt wird immer dichter – nicht zuletzt durch die gemeinsamen Erfolge in der Exzellenzinitiative. Die Vielfalt der Forschung und Lehre in Berlin, das Zusammenspiel zwischen universitärer und außeruniversitärer Forschung sind eine gute Basis für weitere gemeinsame Projekte.

Ein Denkmal vor der Humboldt-Universität erinnert seit 2014 an die Physikerin Lise Meitner.

Ein Denkmal vor der Humboldt-Universität erinnert seit 2014 an die Physikerin Lise Meitner.
Bildquelle: Silvio Schwartz