Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Marina Kosmalla

Website editor

Jul 29, 2020

Marina Kosmalla

Marina Kosmalla
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

What happens within the Berlin University Alliance? What topics are being addressed? Which projects are being funded? It’s not easy keeping track of four renowned partners, five overarching objectives, three major cross-cutting themes and the many researchers and employees across the individual institutions who are responsible for bringing the Berlin excellence alliance to life. A good starting point for those interested is the Berlin University Alliance website, which has been coordinated by Marina Kosmalla since February.

Ms Kosmalla, what is the most interesting section on the website?

That’s not so easy to say. You will of course learn something interesting about the Berlin University Alliance in every section. In any case, the news section is where the most action is. This is where we provide brief and up-to-date reports on calls for proposals, funding, awards, collaborations, and much more. You can delve deeper into a specific topic in our “Impressions” section. In the articles and interviews we report on projects and events in more detail and let those involved have their say. Which areas of research deal with social cohesion, for example, or how are students involved in the society alongside their studies?

The pages on the individual objectives and cross-cutting themes are also interesting. They are effectively at the core of the excellence alliance, and are being built up step by step. So, there’s a lot happening here right now. The second Grand Challenge Initiative on the topic of Global Health, for example, begins this year. In Objective 2: Fostering Knowledge Exchange, new processes and forms of exchange with politics, culture, and society are in being developed.

A good overview of how the Board of Directors, administrative units, executive board, and staff departments work together is demonstrated quite clearly by the Alliance’s clear organization.

How do you learn about the individual topics and projects?

The varied levels of communication function well together. All information flows into the Administrative Office, which acts as a connecting link between the management of the Alliance and the objectives. The administrative units also provide information on new projects so that collective communication can be determined.

The Berlin University Alliance still finds itself in a state of development and change. Can this also be seen on the website?

Yes, the website itself is always changing. The projects are picking up speed and the online presence is growing as activity increases. We first had to explain what the Berlin University Alliance actually is and what its goals are. There has been so much going on within the Alliance’s framework in the meantime, and so many people are involved. This is what we want to put in the foreground.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Marina Kosmalla

Webredakteurin

29.07.2020

Marina Kosmalla

Marina Kosmalla
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Was passiert in der Berlin University Alliance? An welchen Themen wird gearbeitet? Welche Projekte werden gefördert? Den Überblick zu behalten bei vier renommierten Verbundpartnerinnen, fünf übergeordneten Zielen (Objectives), drei großen Querschnittsthemen (Cross-Cutting Themes) und vielen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern sowie Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern der einzelnen Einrichtungen, die den Berliner Exzellenzverbund mit Leben füllen, ist gar nicht so einfach. Eine gute Anlaufstelle ist die Website der Berlin University Alliance. Koordiniert wird sie seit Februar von Marina Kosmalla.

Frau Kosmalla, was ist der interessanteste Bereich der Website?

Das ist gar nicht so leicht zu sagen. In jedem Bereich erfährt man natürlich interessantes über die Berlin University Alliance. Am meisten los ist auf jeden Fall im Newsbereich. Hier berichten wir kurz und aktuell über Ausschreibungen, Förderungen, Auszeichnungen, Kooperationen und vieles mehr. Tiefer in ein Thema einsteigen kann man in unseren „Einblicken“. In den Artikeln und Interviews berichten wir ausführlicher über Projekte und Veranstaltungen und lassen die Beteiligten selbst zu Wort kommen. Welche Forschungsgebiete befassen sich zum Beispiel mit sozialem Zusammenhalt? Oder wie engagieren sich Studierende für die Gesellschaft neben dem Studium?

Spannend sind auch die Seiten der einzelnen Objectives und Cross-Cutting Themes. Sie sind praktisch das Herzstück des Exzellenzverbunds und werden gerade Stück für Stück aufgebaut. Hier passiert momentan also sehr viel. Beispielsweise startet dieses Jahr noch die zweite Grand Challenge Initiative zum Thema Global Health. Im Objective 2: Fostering Knowledge Exchange werden neue Prozesse und Formen zum Austausch mit der Politik, der Kultur und der Gesellschaft entwickelt.

Einen guten Überblick, wie Board of Directors, Administrative Units, Executive Board und Stabsstellen zusammenwirken, zeigt die übersichtliche Struktur des Verbunds ganz gut.

Wie erfahren Sie von den einzelnen Themen und Projekten?

Die verschiedenen Kommunikationsebenen arbeiten gut zusammen. Alle Informationen laufen in der Geschäftsstelle als verbindendem Glied zwischen der Leitung des Verbunds und den Objectives ein. Auch die Koordinationsstellen (Administrative Units) informieren über neue Vorhaben, sodass eine gemeinsame Kommunikation abgestimmt werden kann.

Die Berlin University Alliance ist noch im Aufbau und Wandel. Zeigt sich das auch auf der Website?

Ja, auch die Website verändert sich. Die Projekte nehmen Fahrt auf und die Webpräsenz wächst mit den zunehmenden Aktivitäten. Anfangs mussten wir noch erklären, was die Berlin University Alliance überhaupt ist und was ihre Ziele sind. Mittlerweile geschieht so viel im Rahmen des Verbunds und so viele Menschen sind daran beteiligt, dass wir das in den Vordergrund stellen wollen.

Schlagwörter