Alliance for Innovative Research and Teaching

The great challenges of our time cannot be resolved by one institution. Whether it is clímate change, the threat of terrorism, or the opportunities and risks arising through digitization – the solution of complex, global problems and the search for answers to pressing social issues require the expertise of many specialists from different disciplines.

In Berlin researchers are already successfully working together in numerous projects. With this new alliance of three major universities and the medical school Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, this cooperation will be strengthened and supported at the institutional level. The aim is to consolidate strengths to open up opportunities for new innovative research projects and to shape the future together. It is an alliance with great potential to benefit all: research and teaching, Berlin and its economy, society and individuals

Statement of the presidents of the three major Berlin universities and the Chief Executive Officer of Charité

Three universities of international repute with strong research activities and a medical school that is highly regarded all over the world form an institutional alliance that charts the path forward into Berlin’s future as a research hub. Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin already work together at the project level in a variety of ways today. They have deepened their ties even further over the past decade, so conditions are optimal for the further development and evolution of an impressive alliance strategy with an international draw. Each of the institutions contributes its own specific strengths to the alliance, which offers greater security than before in terms of competition in the global research sector. 

The alliance has six main fields of action where it works: appointment strategy, support for junior researchers, research initiatives, resource and infrastructure use, knowledge transfer, and digitization. The goal of these activities is to combine strategic processes, support each other in bringing the best and brightest to Berlin as a research hub, and leverage optimization during joint development of resources to create ideal overall conditions for research – and thus also for teaching. As much internal competition as necessary, as much cooperation as possible – that is the motto of the alliance, linking the utmost in individual benefit to an overarching idea that cuts across all the institutions. Close institutional cooperation is intended to take the quality of the working relationship to a new level, thereby creating added value for all concerned.

The association among Berlin’s universities represents a successful city that acts as a hub of research and academic endeavor, a place whose diversity, cosmopolitan nature, and tolerance offer an ideal setting for dynamic research. By forming this alliance the universities in Berlin are embarking on a new chapter in their history. All of them firmly believe that this is an optimum way to secure the future with an eye to free, innovative, and creative academic and research activities.

Prof. Dr. Günter M. Ziegler, President, Freie Universität Berlin

Prof. Dr. Sabine Kunst, President, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Prof. Dr. Christian Thomsen, President, Technische Universität Berlin

Prof. Dr. Heyo K. Kroemer, Chief Executive Officer, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin

During his time as president of Freie Universität Berlin up to 2018, Prof. Dr. Peter-André Alt was a member of the leadership committee responsible for the development of the joint application of the Berlin University Alliance within the framework of the German Excellence Strategy.

Prof. Dr. Karl Max Einhäupl played an essential role as Chief Executive Officer of Charité in developing the alliance proposal between the three major Berlin universities and Charité. The proposal proved successful in receiving approval as part of the German Excellence Strategy. In August 2019, Prof. Dr. Einhäupl served his last month as CEO of Charité.

Allianz für innovative Forschung und Lehre

Die großen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit lassen sich nicht im Alleingang bewältigen. Ob es der Klimawandel ist, die Terrorgefahr oder Chancen und Risiken der Digitalisierung – die Lösung komplexer, globaler Probleme und die Suche nach Antworten auf drängende gesellschaftliche Fragen erfordern die Expertise vieler Fachleute aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen.

In Berlin arbeiten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler bereits heute in zahlreichen Projekten erfolgreich zusammen. Mit dem Verbund der drei großen Berliner Universitäten einschließlich der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin wird dieses Netz aus Kooperationen noch dichter geknüpft. Das Ziel ist, Stärken zu bündeln, um Chancen für neue innovative Forschungsvorhaben zu eröffnen und die Zukunft gemeinsam zu gestalten. Es ist eine Allianz, von der alle profitieren: die Wissenschaft und die Lehre, Berlin und seine Wirtschaft, die Gesellschaft und die Menschen.

Erklärung der Präsidenten/in der drei großen Berliner Universitäten und des Vorstandsvorsitzenden der Charité

Drei international renommierte, forschungsstarke Universitäten und eine weltweit angesehene medizinische Fakultät formen einen institutionellen Verbund, der die Weichen für die Zukunft des Wissenschaftsstandortes Berlin stellt. Die Freie Universität Berlin, die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, die Technische Universität Berlin und die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin kooperieren auf Projektebene schon heute in vielfältiger Weise. Diese im vergangenen Jahrzehnt noch gewachsene Intensität der Zusammenarbeit bietet beste Voraussetzungen für die Weiterentwicklung einer überzeugenden Allianzstrategie mit internationaler Strahlkraft. Die Häuser bringen ihre jeweiligen Stärken in die Allianz ein, die es ermöglicht, noch besser als zuvor im globalen Wissenschaftswettbewerb zu bestehen.

Die maßgeblichen Aktionsfelder, auf denen der Verbund tätig wird, liegen im Bereich der Berufungsstrategie, der Nachwuchsförderung, der Forschungsinitiativen, der Ressourcen- und Infrastrukturnutzung, des Wissenstransfers und der Digitalisierung. Ziel ist es dabei, strategische Prozesse zusammenzuführen, sich wechselseitig bei der Gewinnung der besten Köpfe für den Wissenschaftsstandort Berlin zu unterstützen und durch Optimierung beim gemeinsamen Aufbau von Ressourcen ideale Rahmenbedingungen für die Forschung – und damit auch für die Lehre – zu schaffen. So viel interner Wettbewerb wie nötig, so viel Kooperation wie möglich – unter diesem Motto verknüpft der Verbund ein Höchstmaß an individuellem Nutzen mit einer institutionenübergreifenden Leitidee. Durch die enge institutionelle Kooperation soll eine neue Qualität der Zusammenarbeit und damit ein Mehrwert für alle Beteiligten entstehen.

Der Verbund der Berliner Universitäten repräsentiert eine erfolgreiche Wissenschaftsstadt, deren  Vielfalt, Weltoffenheit und Toleranz beste Voraussetzungen für dynamische Forschung bieten. Mit ihrer Allianz schlagen die Berliner Universitäten nun ein neues Kapitel ihrer Geschichte auf. Sie sind davon überzeugt, dass auf diese Weise eine optimale Zukunftssicherung im Zeichen freier, innovativer und kreativer Wissenschaft gewährleistet werden kann.

Prof. Dr. Günter M. Ziegler, Präsident der Freien Universität Berlin

Prof. Dr. Sabine Kunst, Präsidentin der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Prof. Dr. Christian Thomsen, Präsident der Technischen Universität Berlin

Prof. Dr. Heyo K. Kroemer, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Bis Juli 2018 war Prof. Dr. Peter-André Alt als Präsident der Freien Universität Berlin Mitglied des Leitungsgremiums für die Ausarbeitung des gemeinsamen Antrags der Berlin University Alliance im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder.

Bis August 2019 war Prof. Dr. Karl Max Einhäupl als Vorstandsvorsitzender der Charité maßgeblich an der Ausarbeitung des erfolgreichen gemeinsamen Antrags der drei großen Berliner Universitäten und der Charité in der Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder beteiligt.